“It never ceases to amaze me, the courage of a Hobbit” The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug.

The-Hobbit-Desolation-of-Smaug-Poster

It doesn’t feel like a whole year has passed since The Hobbit came out last Christmas time, but here we are again with the second instalment of the three part franchise. I have to say I am quite impressed at how they have managed to fill out the story to warrant three very long films, but is it entirely necessary??

The Desolation of Smaug sees the Dwarves, Bilbo and Gandalf still trekking across hell and high water to get to The Lonely Mountain. We meet some new characters, but we also get to see some characters from the first Hobbit of course, as well as an old friend from the Lord of the Rings trilogy, namely Legolass. For me Legolass’ return was the ultimate highlight of the film, but this is probably due to the fact it was making me very nostalgic. Not long gone are the days when I had a Legolass poster on my bedroom wall and went to see the first LOTR FIVE times at the cinema due to my minor obsession with the blond elf. But I digress…

The_Hobbit_-_The_Desolation_of_Smaug_-_Attercop!

Martin Freeman plays an excellent Bilbo, an even more solid performance the second time round. You can see the changes in him as the journey takes its toll, and the power of the ring starts to weigh on him gradually. He has also learnt some pretty good fighting skills now he has a little more gumption about him! His interactions with the Dwarves are great and pulls the story along through the boring bits… Boring bits?! Yes, this film is 2 hours and 20 minutes long, I guess it couldn’t have been gripping for the whole 150 minutes!

The Dwarves are all great in their own rights, their characters are really starting to show. Couldn’t help thinking that they should have names like Grumpy, Greedy, Dopey and so on, but I suppose their individual characters make them stand out from one another. Although Thorin (Richard Armitage) is starting to annoy me a little as his Dwarfish characteristics become more apparent. I am not sure how I feel about the Elf – Dwarf love interest either… weird.

The-Hobbit-Desolation-of-Smaug

There are a couple of fantastic scenes that really stuck in my head during this film, namely the Dwarves escape in barrels down the rapids, Gandalf’s encounter with evil, and the attack of the giant spiders to name a few. I felt the interactions between Bilbo and Smaug dragged on a little, never the less Benedict Cumberbatch does an excellent Dragon impression! Plus the scenes in the caves are visually stunning. As a matter of fact this film sees so many giant and impressive landscapes, the whole thing really is quite awe inspiring to the eyeballs.

THE HOBBIT: THE DESOLATION OF SMAUG

I was just happy that I could see Legolass kick some butt again, his character isn’t explored at all though except for a minor glimpse into his heritage. I am hoping for some more blond elf action in the final installment, however I don’t believe he is in the book so Peter Jackson will have to make some thing up!

the-hobbit-the-desolation-of-smaug-elvesI am not going to go into detail about all the characters, actors and story line because it is just far too vast. I will say that I enjoyed this film, and it should definitely be seen on the big screen. I think stretching the story into 3 parts is pushing it, but I am eagerly anticipating the finale. I will give honourable mentions though to Lee Pace as Thranduil (Legolass’ father) because its such a different role than Pushing Daisies where I know him from. I enjoyed Evangeline Lilly as Tauriel and Steven Fry’s appearance was fun, although it slipped into BBC drama territory momentarily!

My POV, go and see it if you are a fan, the visual effects will blow you away if nothing else.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 thoughts on ““It never ceases to amaze me, the courage of a Hobbit” The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug.

  1. liamdoesfilm January 3, 2014 at 5:59 pm Reply

    Good post, I loved it personally but just like the others I just find it impossible not to, the addition of the she elf was great and just the fact it was much more funnier and entertaining! Much anticipating the finale!

    • myreelpov January 4, 2014 at 9:38 am Reply

      I wonder if the last one will have more or less action than this second one… I can’t help but love it either being such a fan of LOTR its hard not too!

      • liamdoesfilm January 4, 2014 at 10:18 am

        I think more, I’m expecting a hugeeeee battle between pretty much everyone!

  2. keith7198 January 3, 2014 at 6:33 pm Reply

    Solid review. I really enjoyed this movie and I saw it as a pretty substantial improvement over the first film. For me it captured some of those things I love so much about the LOTR trilogy. I’m ready to see it again.

    • myreelpov January 4, 2014 at 9:37 am Reply

      I couldn’t quite decide if it was better than the first, I think I was more excited by the first one but this one provided so much more action. I still can’t decide haha. Thanks for taking the time to comment 🙂

  3. CMrok93 January 3, 2014 at 8:01 pm Reply

    Nice review. Still feels slightly longer than it should be, but nonetheless, I had a good time and I hope that they end on a good note with the next installment.

    • myreelpov January 4, 2014 at 9:36 am Reply

      Definitely too long but like you say I did enjoy too! Looking forward to the last one but hope it has a satisfying ending!

  4. sidekickreviews January 4, 2014 at 2:58 am Reply

    Good review. I enjoyed the darker side to the blonde elf. And he kicked a lot of butt. There was one decapitation in 3D that made me jump out of my seat a bit hehe. Overall, I thought this was a super fun movie and makes me excited for the 3rd film.

    • myreelpov January 4, 2014 at 9:35 am Reply

      Yeah that’s true he was little more rough around the edges!! Thanks for commenting 🙂

  5. lauren January 5, 2014 at 2:59 pm Reply

    I enjoyed seeing Logolas again although I didn’t like the love triangle so much. It was also good seeing Lee Pace in the film-I’m a Pushing Daisies fan too. Great review.

    • myreelpov January 6, 2014 at 9:48 pm Reply

      Yay I loved Pushing Daisies, glad you’re a fan 🙂

  6. Hypersonic55 January 6, 2014 at 7:59 pm Reply

    Cool review Claire, glad you got around to posting a review about this online coz I wanted to know your thoughts.

    I really liked The Hobbit part 2, however there are a number of things that just didn’t agree with me or just left me feeling nothing. The thing is I like it just as much as the last film even though there were elements that were a lot better in this film. The inclusion of the elves was badass especially Legolas (such a badass, so many scene-stealing moments) and the action was definitely more interesting and better choreographed (the barrel sequence comes to mind). But the stand out point for me was Smaug, he single-handedly sold the film for me. The dragon was beautifully crafted with CGI and the voice of the INCREDIBLE Benedict Cumberbatch, totally scary, badass and intimidating.

    I rated the film highly however it wasn’t as insanely good as I had hoped. Can’t wait for part 3.

    • myreelpov January 6, 2014 at 9:47 pm Reply

      You make some good points! The dragon was fantastic but I think I am becoming desensitised to the amazing CGI we have now. I know that’s really bad lol!

  7. Tim The Film Guy January 7, 2014 at 10:24 am Reply

    Great review, I had a brilliant time watching this film 😀

    Its still a bit too long but if I had to stay in any imaginary world middle earth isn’t too bad ;D

    Smaug stole the show and I am glad he did, great visuals and just an all over better film than the first hobbit, hope the trend continues into part 3 😀

    • myreelpov January 7, 2014 at 12:03 pm Reply

      It was better than the first, and they held up on the LOTR score that they over used in the first – still not sure I enjoyed it as much!

      • Tim The Film Guy January 7, 2014 at 5:50 pm

        Well Its never going to be as good as the others because its a tiny book made into three massive films, its going be a little watered down 😦

        Still I enjoy them and so do you and thats all that matters 😀

  8. My Reel POV’s Top 10 of 2013. | MyReelPOV January 17, 2014 at 12:58 pm Reply

    […] The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Elysium, Aint Them Bodies Saints, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Thor: The Dark World, GI Joe: Retaliation, Captain Phillips, Kick-Ass 2 and The Worlds End. […]

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

UK based photographer and digital artist. My work is an exploration of our ever-changing relationship with nature. I'm happily asexual and a friend to all cats

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

