“That’d be the last mother-fucker you ever popped” Out of the Furnace.

out-of-the-furnace-poster03

I was intrigued about Out of the Furnace having recently seen Christian Bale’s top performance in American Hustle, and loving Cassey Affleck from Ain’t Them Bodies Saints last year. I wasn’t quite prepared for what I witnessed though, especially as the plan was to go to the cinema, have a meal and go out for drinks with the girls – turned out to be a bit of a mood killer…

Film Title: Out of the Furnace

Bale and Affleck play brothers Russell and Rodney Baze, both struggling to lead simple lives after experiencing quite different but none the less traumatic periods. The younger of the two, Rodney, get’s himself mixed up with all round bad guy Harlan DeGroat (Woody Harrelson) and when he mysteriously goes missing the seemingly quiet Russell takes matters into his own hands.

I would like to start with exclaiming how bloody impressed I was with the acting in this film. Oh my goodness, Bale was breath taking, despite what I have read I thought the chemistry between him and Affleck was really authentic. Nailed the awkward yet emotional brotherly love for sure. He had me absolutely hooked on his character from start to end, plus I kept thinking … I need to meet a man like that! (I am cringing at myself for admitting to this fact).

Out-of-the-Furnace-2013

Harrelson plays an excellent villain as always, he is so menacing. I think they could have given him contacts though, those baby blues can distract from the crazy sometimes. None-the-less a riveting performance with a character that sets the tone of the film in the very first scene. Some intense stuff right there.

Out-of-the-Furnace-2013Woody-Harrelson-and-Christian-Bale

Sam Shepard and Willem Dafoe deserve a mention for playing the much needed slightly less intense characters, the trusty Uncle (Shepard) and ‘friend’ (Dafoe). Although I think they could have been used a little more in the third act.

A surprise for me was that I enjoyed Forest Whitaker in this film! I actually believed in his character for a change and found him compelling, I couldn’t get my head around his connection with Zoe Saldana’s character though. But a solid, emotional performance from Saldana too.

out-of-the-furnace-(2013) still-of-christian-bale-and-zoe-saldana

The pace of the film was good, I was on the edge of my seat totally engaged in the relationships and spiralling story line. Up until about the time Russell start seeking his revenge… it does unfortunately fall a little flat. This was probably heightened by the fact I was desperate for the loo and kept thinking something was going to happen, but then it didn’t… When I arrived back from the loo to discover nothing new had happened I could sit and enjoy the movie again – what followed was an intense and exciting finale which I thought was extremely well done and incredibly touching.

out-of-the-furnace

Despite it’s little flaws in pacing and perhaps predictable characters, I was completely sucked in and that is what I look for in a film. The raw emotion that oozed out of the leads was intense, and I was taken on the journey as well.

My POV then, an emotional but fantastic film worthy of more than 7/10 on IMDB I might add. Looking forward to more of Scott Cooper’s direction – and must remember to try Crazy Heart!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on ““That’d be the last mother-fucker you ever popped” Out of the Furnace.

  1. mikeyb @ screenkicker February 8, 2014 at 4:24 pm Reply

    Not your typical girls night out movie! I havent seen this yet but i could watch Christian Bale in anything. Except that one with the dragons of course!

  2. CMrok93 February 8, 2014 at 5:37 pm Reply

    Good review. The cast is great and really goes to town on this material. As for everything else though in this movie, it’s all too regular and conventional to really be all that compelling.

    • myreelpov February 8, 2014 at 8:08 pm Reply

      In your opinion 🙂 I found it very compelling!!

  3. Hypersonic55 February 8, 2014 at 8:47 pm Reply

    Haha cannot believe you chose this film a girls night out. Anyways moving on, I really liked the film despite its predictable characters and weaker third act. The acting carried the film, Bale was great and just seeing his versatility over the several films he’s done in recent years is insane. Casey Affleck was great, Dafoe and Saldana were lovely, but Harrelson killed it for, some sort of mutant madman! That opening scene with him was amazing, scary and intense, but still amazing!

    • myreelpov February 9, 2014 at 3:00 pm Reply

      Yeah he makes a good mental case haha. Glad you enjoyed it but clearly not as much as I did lol.

  4. sidekickreviews February 8, 2014 at 9:30 pm Reply

    I haven’t watched this one yet, so it’s a bit of a revenge flick eh? The cast looks pretty good. I still need to see Crazy Heart too.

    • myreelpov February 9, 2014 at 3:01 pm Reply

      I guess it is a revenge flick but only the second half, the first half is a brutally honest look at some hard hitting societal issues in the US. I really enjoyed it!

  5. lukebbtt February 9, 2014 at 1:17 am Reply

    I have seen so many varied reviews on this, I have no idea what to think anymore haha. Probably will wait for DVD though.

    • myreelpov February 9, 2014 at 3:01 pm Reply

      I think it’s worth the trip to the cinema but hope you do enjoy it when you see it.

  6. Zoë February 11, 2014 at 7:26 am Reply

    Great review. I am really glad to see that you enjoyed this, too. I thought it was excellent! I thought the end was so well done!

    • myreelpov February 12, 2014 at 3:52 pm Reply

      Me too!! Glad you agree!

  7. Tom February 17, 2014 at 9:37 am Reply

    Absolutely loved this film. It was performance-based so I didn’t mind it dragging on a bit every now and then. Glad you caught on to it, was reflected in your review. Nice work.

    • myreelpov February 17, 2014 at 10:32 am Reply

      Thanks, glad you enjoyed the review, and even better that you loved the film 🙂

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

UK based photographer and digital artist. My work is an exploration of our ever-changing relationship with nature. I'm happily asexual and a friend to all cats

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

