“They will hunt you to the edge of the Earth for this” Elysium.

elysium maxI was a big fan of Blomkamp’s District 9 when I first saw it so had high hopes for his new film. The world created in Elysium feels very familiar, in fact District 9 could well have happened in the same universe as Elysium is set. Earth is an over populated, diseased dump who’s inhabitants are struggling through life living in a waste land, while the super rich live above Earth’s polluted hemisphere in a static space station built like something from Beverly Hills. Lots of political and social commentary could be spewed about Blomkamp’s message about the rich/poor divide and immigration looking at the theme’s through his two blockbusters… BUT that’s not really my style, you’ll have to go somewhere else if you want an intellectual debate.

Over all I enjoyed the story line, Matt Damon’s character Max goes on a balls out mission to reach Elysium for reasons I wont divulge (other than not having long to live which is common knowledge at this point). Whilst the power hungry Senator Delacourt (Jodie Foster) does everything in her power to stop him, with the help of the dastardly Kruger (Sharlto Copley). Sounds like a standard plot but the characters and the attention to detail in this future Universe are what makes Elysium intensely enjoyable.

Elysium-1

There is an under-developed love story brewing in the wings with Alice Braga’s character Frey, a childhood companion who Max promised he would take to Elysium one day when they were small. Circumstances bring them back together just before Max starts his assault on Elysium and it brings some sympathy and a hint of romance to the story. Frey doesn’t develop very much more than a plot device though and their story together could have been fleshed out a little more.

Jodie Foster

Senator Delacourt is pretty much pure evil, but her intentions and motives are made clear very succinctly at the beginning of the film which I thought was a good move.Β Foster’s performance is good but her occasional French accent was a little off putting. Other than that a pretty strong force in the leading cast and very easy to hate (which is how this character should be).

Elysium KrugerDelacourt’s partner in crime Kruger is just plain satanic. Such a drastic change up in roles for Copley from the pitiful hero in District 9. I can’t explain how nasty this guy is, and that accent is SO scary used in the right way. I was blown away by his performance and would see it again just to watch him. For me there was something mesmerizing about this character and I hope Copley is picked up for more roles like this. “You wanna come and play in MY HOUSE?!” Nearly pooped my pants.

The main protagonist then – I don’t agree with the term ‘unlikely hero’ in this instance because Max is actually very selfish until he learns there is nothing to lose. He isn’t really a hero he has just come to the end of his tether if you ask me – BUT I loved this about his character, it felt more real. The human race is selfish and Max is an ordinary guy trying to survive. The introduction of his friend Julio and his development with Spider (Wagner Mara) were some of the best parts character wise and it showed us the down to earth (so to speak) side of our lead character. A wise move by the writers there.

Elysium Spider and Julio

The detail in the scenery and the weapons used in Elysium is pretty amazing. They use slow motion and camera angles brilliantly to capture the intense action scenes and fight sequences. I particularly enjoyed the use of the steady cam behind Max on two occasions, it almost looked like a computer game. Very cool.

My POV – there is a bit of everything in Elysium and it is SO well executed that you must go and see it at the cinema. I enjoyed it just as much, if not more than District 9 and I hope it gets the recognition at the box office. Possibly one of my top 5 films so far this year. BOOM I said it, and I can’t take it back.

Elysium

Elysium Earth

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on ““They will hunt you to the edge of the Earth for this” Elysium.

  1. CMrok93 August 29, 2013 at 5:17 pm Reply

    Good review. While I honestly don’t feel like it was as good as District 9, there was still an essence of thrills and chills in the air that made it work more as a fun, loud, and sort of silly summer blockbuster. Anything other than that, I don’t know.

    • myreelpov August 30, 2013 at 7:44 am Reply

      I don’t agree that it is a silly blockbuster at all – thought it was brilliantly executed and really enjoyed it. There’s a difference say between Pacific Rim which was a silly blockbuster, to Elysium which had much more to offer. In my humble opinion of course!

      • Movie Review World September 1, 2013 at 10:10 am

        I wouldn’t ever call it a silly Blockbuster, that would be unfair. However, I do think the interesting premise it strived for in the beginning was pushed aside for what ultimately became an extremely mediocre action film, at best. No time was given to explore the bigger issues in the slightest, if this was never the films intentions then why tease its audience with half baked ideas? A wasted opportunity in my opinion. I did think it was a master-class in how visual effects should be used, other than that though I was disappointed. Nice Review though claire. Enjoying your site.

      • myreelpov September 1, 2013 at 1:12 pm

        Yup I can see your point but I didn’t feel like that when I was watching it – I agree with the great visual effects. Thanks for stopping by the site dude.

      • Movie Review World September 1, 2013 at 1:50 pm

        No probs, check out mine if you get time. http://www.moviereviewworld.com

  2. theipc August 29, 2013 at 5:27 pm Reply

    You said it and can’t take it back!

    • myreelpov August 30, 2013 at 7:44 am Reply

      I know I can’t deny it now!!

  3. lukebbtt August 29, 2013 at 5:28 pm Reply

    I totally loved this movie. I like that the lead is a selfish figure. It’s the same with District 9. The main character is pretty much a bad guy, until the story forces him to become a hero.

    • myreelpov August 30, 2013 at 7:45 am Reply

      Yes I agree with you there, I like the selfish hero – feels more realistic and less Hollywood. Although this film obviously is very Hollywood.

  4. mikeyb @ screenkicker August 29, 2013 at 8:22 pm Reply

    I found it quite disappointing, it only really started working after they went to Elysium. I’m glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚ Now take it back!

    • myreelpov August 30, 2013 at 7:47 am Reply

      Yeah looking back I think there was a moment before that I thought I might be getting bored, but then all the chasing and action on Elysium turned it around for me and I forgot what I had thought previously.
      I can’t take it back, same as I can’t deny I loved it! Haha!

  5. Hypersonic55 September 7, 2013 at 7:07 pm Reply

    Hey Claire, I’m a bit late to this review, but I didn’t get around to watching this film until two days ago. I thought the film was good but when compared to District 9 it is fairly disappointing. It’s annoying yo have to compare the films together, but since District 9 was such a different kind of sci-fi film that was so unexpected and awesome, you’d think that Neil Blomkamp would take the time to craft a beastly follow-up film. The best things about this film was the visuals which were insane and Sharlto Copley as that nutter Kruger, he was such a beast and so friggin scary!

  6. My Reel POV’s Top 10 of 2013. | MyReelPOV January 17, 2014 at 12:58 pm Reply

    […] Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Elysium, Aint Them Bodies Saints, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Thor: The Dark World,Β GI Joe: […]

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Manchester-based food blogger, lover of all things food and drink.

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul: Best of Cinema

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Photographer and digital artist exploring the mysteries of nature. Happily asexual and a friend to all cats.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

