“Total annihilation!” The World’s End.

This review seems shorter than usual, I’m trying something new! Here’s why.

the worlds endIt took 10 years but Simon Pegg and Nick Frost finally finished what they started when they said ‘hey maybe we should make a trilogy out of this’, little did they know the first two films would be so iconic the fans would not rest until they had a full set. The World’s End probably has the weakest plot of the three films but it does not disappoint on the fun, laughter and entertainment value.

The Plot!“Five friends who reunite in an attempt to top their epic pub crawl from 20 years earlier unwittingly become humankind’s only hope for survival.”Β Thanks again IMDB.

Pegg and Frost are such a relatable duo that I can’t help feeling for their characters no matter what the story. There were moments in The World’s End that really tugged at the old heart strings and brought an actual real life tear to my eye (even a lip tremble!) but also guffaws of laughter. Helped along wonderfully by the hangers on such as Martin Freeman, David Bradley, and Paddy Considine as well as welcomed additions to the motley crew, Rosamund Pike and Eddie Marsan.

The group dynamic was believable and the initial plot summary narrated by Pegg was short and succinct. I very much enjoyed the change in Frost’s character due to certain events in the toilets, and the camaraderie that grows between the group. Pegg’s character won it for me though – witty, eccentric, wilful but heartbreaking and tragic at the same time. Everyone knows a Gary King that’s for sure. Plus the animation of the beheaded robot/blanks is great and the fight scenes were a lot of fun to watch! Their heads seems to smash like melons!

???????????????????????????????????????????????????

Not too many nods to the previous films Hot Fuzz and Shaun of The Dead that I noticed (but uber fans may have seen more), none the less the style, direction and writing are all obvious traits of a Pegg/Frost/Wright collaboration. The end may have been a tad lazy and perhaps the whole film seemed a little more Hollywood-esque, BUT I loved it and can’t wait to see it again!

I’d probably rate them… Hot Fuzz, The World’s End, Shaun of the Dead (but my Zombie hatred means I can’t fully appreciate the ‘genius’ of Shaun of the Dead!).

the-worlds-end-review-3

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on ““Total annihilation!” The World’s End.

  1. Terry Malloy's Pigeon Coop July 24, 2013 at 11:48 am Reply

    I sincerely hope you’ve rated the three from worst to best there! πŸ˜‰

    I was a little torn with this to be honest. I enjoyed it but felt like a lot of the jokes missed their mark. I didn’t find myself laughing as much as in Shaun. I did feel this had more heart to it though and more developed characters, which did help make up for its shortcomings.

    • myreelpov July 24, 2013 at 1:32 pm Reply

      Nope can’t beat Hot Fuzz I’m afraid! Like I said I am not a great judge because I can’t watch Shaun of the Dead due to all the Zombies, so my personal preference is the other two
      I agree some of the jokes didn’t quite work but I enjoyed it over all.

  2. lukebbtt July 24, 2013 at 5:09 pm Reply

    Great review. I can’t choose between this or Pacific Rim this week! If you like these sort of films, check out Spaced. It’s a cheap series made by Edgar Wright, Pegg and Frost way back in 2001. It’s a little low-budget and the premise isn’t as imaginative (sitcom with flatmates), but it’s a lot of the same humor. Each episode is only 30 mins long, so its worth a watch, if you find yourself with a bit of free time.

    • myreelpov July 24, 2013 at 9:28 pm Reply

      I’v watched Spaced a few times now I LOVE it, that’s what I mean about Pegg and Frost, feel like they are my friends haha!
      Not seen Pacific Rim yet but hopefully will get chance to before it dissapears out of the cinema.

  3. Tim The Film Guy July 24, 2013 at 8:12 pm Reply

    Disappointed me, just didn’t make me laugh too much 😦

    • myreelpov July 24, 2013 at 9:31 pm Reply

      I thought you meant my review then, how rude! But I am sad the film disappointed you, did you review it – I want to know WHY!

      • Tim The Film Guy July 25, 2013 at 11:37 am

        Haha that’s funnier than the film. And yes the review is out now πŸ˜€

      • myreelpov July 25, 2013 at 3:15 pm

        You’re gonna make me work for it and not just post me the link πŸ˜›

      • Tim The Film Guy July 26, 2013 at 12:59 pm

        Haha two clicks is hard work?

  4. r361n4 July 24, 2013 at 11:43 pm Reply

    Thank god somebody finally enjoyed this one as much as I did! It seems like the biggest problem people had with this one is that it didn’t make them laugh, but I didn’t encounter that issue at all. Admittedly I was in a theater full of people who had just sat through the past two movies (it was a marathon event and Wright, Pegg and Frost were in attendance) so they were all much more enthusiastic and it’s easier to laugh in an evironment like that. Just curious, what score would you give it out of 10?

    • myreelpov July 25, 2013 at 11:33 am Reply

      I’d give it a 71/2 out of 10 – and I definitely laughed out loud on more than one occasion. I’m glad you enjoyed it!! Also pretty cool you got to go to the premier dude how’d you wangle that one??

  5. Hypersonic55 July 25, 2013 at 7:56 pm Reply

    Nice review yo, I thought it was a good film but it wasn’t as good as I thought it might be. My favourite film by Edgar Wright is still Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World, but if we’re talking in the context of the films with Simon Pegg and Nick Frost then it’s Hot Fuzz all the way yo πŸ™‚

    • myreelpov July 26, 2013 at 10:54 am Reply

      Yes I quite liked Scott Pilgrim as well although it has split audiences! I know some that HATE it.

  6. […] My Reel POV: 7.5/10 […]

  7. My Reel POV’s Top 10 of 2013. | MyReelPOV January 17, 2014 at 12:58 pm Reply

    […] The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Elysium, Aint Them Bodies Saints, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Thor: The Dark World,Β GI Joe: Retaliation, Captain Phillips, Kick-Ass 2 and The Worlds End. […]

  8. […] MyReelPOV’s review from July, 2013 (I know, I’m really late on this one) sums up my feelings towards this movie perfectly: “Pegg and Frost are such a relatable duo that I can’t help feeling for their characters no matter what the story.” […]

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Exploring our changing relationship with nature through photography, digital art and flash fiction.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

