My Reel POV’s Top 10 of 2013.

A little slow on the uptake but I finally have time for a quick look at the films I enjoyed most in 2013.

Bear in mind these are not the films that I deem Oscar worthy or I am claiming they are technically the best films I saw in 2013, they are purely what I enjoyed and had the most fun with this year. After all, I am no expert! (Links will take you to my previous full review).

Without further-ado, from 10 to 1 here are my Top 10 Films of 2013.

Number 10 – This Is The End

This-Is-The-End-Poster

An absolutely absurd movie yet I couldn’t help but laugh all the way through. I loved all of these actors coming together and exaggerating their characters to the point of hilarity. If there hadn’t been SO MUCH cock in this film it might have scored higher. But I have to give it credit for making me actually clap my hands with excitement in the finale. Got this on DVD and sure it will be viewed many times in years to come… now if only I can find a friend who agrees with me…

 

 

 

 

 

Number 9 – Trance

Trance

I really enjoyed Danny Boyle’s Trance and thought James McAvoy was excellent. The twists and turns of the film really had me hooked and I have definitely thought about it since. I am not sure it’s a film that lends itself to multiple viewing, but will watch it again when I get the chance. Deserving of a Top 10 place in my brain!

 

Number 8 – Star Trek Into Darkness

Khan

Benedict Cumberbatch really gave a thrilling performance as Khan in this sequel, and I pretty much fell in love with Zachary Quinto as Spok – which is no mean feat if you have seen him as Sylar in Hero’s! This sequel actually beat it’s predecessor for me so here it is defending it’s Number 8 spot in my Top 10!

 

 

Number 7 – The Way Way Back

TWWB Poster

This film may come as a surprise sitting in the Number 7 spot, but The Way Way Back really surprised me at the time too. Sam Rockwell is just tremendous and it was great seeing Steve Carrell in darker role. Despite going a little slowly in the middle, I felt for these characters and really look forward to seeing it again.

 

 

 

Number 6 – Iron Man 3

Iron Man

 

I thought Iron Man would be higher on my list, but I enjoyed this film for different reasons than anticipated. I found Stark’s vulnerable side compelling and felt Pepper’s character came out of her shell much more. Plus I enjoyed the twist on The Mandarin himself, and we got see plenty of action to boot!

 

 

Number 5 – The Great Gatsby

TheGreatGatsby

Oh Leonadro DiCaprio you just get better and better with every film. The perfect Gatsby having read the source material, and you know what, despite my dislike for Toby Maguire I could just about stick him for the sake of the story. I had fond memories of the book from school, and I love Luhrmann’s style. I thought it was a perfect combination of light, dark, extravagant, subtle, modern and classic. I got the DVD for Christmas and have already re-watched as I am sure I will do again and again.

 

Number 4 – American Hustle

American Hustle cast

 

I can’t criticise O. Russell on his direction here, and unlike most, really enjoyed the story as well as the fantastic characters. Top performances from the whole cast, for me most significantly Jennifer Lawrence and Christian Bale. I can’t wait to see it again and it’s only been a few weeks since I saw it! Deserved of a spot in the Top 5 for sure, and for it’s many Oscar nominations!

Number 3 – The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

hunger-games-catching-fire-international-trailer-header

I didn’t get chance to review the new Hunger Games but it would have been a sterling review if I had. The first film did not impress me and I couldn’t understand the hype at the time. But Catching Fire really blew me away, I wasn’t even aware of the running time I just wanted it to continue! Fell head over heels for the whole cast and the story had me transfixed. Cannot wait for the third in the series and I have officially joined the bandwagon!

 

Number 2- Saving Mr. Banks

saving-mr-banks-poster

What a fantastic story that was told in Saving Mr. Banks, and an absolutely beautiful performance from Emma Thompson. I am surprised she isn’t nominated for an Oscar in all honesty. I found this film really touching and very emotional in happy ways as well as sad. I was really intrigued by P. L. Travers and Walt Disney’s relationship as well as their characters individually. This will definitely be a film I watch again, when I am feeling reflective and a bit melancholy, but for all the right reasons.

 

 

 

 

 

Number 1 – Rush

Rush-Movie

Number 1 film for me of 2013 though is Rush. The story, the characters, the visual experience, all of it was absolutely thrilling and I am so glad their story was told in such a brilliant way. It is on the top of my ‘to buy’ list and I am glad it made it to number 1 in my Top 10 as well as some others I have had the pleasure in reading. Bravo!

 

 

Honourable mentions go to these films which didn’t quite make the cut but none-the-less I still very much enjoyed…

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Elysium, Aint Them Bodies Saints, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Thor: The Dark WorldGI Joe: Retaliation, Captain Phillips, Kick-Ass 2 and The Worlds End.

I also saw the following films in 2013 which would have been in the running but technically can’t be counted as they were released at the back end of 2012 boo!

Wreck-It Ralph, Zero Dark Thirty, Seven Psychopaths and Pitch Perfect.

Maybe not a conventional list as Gravity didn’t get a mention, and I haven’t seen 12 Years a Slave or Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom. But I am pretty satisfied that 2013 was a good year for film. Excited to see what is in store for 2014!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

23 thoughts on “My Reel POV’s Top 10 of 2013.

  1. marshall_reviews January 17, 2014 at 1:01 pm Reply

    Very interesting list, well done.

  2. kierontownend January 17, 2014 at 1:04 pm Reply

    Interesting picks Claire. Good list.

  3. keith7198 January 17, 2014 at 1:04 pm Reply

    Good stuff! Love seeing “The Way, Way Back” on your list. It was actually #3 on my Top 10 of 2013 list! It was such a surprise for me!

    • myreelpov January 17, 2014 at 1:06 pm Reply

      Yay! I really enjoyed it, and it made a nice change to the usual stuff we see at the cinema 🙂

  4. lukebbtt January 17, 2014 at 1:06 pm Reply

    Happy that Trance is on here. Very under-rated. And wasn’t expecting Gatsby, but I must admit Di Caprio deserves the mention, old sport!

    • myreelpov January 17, 2014 at 1:13 pm Reply

      Maybe it’s my girly perspective but I love the romantic story and the visuals of Gatsby 🙂

  5. Dan Heaton January 17, 2014 at 3:44 pm Reply

    It’s great to see The Way Way Back on your list. I had a lot of fun with it, especially Sam Rockwell, Jim Rash, and everyone at the water park. There’s just a different feeling to this movie that really connected with me. I’m a sucker for nostalgia, I think.

    • myreelpov January 18, 2014 at 6:00 pm Reply

      Yes I agree with you there, much different atmosphere to the film which I really enjoyed!

  6. Tim The Film Guy January 17, 2014 at 6:27 pm Reply

    Fine list 😀

  7. Hypersonic55 January 17, 2014 at 7:02 pm Reply

    Sup Claire, great choices, surprised that you enjoyed Rush as much as you did. It was a gorgeous film and I wish I’d seen it more than once. Gotta love Chris Hemsworth, I want to meet him, it is a life goal after this film (if you couldn’t tell I have a man-crush).

    By the way if you have the time have a look at this post I did a little while ago, I think it’d be worth your time yo: http://hypersonic55.wordpress.com/2014/01/06/to-all-my-blogging-peeps-thanks/

    • myreelpov January 18, 2014 at 6:16 pm Reply

      Aw dude I didn’t even see this!! Thank you for pointing out, you are a sweetie!
      For obvious reasons I would also like to meet Chris Hemsworth lol!!!

  8. Tom January 18, 2014 at 9:58 am Reply

    Me! I’ll agree with you!! It’s fantastic to see This is the End cracking your top ten!! I absolutely had a blast with that one. Good list.

    • Tom January 18, 2014 at 10:06 am Reply

      oh, and btw. . .you get extra awesome points for naming ‘Rush’ as the #1. It’s mine too. Fantastic movie.

      • myreelpov January 18, 2014 at 6:02 pm

        Haha woohoo awesome points!! Well it had to go in there, I don’t think I have ever laughed so hard in a cinema!

  9. williamjepma January 20, 2014 at 4:22 pm Reply

    Fantastic list, you obviously have good taste in movies. 😉 I loved every movie I’ve seen on this list here (still have to catch up on a few of them though), and I think most of them would make my own Top 10 if I ever made one, especially The Great Gatsby, which I seem to love more than almost everyone else. 🙂

    • myreelpov January 20, 2014 at 9:09 pm Reply

      Yay I am so glad you are in agreement 😀

  10. lauren January 20, 2014 at 6:27 pm Reply

    Hi I’ve nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award to accept please follow the link at http://mykindofmovie.wordpress.com/2014/01/20/the-versatile-blogger-award-2/

  11. Zoë January 22, 2014 at 2:09 pm Reply

    Awesome list here and plenty of great picks!

  12. alexraphael August 3, 2014 at 9:47 pm Reply

    I loved Rush too, one of my favourite movies that year too. Oh and is there anything Di Caprio can’t do?

    • myreelpov August 4, 2014 at 11:29 am Reply

      Haha I don’t think there is, he smashes any role thrown at him to be fair. Thanks for reading and commenting!

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Exploring our changing relationship with nature through photography, digital art and flash fiction.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

