I made it a year!

A year ago today on the 9th December 2012 I sat in my dining room and wrote my first rambling review of one of my all time favourites, Predator. I honestly wasn’t expecting much to come from it, and certainly didn’t think I would still be reviewing a whole year later. Yet here I am, still going! Pat on the back for me!!

Quite a lot has changed since that fateful day when I decided on a whim to create a film review blog. I was promoted at work, I started a Masters degree part time, I did a stint writing reviews for a digital magazine, my hair changed from red to brown to blonde, and sadly my relationship of almost 2 years came to an end (but we are still close friends never fear!). That’s the personal stuff, in the wonderful world of WordPress, I wrote 79 posts (80 including this one), gained 195 fellow blog subscribers, 398 twitter followers and 22,411 views of my little site (and counting). Now, to the established blogger I am sure this sounds quite pitiful, but for me this is a huge accomplishment!

Although I set out with great enthusiasm and the plan to blog at least once a week, to include reviews of every film I see in or out of the cinema as well as create features and maybe even the odd competition as I have seen work on so many other fantastic blogs…. this was never realised. Instead, I have kept it low key and my reviews have become shorter with much larger gaps of silence in between. I am still watching films on a regular basis, but life gets in the way and so my little blog will remain little. A personal expression of films I want to write about, when I want to write about them, and I appreciate those who stick around for my inconsistencies more than you can imagine.

So a new year, a new face, time to change that avatar picture and admit I am a blonde (until I get bored and change it again). Here’s to you guys, the wonderful people who read my posts and still don’t leave me πŸ™‚ You’re the best!!

Me2

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

26 thoughts on “I made it a year!

  1. theipc December 9, 2013 at 4:02 pm Reply

    LIKE!! YAY!!!!!

  2. vinnieh December 9, 2013 at 4:34 pm Reply

    Congrats on reaching this achievement.

  3. lauren December 9, 2013 at 4:50 pm Reply

    Congrats on reaching a year. Keep up the good work!

  4. Tim The Film Guy December 9, 2013 at 5:09 pm Reply

    Yay πŸ˜€

  5. Victor De Leon December 9, 2013 at 6:08 pm Reply

    Congrats! After the first year, it’s all cake! Keep up the great work! πŸ™‚

    • myreelpov December 9, 2013 at 8:25 pm Reply

      Haha thank you very much!

  6. Dan Heaton December 9, 2013 at 6:24 pm Reply

    Congrats! I just recently caught up with your site, and I look forward to checking it out in the future.

    • myreelpov December 9, 2013 at 8:25 pm Reply

      Thanks man appreciate it!

  7. lukebbtt December 9, 2013 at 6:35 pm Reply

    My anniversary is coming up soon. It is a weird time, isn’t it? Loved every article you have posted. You are one of my first followers on my blog, so it has been a pleasure spending WordPress with you. Here’s to another year.

    • myreelpov December 9, 2013 at 8:28 pm Reply

      Aw thanks dude that’s very kind! It has been a pleasure also πŸ˜€

  8. mikeyb @ screenkicker December 9, 2013 at 7:19 pm Reply

    My anniversary is coming up this month but so far my hair colour hasn’t changed. I grew a beard though so try to beat that!

    Congratulations πŸ™‚

    • myreelpov December 9, 2013 at 8:29 pm Reply

      I tried growing a beard but no such luck πŸ˜› haha thanks!

  9. CMrok93 December 9, 2013 at 9:27 pm Reply

    Awesome stuff! Congrats yo!

  10. benjoy93 December 9, 2013 at 9:52 pm Reply

    Congrats on the milestone. Keep up the good work!

    • myreelpov December 10, 2013 at 3:13 pm Reply

      Thank you very much for taking the time to comment πŸ™‚

  11. keith7198 December 10, 2013 at 8:20 am Reply

    That’s awesome. Congrats on the one year anniversary! Keep up the great work!

    • myreelpov December 10, 2013 at 3:14 pm Reply

      Why thank you very much Keith!!

  12. Mark Walker December 10, 2013 at 9:02 pm Reply

    It’s always a positive feeling when you reach a milestone. It’s not easy making it in the blogosphere. Congrats! πŸ™‚

    • myreelpov December 11, 2013 at 1:46 pm Reply

      Thanks dude! Still a long way to go before I can claim to have made it πŸ˜€

  13. Hypersonic55 December 10, 2013 at 10:20 pm Reply

    I was meant to comment yesterday but had tons of uni blogging to do lol, anyways WELL DONE on your first year of WordPress blogging yo! *pops champagne# XD

    I remember when I passed my first year on WP, it was such a long time ago but very nostalgic. You’re doing so much better than I was when I started so yeah rock on. πŸ™‚ Your reviews are always great to read and the content on your blog is nothing short of greatness, so please don’t stop any time soon! Here’s to many more great posts from you in the future! πŸ˜€

    • myreelpov December 11, 2013 at 1:47 pm Reply

      Thanks man love the kind words!! Always grateful for your support πŸ˜€

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

UK based photographer and digital artist. My work is an exploration of our ever-changing relationship with nature. I'm happily asexual and a friend to all cats

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

