“A wise man can learn more from his enemies than a fool from his friends” Rush.

Going back to University to take on a Masters degree and working full time in a new job has taken its toll on my little blog. Boohiss! I am going to try my best to keep it up but you will have to bare with me and not lose interest completely 🙂 Thaaanks!

Rush poster

So, RUSH – the somewhat harrowing true story of the 70’s Formula 1 rivalry between James Hunt (rhymes with c…) and Niki Lauda. If you don’t like F1 and have never heard of Hunt or Lauda like myself, please don’t let it put you off. The delivery of this film is fantastic and the performances or totally gripping. From the first scene Rush grabs your attention (and makes you cover your ears!) capturing the electrifying atmosphere of Formula 1.

rush-movie-clip-brazil-grand-prix-2013-chris-hemsworth-movie-hd

 

The plot of course focuses on the lives of Hunt played by Chris ‘Thor’ Hemsworth, and Lauda played by Spanish actor (and by no means a new comer) Daniel Brúhl. Hunt is a happy-go-lucky play boy who drives for danger and fame, from the first time they race together he gets Lauda’s back up who drives (he claims) because he is good at it and it will earn him money. Two polar opposites who you would expect to clash in any situation, let alone when thrust together going 200mph plus round a circuit.

Rush-Movie

Both the leads play exceptional parts here, Hemsworth’s British accent is flawless and he plays the play boy so well (it doesn’t hurt that he is very attractive). It is an honest performance and really shows his talent when the character starts to unravel. I can’t recall seeing Brúhl in anything before but he has a large catalogue of films on IMDB – his performance of Lauda is mesmerising and that accent is captivating! I understand why people might have mixed opinions of his character but I found the brutal honesty very entertaining.

Rush wedding

Their supporting ladies are worth a mention, Olivia Wilde as Hunt’s wife – super model Suzy Miller, and Alexandra Maria Lara as Lauda’s devoted partner Marlene. As well as some memorable supporting cast, Pierfrancesco Favino (what a name!) as Lauda’s team mate Clay Regazzoni, Christian McKay playing Lord Hesketh the upper class friend and funder of Hunt’s, and a couple of faces from TV Series Green Wing – Stephen Mangan and Julian Rhind-Tutt.

 

Apart from great performances this film is very intense on the track. The use of sound and camera work during the races themselves is something to marvel at, none more so than at the ’76 German Grand Prix where Lauda famously has a horrific accident leaving him badly scarred. I was quite literally at the edge of my seat during this entire sequence and felt sick with anxiety for the man. I was totally gripped, and that’s down to the brilliant direction from Ron Howard as well as the build up of the character by Brúhl.

Rush-movie-2013-

The story is told very well with the help of what I can only guess is real footage from the 70’s on TV screens during the film. The pace is great, I was never bored and thought the way they moved through the Grand Prix races to get to Germany was cleverly done and actually added to the tension seeing who won which race. I could feel the suspense building! The crash itself is executed very well and they kept true to the real life event by the looks of the footage of the actual crash. It is very distressing and the scenes of Lauda in the hospital actually made my friend leave the cinema screen for a few minutes.

Rush4

Leaving the real life pictures and footage of Hunt and Lauda until the end of the film was a great idea, it gave it great impact and reaffirmed that this is in fact an incredible true story. It also makes you realise how brilliantly cast the leads are! And if like me you find yourself thinking, Lauda can’t have looked that bad when he went back to race, take a look at the pics below. Incredible man!

So I think you know what My POV is going to be – Go and see it at the cinema, you wont regret it!

Rush Luada & Hunt

Niki Lauda & James Hunt

 

Rush niki-lauda

The real Niki Lauda at the press conference before his return to F1

 

PS. On another note, my little sister has started a Blog about her first year at University – any support from this wonderful blogging community would be greatly appreciated so please follow or tweet her link pretty please 🙂 www.achetwynd.wordpress.com  / @AmyChetwynd on Twitter.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on ““A wise man can learn more from his enemies than a fool from his friends” Rush.

  1. lukebbtt October 13, 2013 at 12:33 pm Reply

    Great review. I hope this film gets a few OSCARs. And followed your sister’s blog.

    • myreelpov October 13, 2013 at 1:13 pm Reply

      Ah thanks!! Appreciate that 🙂 Yeah I think it could be in the running for some awards!

  2. CMrok93 October 13, 2013 at 5:18 pm Reply

    As a Howard movie, it’s surprisingly very good. He changes things up a bit from his style stand-point, and it makes me want to see what he could possibly do next. Good review,

  3. Terry Malloy's Pigeon Coop October 14, 2013 at 10:00 am Reply

    Probably my favourite of the year, this one. I had such a good time with it. Nice write up.

    • myreelpov October 14, 2013 at 1:47 pm Reply

      It definitely up there! Thanks 🙂

  4. Hypersonic55 October 21, 2013 at 9:29 pm Reply

    Cracking review Claire. Before Captain Phillips came out I could have argued that this was my favourite film of the year. I had seen this F1 documentary Senna back in 2011 (which is great and something I highly recommend you check out) and after falling in love with that I thought I’d give this film a watch.

    I was SO glad that this film turned out to be as good as I had hoped and then some. Chris Hemsworth is great, I could watch him in anything. But man-crushing aside, his acting talent really shines in this film and I agree that his accent is flawless. As for Daniel Brúhl, that dude needs to be in more films, his acting in this film solid and very well done. And I’m glad that you touched upon the cinematography, that was one my favourite aspects of this film too.

    • myreelpov October 22, 2013 at 8:39 am Reply

      Hopeing Bruhl will be around a lot more now after this success (and he is in Fifth State atm so that bodes well!) I think I enjoyed this one more than Cap Phillips just for sheer entertainment value!

  5. My Reel POV’s Top 10 of 2013. | MyReelPOV January 17, 2014 at 12:58 pm Reply

    […] Number 1 – Rush […]

  6. ed January 19, 2014 at 4:02 am Reply

    Allright, Daniel Brúhl is german

  7. ali June 22, 2014 at 7:50 pm Reply

    Hi MyReelPOV – just watched the film on DVD. Your description was 100% and spot on. Great film and love your blog.

    Ali in France

    • myreelpov June 23, 2014 at 9:11 am Reply

      Thanks Ali, appreciate you taking the time to read and comment 🙂 Hope to see you around again!

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Manchester-based food blogger, lover of all things food and drink.

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul: Best of Cinema

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Photographer and digital artist exploring the mysteries of nature. Happily asexual and a friend to all cats.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

