“We are only here briefly, and in this moment I want to allow myself joy” Her, 2013.

Interesting that your blog views peak over the Oscar’s period, I feel like I should rate my reviews on ‘most likely to win an award’. Personally I think some of the best films don’t even get a look in, but hey, I’m just an average Joe public audience member…

her_xlg

‘Her’ won Best Original Screenplay for writer and director Spike Jonze last night. I think this is quite an apt award as the redeeming feature of this film is its script. Joaquin Phoenix gives an intense performance as Theodore, a writer of sorts who falls in love with his new ‘intuitive’ operating system, voiced by Scarlett Johansson. A strange concept but one that isn’t too outrageous I guess.

The idea of an intelligent operating system which evolves through it’s experiences is an interesting one. But for me it raises too many questions outside of the immediate story line to be a believable scenario. For example, Samantha, (the OS in question) develops feelings, has her own opinions and can influence a persons behavior… my mind was racing with questions such as, would they have human rights, should they be paid some how, can you shut them down without raising some serious ethical concerns… Also the way in which the technology is used had me doubting it’s popularity as every thing is voice activated – I personally don’t think that would catch on, as technology trends go, I think the less talking out loud the better?

HER

In terms of plot, Theodore is suffering after a break-up and seems particularly vulnerable when Samantha the OS comes into his life. His connection to the technology was understandable, if you have ever seen ‘Catfish’ then you’ll know falling in love virtually without ever meeting face to face is common even today. But the way the story progressed into calling each other ‘boyfriend’ and ‘girlfriend’ and this being a relatively natural occurrence raised an eyebrow for me.

I enjoyed Phoenix and his friendship with Amy (played by Amy Adams) but I felt she was under used, Adams was effortless as usual though and I liked her character. I understood her friendship with a female OS much more than the relationship between Samantha and Theodore. He has little interaction with anyone other than Samantha though, but I wasn’t completely bored of it like you might expect.

her - amy adams

The saving grace is the script, the film is full of beautiful phrases and mini speeches, as the characters question the world around them and the emotions they are experiencing. For a man who claims to be introvert and struggles with sharing his emotions, he speaks very poetically about them a lot of the time, a contradiction in his character for me. But none the less some excellent dialogue between Phoenix and Johansson which pull the film along at a steady pace.

Her

With more events, and less awkward virtual sex scenes this film would have been much more enjoyable. I enjoyed Robot and Frank (2012) much better which has a similar angle, but I can see why the successful director and high profile leads dragged this one up to Oscar worthy (although I’m not sure I agree with it).

My POV, an interesting concept but not a lot more than a man seemingly talking poetically to himself for 2 hours. I wont be seeing it again and I wouldn’t suggest a trip to the big screen (unless you find mind boggelingly awkwardness a fun factor…). Should have seen Lego Movie instead…

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on ““We are only here briefly, and in this moment I want to allow myself joy” Her, 2013.

  1. keith7198 March 3, 2014 at 1:09 pm Reply

    I’m with ya. I was one of the few that didn’t fall in love with this film. For me the script is where the issues began. The crazy tone shattering bursts of “comedy” in the first half. The throwaway scenes such as surrogate sex scene and the Olivia Wilde flimsy weak female character – Things like that brought it down for me. I still liked it but not enough to rush back and see it.

    • myreelpov March 3, 2014 at 1:32 pm Reply

      Yeah Wilde’s character wasn’t even worth a mention it would seem. I just found myself cringing throughout which I don’t find particularly enjoyable! Glad you can agree 🙂

  2. lukebbtt March 3, 2014 at 1:59 pm Reply

    I thought this was the best out of all of the OSCAR nominees (Gravity excluded), but your plot holes are quite amusing. Good spot haha.

    • myreelpov March 3, 2014 at 2:18 pm Reply

      I just couldn’t get over the awkwardness of the situation lol. But good performances so I’m glad I saw it.

  3. Hypersonic55 March 3, 2014 at 2:24 pm Reply

    Yes Claire! Yes! Thank god I’m not the only who isn’t falling head over heals for this film, there is justice in the world! Now that that I’ve gotten that out of the way let’s actually take about the film lol.

    I thought this film was good, quite beautiful at points, but like you there were a few things to question like the intelligence of technology and human’s interaction with it and where the boarders are, if there are any. I’m glad I am not the only one who found that audio sex scene cringey and thought Amy adams was under utilized. I guess I like technology when it attacks people like Skynet and also I prefer a good relationship between people, I discriminate again machines! 😛

    Great review yo, very well-written and you make me want to re-watch Robot and Frank again, that was MUCH better film.

    • myreelpov March 3, 2014 at 3:15 pm Reply

      Haha Curtis, that is funny. I am glad you agree. Oh my when the screen goes blank I was holding my ears waiting for it to stop lol, and the dead cat woman – WHAT?! Technology is not romantic and that’s the end of it haha.

  4. CMrok93 March 3, 2014 at 11:22 pm Reply

    One of the most beautiful flicks of last year, for the sole reason that it makes us see why love is an important aspect of our lives that, no matter who you have it with, helps us grow and become the best that we can be. In most cases, that is. Good review.

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Exploring our changing relationship with nature through photography, digital art and flash fiction.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

