“Every human being we save is one less we have to fight” World War Z.

world_war_z_

I am quite proud of myself for going to see this film at the cinema. My massive fear of Zombies can reduce me to tears even in cases such as Shaun of the Dead, yup. But the trailer for World War Z put me at ease a little because it looked like there was little gore, they move fast unlike your half wit – foot dragging – brain eating Zombie, and there aren’t really any close ups of their gross faces. Brad Pitt lured me in, as well as the prospect of enjoying a Zombie film for the first time since I Am Legend (I use the term ‘enjoyed’ loosely).

world-war-z-bus-topple

With some help from IMDB:Β United Nations employee Gerry Lane traverses the world in a race against time to stop the Zombie pandemic that is toppling armies and governments, and threatening to destroy humanity itself.Β He leaves behind his two daughters and wife on a military ship whilst he goes off on this perilous journey, safe in the knowledge his help will secure their place on the boat. WWZ gets straight into it with very little time for establishing the setting. This was great though because there is even less ‘getting to know you’ time than The Impossible, (and that got stuck in pretty swiftly) it was done well and I still felt compassion for the characters. Once that bit with the Policeman in the trailer hits its all go go go from there on. Zombies EVERYWHERE.

World-War-Z-trailer-2

People turned into Zombies within seconds and started running around biting people, using their own heads to smash open car windows and generally going berserk. I thought it was very well done, and there were more real acting Zombies rather than CGI than I thought there would be. Yes there are some gross bits and a lot of close calls when it came to being mauled but the action sequences whilst the family were running away were thrilling chase scenes. The most talked about aspect though is the sheer volume of Zombies in this film. The aerial shots from helicopters and planes are stunning. They are like ants but less civilised and there are thousands of them. Quite incomprehensible!

WWZ

There are loads of brilliant parts to talk about (but I wont go into detail because that would spoil it for those who have not seen it) – the accidental shot to the head, the poorly timed phone call, sacrifices, breaching the walls, loss of limbs, THE PLANE CRASH, and the best part of all, the medical research centre finale. I obviously enjoyed this film more than I thought! But I think it was helped by Brad Pitt’s really quite humble character. He isn’t particularly heroic, he almost begrudgingly goes along with the mission but not in a cool anti-hero way – I just felt for him every step of the way and really wanted him to get back to his family.

(Tom had a theory about Gerry. The source material for WWZ is a book by Max Brooks which tells the stories of different people who survived the epidemic through interviews – is Gerry the guy that is doing the interviewing in the book? I couldn’t possibly say, having never read it – but I liked the theory.)

kartesz-e1370018828305

I enjoyed the edition of Daniella Kertesz’s character at this point in the film Gerry needed a companion and she was really quite hard-core. They made a good team despite having no emotional attachments to one another, I felt they needed each other in the moment – I’d like to think they remained friends. (Must remember the story doesn’t carry on when the credits role). Mireille Enos was good too as Gerry’s wife Karin, although she didn’t see much action, she played a believable part. The daughters are pretty non de-script though.

world-war-z-600x336

In fact, there are not many fully established characters worth talking about, and if I am honest this film is a disaster movie, not a Zombie flick – neither genre of which I particularly care for… Having said that, I really enjoyed World War Z. It is tense, exciting, heartbreaking, breath taking, and fast paced. I would recommend it even to those averse to Zombies like myself!

world-war-z-pstr01

Full disclosure: Probably my shortest and most poorly written review to date – BUT it has been a long day and not being Zombie savvy there isn’t much to say apart from Brad Pitt is great, the special effects rocked it, and I DIDN’T cry. Boom.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on ““Every human being we save is one less we have to fight” World War Z.

  1. keith7198 June 27, 2013 at 8:30 pm Reply

    Awesome! Love the review! Also glad to hear I’m not alone in my enthusiasm. My review went up a couple of days ago and I was pretty positive.

    • myreelpov June 27, 2013 at 9:21 pm Reply

      Yay glad u liked it aswel πŸ™‚ i will read ur review asap!!

  2. Sir Phobos June 27, 2013 at 9:51 pm Reply

    I think the Israeli soldier should be more of a main character in the sequel. That would be sweet. I liked her as much as I did because she wasn’t any kind of stereotype. She came off as a real person.

    • myreelpov June 28, 2013 at 10:41 am Reply

      I agree with that, I really liked her!

    • Tim The Film Guy June 28, 2013 at 12:44 pm Reply

      I forgot to mention her in my review but I really liked her too for the same reasons πŸ˜€

  3. CMrok93 June 28, 2013 at 1:53 am Reply

    Good review. It was a nice movie for a bunch of chills and thrills, but the story itself really sucked. As well as the one-dimensional characters.

    • myreelpov June 28, 2013 at 10:42 am Reply

      Ah I don’t agree with you there, I think Gerry and the woman soldier were good characters and I also thought the story was good – there can’t be too much mystery or twists in a story of a Zombie pandemic really…

  4. Tim The Film Guy June 28, 2013 at 12:44 pm Reply

    Clearly the lack of horror in this zombie film reduced your phobia πŸ˜€
    Glad you liked it and good review πŸ˜€

    • myreelpov June 28, 2013 at 2:24 pm Reply

      Yes it probably did, its the crazy slow brain eating zombies that scare me. These guys were just mental.

  5. lauren June 28, 2013 at 2:32 pm Reply

    I enjoyed your review on this. I’m still in two minds whether to see it though as I’ve just read the book and don’t want to be comparing the two while watching. Might wait for DVD so that enough time has passed.

    • myreelpov June 30, 2013 at 5:16 pm Reply

      I don’t think you would compare the two because as far as I am aware they are set in the same universe but the stories are very different, you would probably be safe if you went in prepared for that lol.

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Exploring our changing relationship with nature through photography, digital art and flash fiction.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

