“You don’t study scaring, you just do it” Monsters University.

Monsters-University-Mike-Sulley

Being a big fan of Monsters Inc. I was eagerly anticipating the prequel, Monsters University, but had my expectations set low so as not to be disappointed. The first film became so iconic because of the beautiful animation, original characters and creative story line. The problem with the second film is that 10 years on, animation is still amazing and we have seen plenty more stunners since, the characters aren’t original any more and the Monster’s universe has already been explored. Β SO you can’t go in to the cinema expecting to get that same feeling you did the first time around… just saying.

The film looks at Mike and Sully in their younger years at Uni, which gives a lot of opportunities for new concepts and ideas of the monsters universe, i.e. the underwater monsters and general rules on class trips “No breathing fire children… What did I just say?!” as well all the crazy new monsters Disney Pixar have dreamed up (or is it dreamt?!). Whilst at Uni, the pair begrudgingly enter a competition together, forming a team in the Monster Games where they have to compete to prove they are the ‘scariest’ monsters.

MonstersUni

The story line itself I felt was a little lacking although I did enjoy some of the imaginative games the teams had to play. The introduction of some new characters felt no where near as innovative as the first time we got to see the monsters universe but there is some fun to be had with the new guys, especially the crazy armed stoner Art, voiced by hilarious Charlie Day.

Β 

There are some more great famous voices making an appearance in Monsters University including my favourite man Nathan Fillion as the main jock character, Johnny (I am completely obsessed with TV show, Castle atm). Plus Helen Mirren as the evil Dean Hardscrabble who I thought could have been more menacing over all but the design of her dragon-like character was pretty cool. Steve Buscemi is back too as slime ball Randy and we get to see why his character seems to have a personal vendetta against Sully in Monsters Inc.

MONSTERS UNIVERSITY

Young Mike is the most adorable monster you have ever seen and the initial scenes only make your love for Mike more justified, as well as setting you up to be routing for him all the way. Sully on the other hand, although lovable from the off in Monsters Inc., takes a while for the audience to warm up to. It is fun to see these characters background though and the montage at the end of the film sums the whole story up really well I thought. Of course John Goodman and Billy Crystal are back to play their characters again with just as much effort the second time around.

monsters-university

Over-all I wasn’t disappointed by the outcome as I knew they could never beat Monsters Inc itself. Monsters University is a good instalment to the franchise and I was happy to see the characters again in a different scenario. There are also a lot of nods to the first film, like Yeti and everyone’s favourite – Roz. I do feel like the story line could have been stronger though.

MONSTERS UNIVERSITY

PS. The animation The Blue Umbrella at the beginning of the film was magical so make sure you get there in time for that!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on ““You don’t study scaring, you just do it” Monsters University.

  1. lukebbtt July 29, 2013 at 6:27 pm Reply

    I totally agree. I mean… it’s not bad and its everything we want from Pixar… but we have seen them a lot better too.

  2. meeradarjiyr1 July 29, 2013 at 7:30 pm Reply

    Great review! The film was great and agree with everything you said. Little Mike was adorable πŸ™‚

    • myreelpov July 29, 2013 at 9:21 pm Reply

      Cheers! Glad you liked the film πŸ™‚

  3. Hypersonic55 July 30, 2013 at 1:22 pm Reply

    Good review yo. Honestly I liked the film a fair amount. I can’t say I wasn’t that big a fan of Monsters Inc. myself, I saw it MANY years after everyone else, I was told it was an AMAZING film. Monsters Inc. was good, but not the best Pixar film for me. Monsters University while it wasn’t the best Pixar film and was lacking in that classic Pixar magic, I enjoyed a lot more than Pixar’s last two efforts.

    I’m personally still waiting for another film along the lines of The Incredibles or Up to truly make me believe in Pixar again. πŸ™‚

    • myreelpov July 30, 2013 at 3:01 pm Reply

      Haha I hear you but Monsters Inc was pretty special when it came out. What were the previous two that you were disappointed with?

      • Hypersonic55 July 31, 2013 at 6:50 pm

        I know it was, I remember people going on about it like it was the best film ever. I skipped it because I didn’t think it was my kind of film, plus I didn’t have an unlimited card back in 2001 haha! As for the previous two films they were Cars 2 and Brave.

  4. nerdintherealworld July 31, 2013 at 10:38 am Reply

    I posted my review of the movie yesterday as well and I pretty much agreed with what you said.

    Also, the previous two Pixar movies were Cars 2 and Brave, both of which, while not on par with The Incredibles or Up, I still enjoyed.

    • myreelpov July 31, 2013 at 11:40 am Reply

      Ah yes I didn’t see Cars 2 and I thought Brave was ok but probably wont watch it again.

      Thanks for your comment, I will peruse your review soon!

  5. mikeyb185 July 31, 2013 at 3:38 pm Reply

    I saw and reviewed this (plug!) during the edinburgh film fest. It’s super enjoyable and was a good antidote for the seriousness of the last few Pixar films πŸ™‚

  6. Lights Camera Reaction August 6, 2013 at 4:02 pm Reply

    “The animation The Blue Umbrella at the beginning of the film was magical so make sure you get there in time for that!”

    Oh definitely, I really enjoyed that.
    Nice review, Monsters University was charming, but nothing remarkable. At least Pixar is taking a step in the right direction.

    • myreelpov August 11, 2013 at 5:49 pm Reply

      True story, I recently watched MI again and remembered how fantastic it is.

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Exploring our changing relationship with nature through photography, digital art and flash fiction.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

