“The arrogance of men is thinking nature is in their control” Godzilla.

Godzilla is probably one of the most famous movie monsters of all time. I would say that every body knows the story, but beyond ‘big lizard destroys Tokyo’ I actually don’t think that is the case. It certainly wasn’t for me going in to the cinema anyway. There are 8 films I can see on IMDB as well as some TV series, and I must confess I hadn’t seen ANY. It also took me a while to find someone willing to see it with me to be honest! I think I need more male friends…

Godzilla1

But I digress! My only expectations for Godzilla were a lot of destruction and some cool monster action… well I got a little of that, but not as much as you would think. What surprised me about Godzilla was the amount of time the story spends on the human characters. That being said, I don’t feel like they developed these characters as much as they could have considering the screen time they took up.

The now legendary Bryan Cranston (of Breaking Bad fame, although I will always remember him as Hal from Malcolm in the Middle personally!) plays Joe Brody, a scientist who goes half crazy trying to uncover the conspiracy surrounding Godzilla and other unearthly creatures (although he has no idea what he is uncovering) after an unnatural event tears his family apart. Brody was the only character that got any kind of empathy out of me, although his screen time isn’t as much as you would think given the trailers, Cranston gives the most moving performance. After that it all fell a bit flat for me.

Godzilla4

Brody’s son is played by Aaron Taylor-Johnson.. except he appears to have lost all his charisma and charm. Unfortunately Ford Brody is little more than a military man. He shows some compassion for other human beings and there is chemistry between him and his wife played by Elizabeth Olsen, but not a character I could root for or sympathise with. Olsen was also given a pretty dull part to play, the teary wife and mother… she did what she could with it! (A duo we will be seeing more of in the future with the new Marvel film on it’s way..).

Godzilla5

A strange double act came in the form of Sally Hawkins and Ken Watanabe as the field experts on Godzilla and the MUTO’s (Massive Unidentified Terrestrial Organism). Hawkins follows Watanabe around like a lost puppy and Watanabe’s character looks very perplexed and dazed at all times. He is the only one who seems to understand the beasts and believes they should be left to carry out their business as naturally as possible. Of course the military men disagree, and all hell breaks loose!

The story of the MUTO’s came as a surprise to me but I enjoyed the fact that Godzilla isn’t just a crazed monster tearing up the city for no apparent reason. I enjoyed the story between the monsters much more than the turmoil suffered by the humans on the ground I have to say. The special effects were obviously awesome, I don’t think we need to comment on them anymore as they are just on the top of their game CGI wise. I didn’t however like the fact that most of the action was in the dark – this coupled with overwhelming noise to the point I blanked it out, and the nice warm surroundings… I MAY have nodded off a little, and so did my friend… awks!

Godzilla2

There were a few other things that made me lose interest a little, like the shock of discovering half a mountain has been destroyed when stumbling across it, and needing binoculars to find the giant MUTO’s carving a path through the desert… *scans horizon with binocular* “Oh there it is!” *zooms out* ITS BIGGER THAN AN EFFING BUILDING surrounded by nothing but sand… I laughed out loud at this point.

Ok, ok I have been a little harsh on Godzilla I fear. There were some excellent shots, such as the HALO jump which features in the trailer, and the few scenes of mass destruction… I did also feel some desperation when Brody couldn’t get back to his family. Over all though, a bit of a flop in terms of entertainment. I don’t think I will be watching it again. Sorry fans!

Godzilla3

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on ““The arrogance of men is thinking nature is in their control” Godzilla.

  1. mikeyb @ screenkicker May 28, 2014 at 4:31 pm Reply

    Your review is very similar to mine. I also thought the scene where they explored the mountain instead of just looking at the massive monster walking behind them was hilarious!

    • myreelpov May 28, 2014 at 5:15 pm Reply

      Haha I know wasn’t it ridiculous!

  2. Tim The Film Guy May 28, 2014 at 7:41 pm Reply

    Great review. I liked the film and thought the majority of the film was good, which is a nice change from the 98 version which was mostly bad.

    The visuals and tone worked really well but the characters where lifeless, except Cranston.

    Still bring on MechaGodzilla! πŸ˜€

    • myreelpov May 29, 2014 at 7:44 am Reply

      Haha I am glad you enjoyed it! I didn’t realise it would be a negative review to be honest but as I was writing I found I didn’t have that much positive to say about it!

  3. CMrok93 May 28, 2014 at 8:59 pm Reply

    It kept me tense just about the whole time. Even when Godzilla wasn’t around and just looming somewhere in the background, I was still having a great time. Good review.

    • myreelpov May 29, 2014 at 7:45 am Reply

      Thanks, I am happy you enjoyed it, I think I am in the minority to be honest πŸ™‚

  4. Hypersonic55 May 28, 2014 at 10:48 pm Reply

    Evening Claire, interesting review, while I can respect your thoughts about this film, I can say that I disagree with your thoughts once again. For me this film was awesome, suspenseful, smart and kick ass. Granted the film derserved more Bryan Cranston and Godzilla, I feel like it is a smart and interesting kind of monster film. Rather then just throwing visuals at ya and expecting it to carry the film, it gives us a story and characters that they at least try to make work. Maybe it is a cheat for me because I know the history with this franchise, seen two of the original Japanese films and had to see that dodgy Roland Emmerich Godzilla film from the 90’s. But I liked this film far more than a lot of the films in 2014, Godzilla is worth a watch just for the Mortal Kombat-styled fatality that Godzilla delivered to the female MUTO at near the end of the film, most badass kill in recent film history! Fact. πŸ˜€

    • myreelpov May 29, 2014 at 7:47 am Reply

      Ah dude, variety is the spice of life! It would be freaky if we agreed on everything haha. You’re not wrong about that kill it was pretty epic. I had actually forgotten about it though. If you have seen the other films I imagine this one is great in comparison. As I had nothing to compare it to apart from other big special effects movies, I didn’t think it was anything special πŸ™‚ Appreciate your comments as always!!

  5. sidekickreviews May 29, 2014 at 2:40 am Reply

    I thought the Halo jump was awesome too. Lots of destruction but needed at least a character or two to care about. Great review Claire!

    • myreelpov May 29, 2014 at 7:48 am Reply

      Thanks dude, that bit was pretty awesome, stayed awake for that haha. I need some one to take me on the journey and I didn’t connect with any of them so didn’t enjoy it as much like you say. Thanks for commenting πŸ™‚

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

UK based photographer and digital artist. My work is an exploration of our ever-changing relationship with nature. I'm happily asexual and a friend to all cats

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

