“Maybe I’ll jam my foot up your snatch” Kick-Ass 2.

kick ass posterEAGERLY anticipated this one since there were whispers a sequel was due. Kick-Ass remains one of my all time favorite films – for the original story, the brilliant characters, the soundtrack and the fantastic direction and editing. I came out of the cinema the first time buzzing, with a big grin on my face – it was awesome. Pretty much set me up for a fall then for the sequel?? Perhaps…

I did enjoy Kick-Ass 2 as a reminder of the brilliant world created in the first one, but it didn’t give me goosebumps like Kick-Ass did. There are two running themes in this sequel, Mindy aka Hit Girl trying to find ‘who she is’ in High School and toying with the idea of being a normal girl, and Dave aka Kick Ass who wants to form a team of Superheroes who then have to go to head to head with The Motherfucker formerly known as Chris / Red Mist.

the mother f

For me there is too much focus on Mindy’s troubled school experience, but I guess it did give context for her decision in whether or not to carry on as Hit Girl. There is a definite Mean Girls vibe going on which took vital screen time away from any more of the epic fight scenes we grew accustomed to in Kick-Ass. I sure would have loved to have a ‘sick stick’ when I was in High School though.

dave and mindy

In Dave’s quest in seeking fellow Super Heroes some brilliant characters are introduced. Including Donald Faison aka Scrub’s Turk as Dr. Gravity – I groaned at first but grew fond of his character in the end! He’s not the most versatile of actors though, he will always be JD’s side-kick Turk. We also meet Night Bitch (Lindy Booth), Insect Man (Robert Emms), Battle Guy (Clark Duke), Tommy’s Mum & Dad (Monica Dolan and Steve Mackintosh), and the man every one was talking about – Jim Carrey as Colonel Stars and Stripes. Carrey plays a fantastic role here who I felt was building up for something pretty epic, unfortunately he didn’t fulfill his potential and I was a little disappointed with his character in the end. The screen time he does have though brings a lot to the film.

stars and stripes

Some of the most impressive characters and a lot of the laughs come from The Motherfucker’s team of Super Villains, imaginatively named; Black Death (Daniel Kaluuya), The Tumor (Andy Nyman), Genghis Carnage (Tom Wu) and best of all Mother Russia, played by Olga Kurkulina – the 6 foot Ukrainian who looks like bullets would bounce right off her abs. I also really enjoyed John Leguizamo’s character Javier and his interactions with Chris as he becomes more obsessed with becoming The Motherfucker.

chris mintz plasse

There is some interesting character development for Hit Girl as she starts noticing boys and her encounters with bitchy high school girls are funny if not horribly familiar for the female audience I am sure. Actress Chloe Grace Moretz has grown up significantly since the last film and this shows in her acting talent. There is a great nod to British pop culture as well with Union J making an appearance (FYI not a fan, but thought it was appropriate in the scene!) plus a few Brits in the cast i.e. aforementioned Monica Dolan – recently in Alan Partridge: Alpha Pappa and Steve Mackintosh – who I recognised from TV series Luther.

hit girl

Dave’s character also got some growth although it felt like he had taken a few steps back since we last saw him and so some training and development of Kick-Ass did seem a little repetitive. Aaron Taylor-Johnson sure has beefed up though, wouldn’t have minded a few more of those pull ups at the end of the film! He is still charming and endearing in a geeky kind of way and portrayed the character I fell for the first time round just as well. The moment Dave’s friend realises who is Kick-Ass is pretty priceless too.

kick ass

As I said before, the best bits of Kick-Ass were the brilliant action sequences along with the soundtrack. Kick-Ass 2 doesn’t have many memorable scenes other than the final battle where there are several great sequences involving different characters. None of the music stood out for me like it did in the first which was something I was looking forward to as it seemed a trade mark of the original. Over all though I thoroughly enjoyed this and it served well as a sequel. It can never stand up to the first one sure, but I’d still watch it again with enthusiasm!

My POV, go and see it at the cinema!

PS. There is something at the end of the credits but you can get it on YouTube if you dont want to hang around! 😉

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on ““Maybe I’ll jam my foot up your snatch” Kick-Ass 2.

  1. theipc August 21, 2013 at 3:29 pm Reply

    There’s something after the credits??

    We all need a Sick Stick at some point….

    • myreelpov August 22, 2013 at 8:35 am Reply

      It isn’t very exciting but leaves it open for a Kick-Ass 3!

      • theipc August 22, 2013 at 1:26 pm

        I just went and looked it up on youtube – nice..!

  2. CMrok93 August 21, 2013 at 4:20 pm Reply

    It was fun, but very strange with its tone. However, that’s just me. Good review.

    • myreelpov August 22, 2013 at 8:37 am Reply

      I think I know what you mean, there were some light hearted slap stick moments mixed with some pretty dark and gritty notions – wasn’t sure about the bit were the villains catch Night Bitch in her house – not really a funny concept!

  3. Tim The Film Guy August 22, 2013 at 2:04 pm Reply

    Good review haha love the quote you chose 😀

  4. Hypersonic55 August 24, 2013 at 6:58 pm Reply

    Interesting review yo, I think I’m one of the few people that enjoyed this film just as much, if not more than the original. I liked Kick-Ass, but I never was in love with it like so many people were. This film just gives me more of the violence, characters and blunt over-the-top nature that made the first film so much fun for me. I liked the focus on Mindy’s schol life, in the end people do grow up and stuff like that does happen to people in school and I felt for her character when she was left in the woods alone. Poor lass. And I’m glad someone has pointed out the under use of Jim Carrey, his character was good, but I wanted SO much more, in the end his character was taken out FAR too soon.

    My highlights of the film would be Hit-Girl/Mindy’s story, Mother Mussia (especially in tat police character sequence with that hardcore Tertis music! Such a beast!) and the final battel at the end of the film which was just total carnage!

    • myreelpov August 25, 2013 at 4:09 pm Reply

      Yess agreed the final battle was pretty awesome and Mother Russia kicked every ones ass in that Police scene it was CRAZY haha.

  5. Adam Collins August 25, 2013 at 11:03 pm Reply

    Both films are great and do you know why? Because it makes me think why on earth are there no ‘superheroes’ in the world? Battling petty crime? It strikes me as unusual that no-ones every tried it or not to my knowledge anyway and if any one wanted my input on being a crimefighter then I’d do it!

    • myreelpov August 26, 2013 at 5:34 pm Reply

      Haha maybe you should start the revolution Adam!

      • Adam Collins August 29, 2013 at 5:00 pm

        I would but my chubby ass would need some serious changes to cope with such a mission although I could be the ‘thinker’ of the group

  6. My Reel POV’s Top 10 of 2013. | MyReelPOV January 17, 2014 at 12:58 pm Reply

    […] The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Thor: The Dark World, GI Joe: Retaliation, Captain Phillips, Kick-Ass 2 and The Worlds […]

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Manchester-based food blogger, lover of all things food and drink.

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul: Best of Cinema

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Photographer and digital artist exploring the mysteries of nature. Happily asexual and a friend to all cats.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

