Thor: The Dark World

Oh hey strangers! Yes it has been 3 weeks since my last post (slap on the wrist) but in that time I did go on holiday and hand in my first piece of coursework for my degree… so please forgive me! I’m back with vengeance though, kind of like our lead in Thor: The Dark World…

thor the dark world posterThis sequel is MUCH bigger than Thor (2011), with plenty more CGI to ogle at (that’s not the only ogling I might add). When Jane Foster inhales evil incarnate from a parallel universe, Thor is thrust down to Earth to save her and in doing so uncovers the next set of bad guys that are going to try and destroy life as we know it! These bad guys are ‘dark elves’ and at first I thought they were pretty cute! Until they started using their crazy weapons and turning into big burning Predator-esque monsters. I particularly enjoyed the black-hole bombs and red lasers(?!)!! Christopher Eccleston does a good job at being the main dark elf Malekith, but I felt they could have given him a more individual role. For me he will fall into the non-memorable league of bad guys I am afraid.

Odin is still played by Anthony Hopkins of course, and a majestic King he does make! I was pleased to see Rene Russo as Frigga take a more central role to the plot and thought her parts really added to the story, although quite upsetting! The gang are back as well, although not playing as bigger parts as I had hoped, still bringing a comradary feel to the characters, Sif (Jamie Alexander who has since been in The Last Stand), Volstagg (Ray Stevenson – doesn’t need an introduction!), Fandrall (Zachary Levi, who has done nothing of interest for me!) and Hogan (Tadanobu Asano, who was in Battleship.. yes the one with Rihanna :/ ). Plus Idris Elba’s Heimdall who I fell in love with the first time around but saw differently now after the past few years he has been in everyone’s face! Still loved his character though, and that booming voice, I could use him as a very soothing alarm clock…

Thor dark elves

Back on earth, Kat Dennings plays the very funny Darcy – particularly enjoyed her short conversation with Thor in the car park. Eric Selvig is now running around like a loon after his ordeal in New York, and played very well by Stellan Skarsgard. Plus new edition to the scientific team, intern Ian, played by relative new comer Jonathan Howard. Of course, there is a none so subtle cameo from Stan Lee thrown in for good measure as well!

Thor-The-Dark-World-Wide-Image

Now to the meat of the story! So to speak… I know Odin claims they aren’t gods but Chris Hemsworth may as well be. As well as a phenomenal bod, I love how he plays Thor. Although I thought he got beaten up a little too much in this one – he isn’t that special without his hammer really. I guess this is because he was in the context of his own world, where as in The Avengers Assemble he is compared to human strength. But I digress, Natalie Portman is also a stunner – probably the best looking couple in the world come to think of it. Portman’s Jane Foster could have a bit more personality, but she does pass out quite a lot during the middle of the film – when she is awake though I enjoy her (slightly) feisty nature and when she looks at Thor she melts, as does the female audience.

thor and jane foster

Slightly overlooked in this film, Loki plays a strange role. Not sure what his intentions are but I am sure he is just gearing up for the next film in the franchise. Tom Hiddleston gives a good performance again, and shows he can steal the scene even when sharing it with Hemsworth. I enjoyed Loki and Thor’s bonding experience and almost hope to see them together more often. Although seeing the end of this film I don’t think that is likely!

Thor loki and thor

Over all I wasn’t blow away by Thor: The Dark World, but its a solid sequel and one to be enjoyed at the cinema. The sheer destruction caused on all planets is fun to watch and there are some moments of light humour that break up the action seamlessly. I think IMDB’s rating of 7.7 is deserved, and My Reel POV is, go and see it at the cinema if you are a fan of the Marvel franchise already 🙂

Thor the dark world

PS. Yes there is a post credits scene – something that looks like it was thrown out of a Doctor Who episode – strange but intriguing none the less! Also LOVE the artwork in the end credits!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Thor: The Dark World

  1. mikeyb @ screenkicker November 12, 2013 at 8:07 pm Reply

    Haha I agree about the Doctor Who style post credits scene! Great review 🙂

    • myreelpov November 13, 2013 at 4:12 pm Reply

      Thanks dude. Yeah it was like they ran out of budget?!

  2. CMrok93 November 12, 2013 at 9:35 pm Reply

    Had a smashing good time with this and hope that they continue to make more and more sequels of this superhero, even after the Avengers 2 is all said and done with. Good review.

    • myreelpov November 13, 2013 at 4:13 pm Reply

      I agree! Glad you enjoyed 🙂

  3. Hypersonic55 November 14, 2013 at 4:42 pm Reply

    Hi Claire! I thought Thor 2 was totally kick ass and I had a lot of fun with it. It definitely improved a lot of elements from the first film in terms of scope, character development, incredible CGI and having a better balance of humour and seriousness. But then there were a few things I liked more in the original.

    I thought the key things to take away from the film would be the beautiful-looking Asgard and the look into the other 9 realms. And the relationships between the characters. There were some incredible moments between Thor and Loki, Thor and Odin, Frigga and Loki and Thor and Jane. Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston just embody their roles now and they’re SO DAMN AWESOME I can’t stand it. Those two have probably one of the most important on-screen relationships in any series of comic book films.

    The disappointing aspects of the film would be the lack of the Warriors Three, Sif was SO underused (Jaimie Alexender is good as Sif and she should have created tension between Thor and Jane) and Chris Eccleston as the villain, while I didn’t mind him, he was like Eric Bana as Nero from Star Trek (all bark and no bite).

  4. My Reel POV’s Top 10 of 2013. | MyReelPOV January 17, 2014 at 12:58 pm Reply

    […] Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Elysium, Aint Them Bodies Saints, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Thor: The Dark World, GI Joe: Retaliation, Captain Phillips, Kick-Ass 2 and The Worlds […]

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Manchester-based food blogger, lover of all things food and drink.

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews - New and older releases!

THE LAST PICTURE BLOG

OCCASIONAL NOTES ON FILM

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

imagination is the key

Movies of the Soul

Vampire Bat reviews worthy movies

Strange and Lost Visions

Damian Mark Whittle. Outsider travelling through weird places. Happily asexual and a friend to all cats.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

THE BOOKS THAT TIME FORGOT.

Reviewing books that time has passed by.