“You’re nothing to me until you’re everything” American Hustle.

AMERICAN-HUSTLE-poster

David O. Russell smashed it in 2012 with Silver Linings Playbook (which I reviewed here) and he was back at the end of last year with something a little different, American Hustle. I say it’s a little different in the context that it isn’t a twist on the rom-com, its a twist on the heist movie genre – loosely based on the real events of the ‘Abscam’ plot by the FBI to take down the corrupt members of congress in the 70’s. In this version we focus on 3 central characters, Irving Rosenfeld the con-artist (Christian Bale), Sydeny Prosser, Irving’s mistress and partner in crime (Amy Adams) and Richie DiMaso the twisted FBI agent (Bradley Cooper). Focus also falls on 2 supporting characters, Jennifer Lawrence as Rosalyn Rosenfeld the neurotic wife, and Jeremy Renner as Mayor Carmine Polito.

American Hustle cast

The introduction to this film had me hooked, Bale’s narration to set up the events that followed was very intriguing and the use of flashbacks to lure you in worked a treat. I enjoyed seeing the characters Irving and Sydney fall in to a whirl wind romance and it introduced them to the film in such a powerful way I american-hustle_bale&adamsfelt immediately connected to them. As well as the direction and editing, Bale and Adam’s performances are brilliant. I have never seen Bale in such a transformational role before and I was VERY impressed by the way he managed to perfectly balance Irving’s dark and vulnerable side to make him the most likable middle aged balding con-man you’ll see on the big screen to date. Adam’s also blew me away with her charm and charisma, something that was completely lacking in her recent role as Lois in Man of Steel. But together, there was a certain warming chemistry that really made their relationship believable.

That is up until Cooper’s FBI Agent DiMaso enters the story, then the fun really begins. DiMaso is an unstable character, much like his character in Silver Linings but not as innocent and not half as likable. Traditionally the FBI would be in the role of ‘good guy’, but DiMaso is so hell bent on achieving fame for bringing down the corrupt congressmen that he will stop at nothing. It makes his character hard to like but makes the story that much more compelling. The scenes in which Cooper and Adam’s share intimate moments with are hard to ignore, as Adam’s proves she can create spine-tingling sexual tension with just about anyone except Superman.
Jennifer LawrenceAs supporting roles go, Lawrence steals the show with her performance as Irving’s neglected wife – taking most of the memorable lines and scenes that will stick in your head after viewing. She is at first
quite unassuming and portrayed as the bimbo Irving keeps at home painting her nails and cleaning the house. As the story continues though she becomes one of the cleverest, most manipulative and fiendish of the whole cast. Her neuroticism is displayed for all to see, and Lawrence plays it flawlessly.

Renner’s role as Mayor Carmine really took me by surprise, I much prefer him in a role such as this as I didn’t find him a very convincing superhero (sorry!). He is their mark to take down the big dogs but his character is where you as the audience really start to question the boundaries between good and bad. That is what makes this story interesting, it isn’t your typical con-artist film, it make the audience (and the characters) question what is morally right and wrong, whether the ‘good guys’ are acting for the wrong reasons, and makes you sympathize with what would traditionally be the ‘bad guys’.

American-HustleJeremy-Renner

So an intriguing story and a compelling cast teamed with an AMAZING sound track and fantastic direction, I really couldn’t rave about this film any more. I have read many reviews that say the plot doesn’t add up to the characters but I have to disagree, I was hooked on the story as well. In David O. Russell’s defense, character study is what he does best and I believe he did a fantastic job of merging a much more complicated story line with the in depth portrayal of the characters too.

My POV then, a must see, whether it be at the cinema or when it is released on DVD. I know I will be buying a copy and am looking forward to seeing it again. It reminded me of the twist on romance we see in Tarantino’s ‘True Romance’ (1993) plus the action and intrigue from films such as ‘Ocean’s Eleven’ (2011) and ‘Argo’ (2013) with an obvious hint of O. Russell’s previous work. Loved it!

Bale is so good he managed to make THIS strangely attractive...

Bale is so good he managed to make THIS strangely attractive…

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

23 thoughts on ““You’re nothing to me until you’re everything” American Hustle.

  1. keith7198 January 13, 2014 at 5:49 pm Reply

    Very nice review. This is a film that has certainly won a lot of people over. I also think it’s going to be a force during the Oscars.

    • myreelpov January 13, 2014 at 6:25 pm Reply

      I agree! I hope the hype doesn’t ruin it for some though.

  2. Mark Walker January 13, 2014 at 6:11 pm Reply

    Great review. I couldn’t argue with you at all on most points but, unfortunately, I was one that found the pace to be a little off. It didn’t quite get the right balance. That being said, I loved it too and still rated it 4.5/5

    • myreelpov January 13, 2014 at 6:25 pm Reply

      I am glad you rated it highly!

  3. kierontownend January 13, 2014 at 6:17 pm Reply

    Ah, True Romance, now that’s a great film. Good review though Claire, looking forward to catching this one on DVD.

    • myreelpov January 13, 2014 at 6:26 pm Reply

      Yes it is! Thanks for reading 🙂

  4. lukebbtt January 13, 2014 at 6:55 pm Reply

    I just loved the 70s vibe with the music and costume. I hope the costume department picks up a few awards.

  5. liamdoesfilm January 13, 2014 at 8:06 pm Reply

    Its a good film very hyped and slightly overrated in my opinion though, nevertheless great review!

    • myreelpov January 13, 2014 at 8:13 pm Reply

      I think when a film is hyped people always expect too much of it, if you ignore the hype you’ll rave about it!

      • liamdoesfilm January 13, 2014 at 8:15 pm

        Very true, I have to admit though as it got going and I got into it more it was enjoyable 🙂 just the first half that disappointed.

  6. benjoy93 January 13, 2014 at 8:20 pm Reply

    Great review, totally agree. Another great film by O. Russel and another killer Christian Bale performance!

    • myreelpov January 14, 2014 at 9:01 am Reply

      Agreed, Bale really won me over in this one!

  7. CMrok93 January 13, 2014 at 10:04 pm Reply

    What makes this such a blast to watch is the cast, who, even in the messiest moments throughout this flick, somehow find a way to keep us entertained and interested by what they have to offer here. Good review.

    • myreelpov January 14, 2014 at 9:01 am Reply

      Yes I agree, a strong cast made all the difference. Thanks dude.

  8. Zoë January 14, 2014 at 7:02 am Reply

    Truly hoping to see this soon! Great review!

    • myreelpov January 14, 2014 at 9:00 am Reply

      Thanks! I hope you do 🙂

  9. Terry Malloy's Pigeon Coop January 14, 2014 at 9:55 am Reply

    Nice write up! I wasn’t a massive fan of the story itself but the performances were just superb.

    • myreelpov January 14, 2014 at 10:55 am Reply

      I really enjoyed the story too, but the performances made it award winning for sure.

  10. Hypersonic55 January 14, 2014 at 10:07 pm Reply

    Evening Claire, lovely write-up of the film yo. Personally I liked, but not nearly as much as I would have liked. After Silver Linings Playbook, a film I LOVED, I was expecting more of the same kind of quality and I guess what happened was that I was expecting some kind of interesting heist film, but what I got was something different and unexpected. I thought the plot got a little mixed up in the middle and I actually was wondering when the film would end and that’s never a good sign.

    The cast saved this film for me with their insanely good performances. Jeremy Renner was my favourite, best role I’ve ever seen him in since The Town.

    • myreelpov January 15, 2014 at 10:56 am Reply

      Hmm maybe that was the problem, you had preconceptions and then it couldn’t live up to your own standards… very philosophical haha. But hey that’s what makes it interesting!
      The plot did get a little confusing in the middle but I thought it added to the whole theme of confusing their moralities. I may even have enjoyed it more than Silver Linings the more I reflect on it. Weird!

  11. mikeyb @ screenkicker January 15, 2014 at 9:21 am Reply

    Great review. I really need to see this!

  12. […] intrigued about Out of the Furnace having recently seen Christian Bale’s top performance in American Hustle, and loving Cassey Affleck from Ain’t Them Bodies Saints last year. I wasn’t quite […]

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Exploring our changing relationship with nature through photography, digital art and flash fiction.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

