“I am siege face” Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa.

alan partridge posterI am not an avid fan of Alan Partridge, despite having friends who love it and quote it at every given opportunity, I have never really understood the appeal. But when I saw the trailer for Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa I found myself giggling away every time! Maybe this is my type of humor…

There are no hidden story lines, the plot is summed up in trailer – Alan gets Pat fired when he is under threat of losing his job, so Pat holds the radio station hostage to prove a point to the new shiny radio bosses who are cutting the old staff in favour of the new fresh faced presenters. (All the way through I was thinking of Chris Moyles ‘stepping down’ whilst Nick Grimshaw took over the Radio 1 breakfast show!!)

Steve Coogan’s character Alan is constantly funny through out, his odd sense of humor, small mindedness and one liners were making me burst with laughter. I definitely preferred the dialogue rather than the physical comedy – there were points Partridge would say one or two words under his breath that some of the audience obviously hadn’t heard properly or weren’t meant to be laugh out loud funny and I’d be the only one laughing, loudly and involuntarily might I add – awkward.

Some of the funniest moments are in the recording studio where this poor guy is held at gun point and is slowly going crazy...-er

Some of the funniest moments are in the recording studio where this poor guy is held at gun point and is slowly going crazy…-er

Colm Meaney (best known to me as O’Brien in Star Trek: Deep Space Nine!!) plays Pat Farrell, the jilted, crazy radio presenter and does a fantastic job of being absolutely mental, but also pretty lovable – somehow. Him sticking it the big dogs upstairs probably had most of the audience routing for him! I believe there are a lot of other characters from the TV show in the film as well and quite a few in jokes and homages which although would have passed me by, were still very funny.

alan-partridge-alpha-papa-trailer-4

I can’t talk about how it compares to the TV show, and this film doesn’t warrant any discussion about mind blowing CGI or convincing performances because the whole film is one big joke – and I mean this in a good way. Laughs from start to finish even for some one who hasn’t watched Alan Partridge before.

My consensus, buy the DVD – this film will more than likely make you laugh over and over again.

Alan-Partridge-Movie-Alpha-Papa-2076062

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on ““I am siege face” Alan Partridge: Alpha Papa.

  1. mikeyb @ screenkicker August 16, 2013 at 10:37 pm Reply

    I really enjoyed it too. And I felt soooo sorry for Pat!

  2. Movie Review World September 2, 2013 at 6:09 pm Reply

    I loved the show and was a bit worried this might fall flat on the big screen. I was wrong. It resulted in one of the best comedies I have seen in years. Bravo Steve Coogan. Nice Review

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

UK based photographer and digital artist. My work is an exploration of our ever-changing relationship with nature. I'm happily asexual and a friend to all cats

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

