“I am the Captain now” Captain Phillips.

Captain-Phillips-PosterCineworld treated us to another unlimited cinema preview this Monday and even provided free Pizza! (Which much to our disappointment had run out by the time we got there). The film in question was Captain Phillips, one I have been looking forward to seeing since the trailer hit. A true story about Captain Phillips of theΒ Maersk Alabama – the first American cargo ship to be hijacked in the last 200 years. I purposely didn’t google the full story or read any of the old news reports so I wasn’t sure where the film was going. It was a lot more terrifying than I had anticipated!

Although the film is centered around Phillips, the audience also get an interesting look into the Somali Pirates themselves and the characters come into their own during the film. Their anger and determination to collect a huge bounty off the Maersk Alabama is only strengthened by their constant abuse of the drug Khat. The casting of the Pirates is fantastic, some real talent is debuted especially from Barkhad Abdi playing the lead Pirate, Muse. The exchanges between Muse and Captain Phillips are very intense, and none more so than towards the finale.

930353 - Captain Phillips

Tom Hanks plays the Captain, as always giving a sterling performance (just when you think he’s done it all before…). Hanks manages to draw you in as if you are experiencing the ordeal with him – a raw and believable performance which is surely worth something come award season. The rawness of the performances were helped by Director Paul Greengrass who didn’t introduce the ship crew and the Pirates until the first time they meet on screen – I heard an interview on the radio with Hanks who said the hairs on the back of his neck were standing up, the guys were scary and intense which only made his and the crews reactions more realistic.

Captain Phillips 2

You feel as though you are a fly on the wall during Captain Phillips, the camera is a little jerky bringing an element of sea sickness and the back and forth between the crew and the pirates is so nerve racking I was holding my breath for the majority. Amazingly, the film managed to make me feel empathy for both sides, as well as terror, nausea and sheer panic!

I cannot fault this film, it wasn’t too long, the acting is phenomenal, the drama is intense and felt as though I had experienced something when I left the cinema. What a man Captain Phillips is.

My POV, you should watch this at the cinema, it is brilliant.

930353 - Captain Phillips

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on ““I am the Captain now” Captain Phillips.

  1. CMrok93 October 18, 2013 at 2:19 pm Reply

    One of the most compelling movies of the year, and for all of the right reasons. Hanks is great, but Greengrass is even better and surprisingly kept things small and quiet, but always thrilling. Nice review.

  2. keith7198 October 18, 2013 at 8:13 pm Reply

    Great review. I’m with you all the way. Absolutely loved it.

  3. Hypersonic55 October 21, 2013 at 9:23 pm Reply

    YES! YES! This is the review that basically summarizes how I feel about this film. For me this is hands down the best film of the year so far. 2013 has been, in my opinion, one of dullest and most disappointing years for films in a while. And then Captain Phillips comes out of nowhere and shows that there is some hope for the future with a brilliant thriller on the high seas based on real events.

    I remember watching reports about this on the news years ago, but I couldn’t remember how the issue was resolved. Some have complained about the portrayal of the Captain in the film, but since this is an adaptation I know that there will be inaccuracies. That stuff I pay no mind to, I look at a film for what it is and this film kick major ass. So much intense drama and action, tension-building stuff nearly all the time and Tom Hanks is one beast of a man, I pray that he never stops making films. Oh and Barkhad Abdi was bloody impressive for a dude was just making his first appearance in major film.

    P.S. Hi Claire! Sorry for not commenting on your work for a while now, I’ve been playing catch up with everyone for a while since uni started up again lol.

    • myreelpov October 22, 2013 at 8:37 am Reply

      Ah I am glad you are so enthusiastic about this film! And don’t worry, I am finding it hard to keep up with everyone atm as well, I have gone back to Uni and working full time so have no time for anything!! Argh!!

  4. GaryLee828 October 22, 2013 at 8:56 pm Reply

    Good review, and just wanted to say “hello” since it’s been a while I’ve commented. πŸ™‚

    • myreelpov October 23, 2013 at 9:13 am Reply

      Oh hello there! Nice to see you back! πŸ™‚

  5. Kendall October 30, 2013 at 10:49 am Reply

    There are now four spots left for the Best Actor nominations,

  6. Dan December 11, 2013 at 7:50 pm Reply

    Loved this film as well. Thought Tom Hanks was terrific – as was the entire cast. It’s been a while since a film literally had me on the edge of my seat like this…intense stuff.

    • myreelpov December 12, 2013 at 10:27 pm Reply

      I agree it was very intense! My bones ached afterwards!

  7. My Reel POV’s Top 10 of 2013. | MyReelPOV January 17, 2014 at 12:58 pm Reply

    […] Them Bodies Saints, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Thor: The Dark World,Β GI Joe: Retaliation, Captain Phillips, Kick-Ass 2 and The Worlds […]

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

UK based photographer and digital artist. My work is an exploration of our ever-changing relationship with nature. I'm happily asexual and a friend to all cats

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

