It’s been a while.. but I’m back, baby!!

Hey, it’s been a long time, I shouldn’t have left you, without a dope beat to step to, step to, step to… Ok, no Alliyah and Timberland fans out there… my point is, it’s been far too long since I have had time to sit down and write a review! Now I have a bit of a break, I plan on catching up with the world of movie reviews and putting my two pence in there for what it’s worth!

Seeing as it has been quite a while since my last review on 1st April, I am going to do some mini-reviews of films I have been to see in the last couple of months. Kind of like a warm up.. Then I will come back with a nice wordy review of The Amazing Spider-Man 2, because I do love to ramble!

Muppets_Most_Wanted_posterMuppet’s Most Wanted

Whilst I love a good Muppet movie, Muppet Treasure Island being one of my favourite films of all time, I HATED 2011’s monstrosity, The Muppets. Whilst the latest addition was much better, it still lacks what a great Muppet movie is all about, the effing Muppets! There are so many needless cameo’s squeezed in it feels more like a film for Hollywood than a film for the fans (did I randomly see Ludacris at the table in prison?!). To give it credit, the story line is much better than it’s predecessor, and Ricky Gervais, Tina Fey and Ty Burrell do bring some big laughs when interacting with the Muppets. The self awareness comedy from the Muppets themselves is used well too, and a couple of my favourites, Pepe and Animal, got some good scenes and funny lines. Unfortunately it didn’t cut the mustard for me though and I think I have given up on The Muppet franchise!

 

the-grand-budapest-hotel-collage

The Grand Budapest Hotel

Well this certainly was an odd ball of a film! Ralph Fiennes, F. Murray Abraham, Willem Defoe, Tilda Swinton, Jeff Goldblum, Ed Norton, Jude Law, Bill bloody Murray – an amazing cast, and an interesting story to boot. TGBH felt like a foreign movie that should have been subtitled, Wes Anderson did a fantastic job of making the film feel very authentic and giving it many layers. There are plenty of hidden jokes and passing funniosities which you probably wont see the first time around. I am very much looking forward to seeing it again. It does fall a little flat in the middle, but the film more than makes up for it in intelligence, whit and entertainment during the remainder. A hidden gem!

Divergent_Quad_AW

Divergent

‘Oh it’s like Hunger Games’ – well I suppose it is like Hunger Games except… not good. The saving grace for this film is Theo James who pulls off hot and intriguing without playing into your stereotypical ‘Edward-esque’ personality too much. The leading lady Shailene Woodley is unfortunately as her surname would suggest, although she does loosen up a little toward the end of the film. Too little too late for me though I am afraid, I was quite disappointed by this distopian teenage angst malarkey. And I am usually a sucker for that stuff! Though it isn’t all bad, it has it’s gripping and interesting moments – but not enough to pull it out of the ‘mediocre’ pile for me!

captain_america_the_winter_soldier_2014-wide

Captain America: The Winter Soldier

I enjoyed this installment much more than the first Captain America (which put me to sleep half way through). I liked Chris Evans performance,Β much like in The Avengers Assemble I think Cap actually seems to be getting a sense of personality. His relationship with Black Widow had me intrigued too, I felt that Evans and Scarlett Johansson had some good chemistry going on. Although I think she would be far too much for Cap to handle. I loved Anthony Mackie’s Falcon, you could tell in reality that guy was absolutely buzzing to be a part of it. The CGI on the Falcon wasn’t great but I liked the way they used Caps speed and strength and Falcons flight to create dynamic action sequences. I felt the Winter Soldier himself left a little to be desired, but found the history between him and Cap interesting and I am looking forward to seeing that story arc in future films. Much better than expected, but not raving about it.

theotherwomanThe Other Woman

Cameron Diaz and Lesley Mann make a good duo in this comedy about a wife and mistress seeking revenge on a love rat. Kate Upton is technically part of the trio but unfortunately doesn’t bring much more than a nice rack. That is the character she was given though so I am not down playing her performance!Β Nikolaj Coster-Waldau plays the love rat in question and similarly plays a stereotypical role as the sleazy man girls love to hate. But hey, the formula worked because me and my friends were in absolute stitches throughout. I think this film is easily misinterpreted as a movie about revenge, actually I found it to be a movie about friendship and the bond women can make with each other even through the strangest of circumstances. The only thing that let it down was the over the top ending, BUT I enjoyed it, and so did my friends. We will be watching it again for a bit of light-hearted entertainment!Β 

Bad Neighbours

A couple with a new born baby move into their dream home only to have a fraternity move in next Bad_neighborsdoor… What on earth possessed someone to pitch that story line I will never know. Does that actually happen?? Surely Universities have to have permission to have these things in residential areas?? ANYWAY, despite the ridiculousness of the situation, the combination of Seth Rogan, Rose Byrne, Zac Efron and Dave Franco really worked! Plus the added hilarity from Ike Barinholtz of Mindy Project fame was a great surprise. The frat house scenes made me want to party, the relationship between Rogan and Byrne actually felt quite authentic, and the jokes were pretty hilarious. You can’t really say much about it, its a silly, funny film that I will most likely be watching again!

That’s enough of the mini reviews, I have since seen The Amazing Spider-Man and Godzilla so I will try my best to get some reviews up more regularly now I have a break from studying and just have the 9-5 grind to contend with πŸ˜€

Glad to be back guys! Peace out!

PS. Thanks to The Focused Filmographer and Lauren at My Kind of Movie for my recent blog nominations! Apologies for being useless and not responding in a timely manner. But here’s me accepting my award… hehe thanks guys!!

me3

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “It’s been a while.. but I’m back, baby!!

  1. mikeyb @ screenkicker May 23, 2014 at 8:11 pm Reply

    Never underestimate the power of a nice rack!

    Great post, you’ve seen so many films. Glad to have you back πŸ™‚

    • myreelpov May 23, 2014 at 8:49 pm Reply

      Yay thanks for the kind words! πŸ˜€

  2. lukebbtt May 24, 2014 at 9:15 am Reply

    You didn’t like the 2011 Muppets movie!!! Shocked.

    And can’t wait for your later reviews, although this is quite the comeback post πŸ™‚

    • myreelpov May 24, 2014 at 9:52 am Reply

      Thanks dude πŸ™‚ appreciate you giving it a read!!

  3. Hypersonic55 May 24, 2014 at 5:03 pm Reply

    Yay you’re back, let’s crack open the champagne! πŸ™‚

    Firstly great introduction, “Try Again” was one of my favourite jams many years ago and I never would have taken you for a fan of Timbo and Aaliyah, hats off to you girl! πŸ™‚

    But anyways cool to see you dishing out some mini reviews, I’ve only seen 2 out of your list; Cap 2 and Grand Budapest Hotel. You know how I feel about Cap so let move onto GBH, glad to see you liked it for the most part, I thought the film was very good, but very strange and wacky at the same time. Not my favourite Wes Anderson film, still think Moonrise Kingdom is better. I didn’t bother with Divergent just because reviews like yours told me to stay away and I’m glad that I did lol. As for Bad Neighbours I’m hoping to watch that in the next few days, I’ve heard good things, I just hope its not another disappoint comedy which will leave me hating Seth Rogen more than I do already.

    Again good to see you back, now get back to work! Haha. πŸ˜€

    • myreelpov May 25, 2014 at 4:05 pm Reply

      Haha if you hate Seth Rogan I can’t imagine you will enjoy Bad Neighbours! I haven’t seen Moon Rise Kingdom still so will have to give that a watch!

      Thanks dude, glad to be back πŸ˜€

  4. […] Woodley and Ansel Elgort (both from mind-blowingly mediocre recent flick Divergent) play the lead roles in this romantic adaptation of John Green’s novel, about a 16 year old […]

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

UK based photographer and digital artist. My work is an exploration of our ever-changing relationship with nature. I'm happily asexual and a friend to all cats

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

