“Fortune favours the brave, dude” Pacific Rim.

pacific-rim-poster-banner

I remember reading about Pacific Rim in Empire Magazine over 6 months ago and since then being anxious to see it. Mainly because the visuals look spectacular and this was proven when the trailer eventually came out. Plus Pans Labyrinth is one of my faves and I was interested to see the transition between that beautiful piece of fantasy to a blockbuster action sci-fi from Guillermo Del Toro (baring in mind I am not a Hell Boy fan!)

The story is summed up nicely in the beginning with a montage of scenes and a narrative from main character Raleigh (Charlie Hunnam) – explaining that aliens broke through to our world in the Atlantic ocean which forced humanity to build gigantic robots in order to defend our selves. These robots are driven by a team of 2 people who’s minds meld together and connect to the robot to make it move. Let the carnage commence!

SSD-15157.DNG

But not so fast… there is a LOT of emotional baggage and general character background to sift through in between the awesome fight scenes. Some of which was wholly unnecessary and only served to further stereotype every one of the characters. Pacific Rim couldn’t decide whether to be a comedy or a serious piece of drama. Charlie Day and Burn Gorman provide comic relief with their double act scientist gag but Gorman’s outlandishly uptight eccentric character got tedious half way through – Day on the other hand I could never tire of!

Pacific-Rim-Charlie-Day

As well as the mad scientists, other obvious roles included the hard faced, self sacrificing captain (Idris Elba) – the shy yet feisty love interest and Captain’s prodigy (Rinko Kikuchi) – the hero’s rival who comes round in the end (Robert Kazinsky) and said rival’s father (Max Martini) who ‘just doesn’t know what to do with him’. All of whom’s story lines and dialogue were ultimately cheesy and predictable.

Not to mention the main character Raleigh, who has zero personality and almost no distinguishing factors. Who cast that guy?? I literally cannot even remember what he looked like.

Fair do’s though to these guys making the most of the script they were given. Elba is strong and powerful and a great fit for this role. I am glad to see Kazinsky getting into Hollywood despite his dyer Ozzy accent – I am loving him in True Blood atm!! Plus Martini (awesome name) playing his father, is quite a hotty!! I enjoyed Kikichi’s character when she got to kick some butt, but other than that a pretty disappointing female lead.

pacific-rim

Kazinsky and Elba

Yes it makes a change to be able to talk about the characters in this kind of blockbuster sci-fi action epic – BUT the selling points for this film are the visuals. The sheer size and design of the aliens themselves is something worth seeing, and the florescent colours contrasting with the otherwise dark and dismal setting is fantastic. I also enjoyed the attention to detail in China Town and the way the community took advantage of the dead aliens! The robots are also pretty overwhelming to look at, and the connection between the drivers is an interesting concept in the story. The fight scenes are truly EPIC, I just wanted to see more of them.

pacific-rim-from-the-skyApart from the characters and general story line being predictable, there were quite a few moments in the film where Tom and I looked at each other with a raised eyebrow and mouthed “Really?!” **SPOILERS** ie. the swinging ball (Newton’s Cradle), why didn’t they use the sword at the start of the fight, did they really survive that crushing fall, why did the fish fall to the sea bed after that explosion, why did it take so long for the aliens to invade when 1 at a time clearly wasn’t doing it, and how lucky was it that the escape pods floated perfectly through the vortex and through the barrier that apparently stops things going through unless they are alien… Hmm well I will have to suspend my disbelief a stretch further than usual for this one.

Over all the visuals, CGI and action scenes really are fantastic… that is all.

Grrrr!

Grrrr!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on ““Fortune favours the brave, dude” Pacific Rim.

  1. r361n4 August 2, 2013 at 5:24 pm Reply

    lol, so glad you mentioned the whole not breaking the sword out till the end of the fight thing, it feels like that would have saved a hell of a lot of time…

    Anyways I liked this one a bit better than you but overall I was still extremely disappointed with certain aspects like the choices for the two leads. It sounds like they may be writing a sequel already, but hopefully they’ll figure out how to right some of the wrongs here. Good review πŸ™‚

    • myreelpov August 2, 2013 at 6:13 pm Reply

      A sequel will be fine as long as they do more fighting, less emotional chit chat πŸ™‚ Or if they do have emotional chit chat, make it witty/original πŸ™‚

    • Tim The Film Guy August 2, 2013 at 6:39 pm Reply

      Silence you!

  2. CMrok93 August 2, 2013 at 10:40 pm Reply

    Nice review. A bit dumb, but still a lot of fun. Isn’t that all that matters too?

    • myreelpov August 3, 2013 at 7:50 am Reply

      Usually Id agree with you but I felt it was advertised as something different so I was dissapointed with it in the end.

  3. Lights Camera Reaction August 6, 2013 at 4:01 pm Reply

    A lot of fun, even if our lead characters are a bit dull.
    Nice review.

    • myreelpov August 11, 2013 at 5:47 pm Reply

      Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚

  4. Hypersonic55 August 11, 2013 at 6:39 pm Reply

    Hey I’m a bit late to comment on your review, apologizes! Anyways yeah I thought this film was pretty good and way better than I was expecting. When I saw a lot of critics hating on this film I wasn’t sure how much disappointment I wouldn’t be getting myself into. But Pacific Rim had enough story and character to hold my interest outside of all the spectacle.

    However don’t get me wrong, this film is all about the action and HOLY CHRIST it was gorgeous! It was so large is scale, had so much scope and detail and the use of colour was INCREDIBLE! I’ve seen loads of people complain about this film and I think its unfair because think they were expecting more for a monster movie, this isn’t an Oscar-based kind of film you know.

    Btw have you seen The Wolverine yet?

    • myreelpov August 13, 2013 at 11:47 am Reply

      I see where you are coming from but I was expecting more because of the way they hyped up the special effects etc – so for me there wasn’t enough of that but there was far too much predictable story line.
      I haven’t seen Wolverine yet but I am going to see it tomorrow! Pretty stupid going to the cinema the night Kick Ass 2 is out as it will be crazy busy but I am excited none the less!

  5. The Focused Filmographer August 27, 2013 at 11:37 pm Reply

    yes, there are several moments that may make you stop and question, but in the end I LOVED it! ha. I mean, giant robots and aliens. The sword thing, well, it reminded me of such moments in animes and really added the extra touch of flavor that I enjoyed.

    glad you had a good time with this one. I had a blast!

    • myreelpov August 28, 2013 at 3:28 pm Reply

      Glad you liked it so much!! I just couldn’t get over the cheesy dialogue and characters.

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Exploring our changing relationship with nature through photography, digital art and flash fiction.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

