“This whisky is amazing, you will shit” Kingsman: The Secret Service

kingsmanposter0002

I was so looking forward to seeing Matthew Vaughn’s ‘Kingsman’ purely because Kick Ass is still one of my all time favourites and I remember the feeling of excitement I had when I first saw that film in the cinema (and still do every time I watch it, which is on the regular). The trailer for Kingsman made it look like Vaughn was going to be using the same humorous butt kicking awesomeness that I loved in Kick Ass and this had me practically jumping up and down!

Luckily for me, he doesn’t disappoint. Kingsman also has the added benefit of Taron Egerton who I fell in love with after the little UK Drama ‘The Smoke’. In Kingsman, Egerton plays a young ruffian Eggsy who is picked up by Agent Galahad (Colin Firth) in the hope that he will live up to his fathers legacy and become a Kingsman agent. Meanwhile a camp as Christmas villain Valentine, played by Samuel L Jackson plans to ‘take over the world’. Hilarity and absurdity follows… and it is SO entertaining!

The Kingsman are inherently British, the old English gent gets a good kicking and I can see why this might get some peoples back up. I however thought it was well used and Colin Firth is the perfect gentleman for the part. He is cool, swarve, kicks butt and holds no prisoners. It was great seeing Firth do what he does best with some added violence. Really made me giggle. The juxtaposition between Galahad and his prodigy Eggsy was very funny and I never groaned about a cringe worthy moment. I found them quite delightful on screen together.

Kingsman-The-Secret-Service-2

Mark Strong is another one of my favourites and happily here playing a completely different role to his villain in Kick Ass. I am not sure he needed a Scottish accent, maybe I missed a joke, but none the less I really enjoyed his character Merlin, who really came into his own towards the end of the film. An old love, and a new love… who the hell is Sofia Boutella, she was AMAZING. Boutella plays Valentines sidekick and is beautiful and lethal. Her relationship with Valentine probably could have been explored a little as I was confused about their connection but it wasn’t detrimental to the story line… Also, I just googled her and I am pleased for her that she does have legs. But those sword legs… jeese! So cool.

boutella and jackson KINGSMAN THE SECRET SERVICE

As much as I enjoyed the Kingsman agents and the whole set up in the tailors, Michael Cain being the boss was a little obvious maybe. However, obvious stereotypes are the flavour of the film and it gets away with it because it is so self aware and makes fun of the fact that it is another spy movie at the end of day. Which I found very funny and actually really drew me in! (I’m a sucker and easily pleased I will admit!). One point though, I felt like they could have introduced one or two agents for more of a team vibe. It seems like just Merlin and Galahad are running the show but they keep referring to the ‘other agents’… who?!

Kingsman-The-Secret-Service-wristwatches

I also very much enjoyed the style of the film, the music (much like Kick-Ass) is fantastic, I loved the use of Dizzy Rascal and ‘oh em gee’ Lynyrd Skynyrd’s FREEBIRD, that scene was SO EPIC. For those who haven’t seen Kingsman yet, you will be thrilled with the violence. The cartoon style explosions and Austin Powers-esque villain lair teamed with some cheesy overly British one liners and inappropriate sexual innuendo’s (and plain old butt references) make Kingsman a funny, completely silly, fast paced film that I enjoyed thoroughly all the way through. I am looking forward to seeing it again! My only qualm was the ending in between credits, predictable and obvious but none the less still entertaining.

I would recommend this film to people who enjoyed Kick Ass, but it wont suit all pallets! (Then again my Mum enjoyed it so who knows, maybe it’s universal haha).

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on ““This whisky is amazing, you will shit” Kingsman: The Secret Service

  1. Dan O. March 13, 2015 at 2:48 pm Reply

    The humor can sometimes be a bit off-putting, but it was still fun enough for me to get by. Nice review.

  2. Hypersonic55 March 13, 2015 at 3:21 pm Reply

    Hi Claire! Glad to see you’re still making reviews, verytime I see that you’ve put something online I do get a bit excited to see what you’ve written (hopefully that doesn’t sound too weird lol).

    I am so happy you got around to seeing this one, Kingsman I think is my favourite film of the year so far. It was insane theamount of violence and carnage that got put into the film, and yet it was still so much fun with all the adrenaline-pumped action sequences. That church sequence, holy shit, best thing I’ve ever seen in my life. The cinematography was SO good! Oh and the cast were brilliant too. Colin Firth, don! Taron Eregton I can see him having a successful character after this if he lands the right roles. I have to ask you what did you think of Sam Jackson’s lisp? I thought it was incredibly funny and with it he dominated most scenes he was in.

    • myreelpov March 13, 2015 at 3:30 pm Reply

      Haha not at all weird (you freak :P) jokes! Sorry they are so few and far between, I moved house and now live miles away from Cineworld to add to the list of reasons haha.
      I thought the lisp was funny – I can’t help but see Samuel L Jackson doing a lisp though if you know what I mean. He is so famous I can’t engage in his characters! Apart from Nick Fury I think most recently. But yes, so glad you liked it for all its stupidity and random violence. The Church scene is the one with Freebird playing it really was epic. My eyes were SO wide. The person I was with actually said they have never seen anyone get into a film so hard. HA. Welcome to me at the cinema!
      Hope you’re well Curt!

  3. Brian @ Hard Ticket to Home Video March 13, 2015 at 6:02 pm Reply

    Seems like I would like it but that dude’s jacket really infuriates me.

  4. Giadreams (themoviemylife.com) February 14, 2017 at 1:35 am Reply

    Great film. I loved Sofia Boutella’s character in this.

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

UK based photographer and digital artist. My work is an exploration of our ever-changing relationship with nature. I'm happily asexual and a friend to all cats

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

