“In time, they will join you in the Sun” Man of Steel.

I will put it out there straight away, I am not a Superman fan. For me, he lacks personality and the previous films have been prrretty terrible. Despite being a massive fan of the super hero genre, this hero  never did it for me. UNTIL NOW.

man-of-steel-poster-finalZack Snyder being at the helm caught my attention, I love 300 and The Watchmen is one of my favourites, I even liked Sucker Punch – so knew that he would pull something out the bag with this. The hype surrounding Man of Steel has been crazy, and it’s understandable considering the source material – naturally its a must see on most peoples list. No one needs telling who Superman is or his story, but the plot for Man of Steel cleverly leaves room for Kal-El’s background, how he grew up as Clark and we get a really good look at his home planet as well as giving the plot a great excuse for some epic battles and major destruction. Upon Krypton’s demise, General Zod and his fellow rebel fighters are banished from the planet, taking them out of harms way when the planet explodes, leaving them and Kal-El as the only Kryptonians in the Universe. Zod is hell bent on retrieving Kal-El and terror forming Earth to inhabit for himself, BUT Kal-El is the only thing standing in the way… FIGHT!

The start of Man of Steel on Krypton was very cool, very sci-fi and pretty gritty. I wasn’t a fan of the weird floating computer but it served a purpose, the design of the planet and its gadgets, even its fashion was all very well thought out considering it doesn’t feature heavily in relation to the 2 and a half hour film (too long!). I could have spent longer on Krypton and watched Russell Crowe kick some more butt. But it swiftly moves the story along to Clark living on Earth with an old looking Kevin Costner and Diane Lane. For me Clark’s childhood and flash backs dragged a little until he turns into the fully fledged version. One of the best parts of his back story is when he saves some men from a burning oil rig, when he lunges through the door on fire – it looked fantastic.

man-of-steel-fire

Oh my Henry, what a guy. An actual Adonis if I ever did see one. A perfect Superman really, beautiful to look at, not much going on behind the eyes. Having said that, I really enjoyed his performance. It was sincere (for the most part) and he fits the Superman persona well. Having heard an interview with him on BBC Radio 1 this morning it sounds like he took the role VERY seriously too. So 10/10 for effort! My only problem was his connection with Amy Adams playing Lois Lane… well lack of connection I should say – can’t fault them for trying but there was ZERO spark there.

man of steel_superman__422136c

As a rule I like Amy Adams but from the off I couldn’t see her as Lois, probably because I can’t get Terri Hatcher out of my head but I think she would have made a much better April O’Neil for sure! She still gives a great performance in Man of Steel though, something just didn’t work for me. Crowe on the other hand is growing on me, after his pretty fantastic performance in Les Mis, and now smashing it as Jor-El I might have to let bygones be bygones and accept him in Hollywood finally. It was nice to see Kal-El’s mum getting some of the action too, loving Ayelet Zurer as Lana.

man-of-steelrussell-crowe

Probably my favourite supporting character was Faora-Ul, Zod’s second in command, played by Antje Traue. She was fierce and powerful and kicked Superman’s ass all up and down the city. I half expected her and Zod to have some kind of weird romantic link but they steered well clear of that thankfully. In fact, the battle between her, the big fella and Superman is something worth watching this film for ALONE. It reminded me a little of the street fight in Thor, only much more epic and the destruction is just mind blowing. What I loved was the way the characters move – SO fast and SO strong, when they hit the deck they hit it hard as if they are actually made of solid steel.

Man-of-SteelAntje-Traue

After that awesome fight, there is more to come when Zod and Superman square up for the finale. Half of Metropolis is destroyed by these two and it is VERY fun to watch. Michael Shannon plays a very sinister villain and pulls some pretty evil expressions, loved the one liners he comes out with during the fight “Where did you train, on a FARM!” Classic. I am going to have to go and see The Iceman while it’s out at the cinema now I am aware of Shannon’s awesomeness.

man-of-steel-shannon

The plot has some ups and downs, where the downs make the 2 and a half hours seem very long indeed. There was also a disconnect I found between Clark being Clark, and then suddenly donning the suit and becoming Superman. Considering the lengthy amount of time given, they could have used less child Clark, more Kal-El discovering himself. Other than that though, all the performances are fantastic, the visuals are STUNNING and Cavill even manages to make flying with your arms stretched out look hot.  The darker, more modern feel of the plot and the human characters being much more accessible, plus the new suit and the physicality of the fight scenes really brought Superman into 2013 effortlessly.

man_of_steel-HD

I was pretty blown away by the fight scenes in particular, as well the general aesthetics (drooling over Cavill of course), so I would definitely recommend this. An IMax viewing would be pretty spectacular I think – plus you have the extra comfy seats for the crazy long running time when you include adverts and trailers. Well done Snyder you’ve turned me round on the Superman front, bravo sir!

 

PS. Don’t be fool like me and stay until the very end of the credits hoping for another snip-it. There is nothing there!!

Oh hello!!

Oh hello!!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

25 thoughts on ““In time, they will join you in the Sun” Man of Steel.

  1. Tim The Film Guy June 20, 2013 at 7:10 pm Reply

    MAN OF STEEL!!! Loved it!

    Glad you liked this film, so damn epic! The fights, the music, the visuals, the story and the fights 😀

    Cavill looks like Arnie back in his prime, that’s damn impressive!

  2. mikeyb185 June 20, 2013 at 7:31 pm Reply

    I didn’t like it as much as you but I think there is potential for an excellent sequel. I love your idea of Amy Adams as April O’Neill though!

    • myreelpov June 20, 2013 at 8:14 pm Reply

      She’d be better than Fox for the role I think!

      • mikeyb185 June 20, 2013 at 8:41 pm

        To be fair the only role that would suit Fox is some kind of plastic sex doll

      • myreelpov June 21, 2013 at 7:54 pm

        Truuue story!

  3. CMrok93 June 20, 2013 at 7:44 pm Reply

    Solid review. The cast did a fine job with what they had to do, it’s just a shame that the script couldn’t save itself, especially towards the end.

    • myreelpov June 20, 2013 at 8:15 pm Reply

      Mm yes I suppose it was lacking, but I didnt really notice due to the awesome fighting and Henry being so dashing and all 🙂

  4. Sam's Reel Views June 20, 2013 at 7:51 pm Reply

    I agree with you, but also CMRok. The film was good, although I didn’t love the action scenes. And I don’t particularly like Snyder as a director, though I did like the film. Also I liked they change the origin, they didn’t have a good hour of Clark becoming Superman, it’s a clunky formula that they first used in Superhero films of the early 2000’s, and it often made dull and confusing origins. I liked that it was a bit more snappy, and less thorough. I guess I’d summarize Superman as ‘Aesthetically stunning, culturally relevant, with a dull ending’. Although that being said, some see the death of Zod controversial, not that it really matters, kind of adds an edge to DC’s goody two-shoes considering Batman never broke his one rule. Good Review though.

    • myreelpov June 20, 2013 at 8:17 pm Reply

      All good points – your right about the anti climactic ending but I was still pretty blown away!

  5. lukebbtt June 20, 2013 at 8:35 pm Reply

    I am unsure about Amy Adams too. I don’t want to sound age-ist, but she is a little old for the role. It’s OK in Man of Steel, but if they turn it into a trilogy that takes 7 years to make (like Dark Knight), she is going to be looking much older by the end of it.

    However, great film and good review.

    • myreelpov June 21, 2013 at 7:54 pm Reply

      Mmm I see your point but I have never thought of Lois as being a young character anyway, not like Mary-Jane or April. I think of Lois as a more mature leading lady.

  6. Hypersonic55 June 20, 2013 at 11:33 pm Reply

    Good review, I liked the film, but honestly it really wasn’t the film I was expecting. I had absurdly high expectations and unfortunately this film didn’t meet them at all. I liked the new update for Superman’s origin story, Krypton, and Henry Cavill made for a good lead character. The best element for the film was the special effects which were awesome, that much I was certain of. But everything else was good, okay or just questionable like the first half of the film, the questionable flashbacks and Michael Shannon who was good but has been much better in other stuff like Boardwalk Empire and The Iceman.

    After seeing the film twice I feel more unsure about the film than before. I guess Superman is a hard superhero to craft into live action considering the state of superhero films these days. I liked it, but I feel like I have still seen much better superhero films. I’m probably in a minority now but I will defend my corner.

    • myreelpov June 21, 2013 at 8:02 pm Reply

      I don’t know if I could sit through it at the cinema twice, but will probably buy it on DVD and skip to the fight scenes 😛 Thanks for your long comment btw I really appreciate it 😀 You are welcome to fight your corner sir!!

      • Hypersonic55 June 22, 2013 at 5:24 pm

        I may actually watch it again because I’m not sure where I stand with the film even after seeing it twice haha. I’m messed up. 😀

        Oh and sorry about the long-ass comment, I hadn’t noticed I was typing that much lol. XD And thanks I think I’ll continue to do so. 😀

  7. The Focused Filmographer June 26, 2013 at 9:27 pm Reply

    Great review! yes, Cavill did an excellent job. I agree with you on the lack of connection between he and Lois. (I LOL’d at your “nothing going on behind the eyes” comment)

    Faora was a fantastic character and a pattern that more movie writers should follow for villain sidekicks.

    Nice review.

    wait…you didn’t get the special after credits scene in your viewing?

    • The Focused Filmographer June 26, 2013 at 9:28 pm Reply

      i’m only kidding abt the credits scene! ha.

      • myreelpov June 26, 2013 at 9:53 pm

        Aw man just read this bit – you’re mean!

      • The Focused Filmographer June 26, 2013 at 10:16 pm

        haha. I’m sorry, I just couldn’t resist! 🙂

    • myreelpov June 26, 2013 at 9:52 pm Reply

      No there was nothing there! And i literally stayed untill the credits finished – unless u are winding me up!!

  8. The Vern June 29, 2013 at 6:01 pm Reply

    You are a brave brave girl for admitting you love Sucker Punch, but yeah I like that Mr. Snyder is doing this after his work on Watchmen. I agree that Amy Adams would work better in TMNT as April O’Neal then here.

    • myreelpov June 30, 2013 at 5:18 pm Reply

      Haha thanks, Sucker Punch wasn’t awful I enjoyed the fantasy elements!!

  9. Tom July 4, 2013 at 5:48 am Reply

    Great review, and nice to see another supporter of MoS. I really think this movie took a hard bashing..much harder than it deserved. Snyder and Nolan had to do some serious repair jobs of Superman movies of the past, and I thought they succeeded!

    • myreelpov July 4, 2013 at 2:15 pm Reply

      I agree, the hype was so massive there were always going to be people who didn’t like it, because it is such a well known character too people have very specific ideas of how it should have gone! I enjoyed it more probably because I’m not a fan of the original material. Thanks for commenting 🙂

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

UK based photographer and digital artist. My work is an exploration of our ever-changing relationship with nature. I'm happily asexual and a friend to all cats

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

