“Here’s the old hippie-hating mad dog himself in the flesh” Inherent Vice.

Inherent vice poster

Inherent Vice… I am struggling to begin this review due to the absurdity of the subject matter. Let’s start with the plot… (maybe I should use inverted comma’s there). Joaquin Phoenix plays the lead role of ‘Doc’ Sportello, a Private Investigator who gets a mysterious visit from his ex-girlfriend, Shasta Fay (Katherine Waterston), just before she and her millionaire lover, Wolfmann, disappear. During his drug fuelled investigation process, Doc stumbles upon some pretty hairy characters and unwittingly becomes caught up in all sorts of corruption, revenge and a hell of a lot of drug use. But hey, it’s the 70’s man and Doc is a class A bohemian hippie. 

What I imagine Doc's eyeballs see inside his eyelids!

What I imagine Doc’s eyeballs see inside his eyelids!

There are quite a lot of mixed reviews about Inherent Vice which I can understand. The plot may seem straight forward but when you add the sub stories of folks such as Coy Harlingen (Owen Wilson) the undercover hippie who wants out, ‘Bigfoot’ (Josh Brolin) the dangerous lone Detective looking for any excuse to violate some civil rights and Dr. Rudy Blatnoyd (Martin Short) the nonplussed perverted ‘mob boss’, then the plot becomes a little crowded and it can be quite hard to follow in places. HOWEVER, I actually really like this about Inherent Vice. With the help of Doc’s friend Sortilège (Joanna Newsom) providing some narration when things really don’t make sense, the audience watches events unfold through Doc’s mind… his drug riddled, paranoid, hallucinating rainbow kaleidoscope of a brain. 

My point being, no wonder the film doesn’t make sense! The more drugs Doc consumes the more random things seem to happen, and I don’t think this is a coincidence. I found myself afterwards questioning which bits were paranoid delusions, and what really happened through the eyes of a sane, sober person? I really enjoyed the random scenes and little quips that are easily missed but made me laugh out loud, most of the time in disbelief that something so weird just occurred, (i.e. the policeman picking his nose, or Bigfoot’s last scene… what the eff?! Ha!).

INHERENT VICE

Big love for Phoenix in this role, he really nails the part so convincingly and not a character I have seen him play before. I really felt for his lungs if he isn’t really a smoker! He has a general nonchalance and confidence about him, mixed with the innocence and kind hearted nature that age old stoner stereotypes seem to posses. I was quite attached to Doc and really felt like we should have his corner throughout. This feeling is strengthened by Brolin’s ‘Bigfoot’, he brings a menacing gravitas to his role of Detective Bjornsen which makes you route for Doc, but is Bigfoot the villain of this story? I am not sure, despite him being an absolute arsehole, I actually really liked him! (And so my title quote is in Bigfoot’s honour).

inherent vice brolin

There are a lot of characters in Inherent Vice which are a little hard to keep track of. Reece Witherspoon pops up in a small part and although it could be argued she is underused, her character slides in and out of the plot much like she does in and out of Doc’s mind. It fits, and why not cast a big name for a smaller character. Owen Wilson’s drawling accent and floppy blond hair lend themselves well to the free spirited role he plays but nothing out of the ordinary here. Maya Rudolf (of Bridesmaids fame I guess) also plays a small part as Doc’s receptionist. Nice to see her in such a different kind of film. Benicio Del Toro plays Doc’s lawyer of sorts and he fits perfectly in this films atmosphere, Del Toro and Pheonix make a good duo and their relationship could have been explored a little more perhaps. Plus Eric Roberts who almost goes unnoticed as Wolfmann! 

del toro and pheonix

The lesser known names also fair well in Inherent Vice in my opinion. Shasta Fay played by the absolutely stunning Katherine Waterston plays a perfect girl next door character. Joanna Newsom (playing Sortilège) has an ideal little voice that sets the tone from the beginning of the film, she has a really great supporting role which could have been explored. Jena Malone who I recognised from Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013) also plays a fun character who’s exchange with Doc is one of the highlights of the film for me. My favourite though has to be Hong Chau playing Jade, a prostitute come friend of Doc’s who pops up in the oddest of places and just goes along for the ride and coming out with some of the funniest one liners. 

INHERENT-VICE-doc

Unfortunately, Inherent Vice does have some pitfalls and that is mainly its length. I felt it could have easily cut out what seemed like 40 minutes worth of Shasta Fay’s dreamy stoner monologues, but really that is the only thing I can criticise… The production oozes 70’s nostalgia, coupled with a hazy filter and the dulcet tones of Sortilège’s narration, Paul Thomas Anderson has created a film worthy of comparison to the likes of The Big Lebowski (1998) or Boogie Nights (1997). I would recommend a DVD viewing so that you can talk to someone during the boring parts, and help each other understand what the hell is unfolding in front of you! Haha! As you can tell by my unusually long review, I very much enjoyed Inherent Vice!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on ““Here’s the old hippie-hating mad dog himself in the flesh” Inherent Vice.

  1. Dan O. March 24, 2015 at 8:27 pm Reply

    It’s a very confusing movie at times. However, there’s so much fun and excitement to it, that I hardly cared much. I just wanted it to keep on being as nuts as humanly possible. Nice review.

    • myreelpov March 25, 2015 at 8:42 am Reply

      Haha yes I agree, in the slower parts I was half expecting something strange to happen – which in parts it did and it snapped me back to attention. Glad you enjoyed it as well!

  2. Mark Walker March 24, 2015 at 8:55 pm Reply

    Great review! It’s so good to hear more positives thrown this films way. I really enjoyed it and think those that didn’t are being overly critical and missing the point of it all really. It’s not supposed to make entire sense. (Although it’s still fun trying to piece it all together) 🙂

    • myreelpov March 25, 2015 at 8:41 am Reply

      I agree, the point is a drug fuelled haze and that’s almost what you feel like when watching haha. I enjoyed it, glad you did too! And thanks for commenting.

  3. Hypersonic55 March 25, 2015 at 2:17 pm Reply

    Yo Claire! Cool review yo, I really wanted to see this film just because of the strange nature of the trailer and some of the buzz the film got from America. However in my town there was a very limited time period to see this so I missed it. From what you’ve written you’ve made it sound like it was worth a watch. I’ll put this on the watchlist and check it out eventually haha. 😛

    • myreelpov March 25, 2015 at 2:36 pm Reply

      Yes you should try it definitely! I’m not sure how your attention span will handle it haha, mine struggled at times but it is worth sticking it out! Let me know what you think if you remember to when you’ve seen it.

  4. Khalid at The Blazing Reel May 27, 2015 at 4:23 pm Reply

    Good review. Respect your opinion however, I myself was quite disappointed by this film

  5. jwforeva January 13, 2016 at 8:31 am Reply

    I really wanted to like it but I just couldn’t. It was too dysfunctional and crazy in a confusing way. Nice review though 🙂 And it’s cool to read a differing opinion.

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Exploring our changing relationship with nature through photography, digital art and flash fiction.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

