“You don’t respect the chair!” Star Trek Into Darkness.

StarTrekIntoDarkness_FinalUSPosterFINALLY I got round to seeing Star Trek Into Darkness having anticipated its arrival for what feels like several years. I am a Star Trek fan (over Star Wars, sorry!) so I had high expectations for the second film in the franchise. 2009’s Star Trek was pretty good, although the casting of Chris Pine as Kirk did ruffle my feathers a little, I have accepted it now and have almost grown to like his puffy face. I unwittingly saw this in 3D, which only added dramatic effect during the opening sequence if I am honest. In fact, I don’t know how it was possible but for the first 10 minutes of the film the 3D wasn’t working, as if there were no lenses in the glasses – then suddenly it flicked on – but by this point I was pretty irritated by it. Putting that aside, here’s my humble opinion on Star Trek Into Darkness (2013).

I managed to avoid all reviews and spoilers before going in which meant the whole film (almost) was a great surprise. I didn’t see where the story was going, the twists came as actual shocks to me and I thoroughly enjoyed it! Pine’s Captain Kirk is arrogant and a little too cock-sure but his interactions with the rest of the crew pull him back out of irritating territory. John Cho (Sulu) and Anton Yelchin (Chekov) get some more lime light in this story which I loved to see, especially when Sulu takes the chair, brilliant! Zoe Saldana also gives a good performance as Uhura, and her relationship with Spock is explored further. She also comes in handy when they run into some Klingons – who were a little too decorated for my liking but I guess they are just modernising them a bit.

star trek pic

Simon Pegg is excellent again as Scotty, some great dialogue and banter between him and Kirk, and the same can be said for Karl Urban as Bones. BUT Bones was starting to get on my nerves, all he ever seemed to say was something along the lines of “You’re not actually going to..” “You’re not really suggesting that…” Alright negative nancy keep your skirt on, and tone down the stage acting pllllease. Speaking of skirts, I’m glad to see sexism has taken a few steps back in the future… put some women in trousers for crying out loud!

ships

Moving swiftly on, SPOCK! He stole the show for me, Zachary Quinto plays a brilliant Spock and I couldn’t think of anyone better to take on Leonard Nimoy’s legacy. The character develops more than I thought in the second installment which I was pleased to see, he must have been a hit in the first film. His Vulcan and Human sides raging a war in his head, not knowing when or what to feel – it tugs at the heart strings, but also makes for some comedic exchanges! (See Pike and Spock!) Then he almost made me pee when he had his little emotional outburst outside the radiation chamber!!

spock and kirk

Now the man everyone’s been talking about, probably, Benedict Cumberbatch. If you look on IMDB you’ll know what character he plays, plus all the rumors before the film came out, but I wont ruin it if you haven’t seen it. Suffice to say he isn’t rocking the mullet or giant pecks but he plays a damn good bad guy! Wholly believable, ruthless and just plain evil. I think for the story line and the way his character is portrayed, the casting here is brilliant. As well as the use of Peter ‘Robocop’ Weller as top dog of the Federation, and Bruce Greenwood back as Pike, Star Trek Into Darkness has an excellent cast!

Khan

My only wish is for a stronger female character, Uhura has the only interesting female role and really that’s mostly because of her relationship with Spock. The introduction of Alice Eve as Carol seemed quite pointless, and the shot of her in her undies unnecessary. She does become integral to the story but at first just seems to be eye candy for Kirk. Of course there are not many women in the original Star Trek but as the series’ progressed there were some stronger roles, plus you know it is 2013…

spock and uhura

Aside from that, I thoroughly enjoyed the story, loved watching the classic characters interact and the action sequences were brilliant. In fact I got so excited and nostalgic at one point I thought I saw Data in one of the freeze pods. The 3D wasn’t great, almost forgotten about by half way through. But the special effects, fight scenes and sets were awesome. I would suggest any sci-fi or action fan should give this a watch, and ignore the fan boys who pick fault at everything, because this film is highly entertaining and the cast, fantastic. 

Star Trek cast

Star_Trek

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

28 thoughts on ““You don’t respect the chair!” Star Trek Into Darkness.

  1. lukebbtt May 29, 2013 at 11:11 am Reply

    How can you not love Bones? And good review. Best part of the movie is when Spock is running after Cumberbatch. Quinto is awesome, but his running is so funny.

  2. Terry Malloy's Pigeon Coop May 29, 2013 at 11:29 am Reply

    Nice review! I completely agree about the female characters, they were both pretty pointless in all honesty. Alice Eve in particular was completely wasted.

    • myreelpov May 29, 2013 at 3:24 pm Reply

      Yes, I know there isn’t much to go on if following the original characters but they could introduce a new role for our modern perception of what the future might be like lol!! I’m sure women wouldn’t have taken a step back in their feminism!

  3. keith7198 May 29, 2013 at 11:47 am Reply

    Very nicevreview! I quite liked this movie. I thought it was much better than the first. It did indeed have its issues many of which you mention. Alice Eve was a complete throw away character only there to serve on plot point and to stand there in her undies. Silly, silly writing in her case!

    • myreelpov May 29, 2013 at 3:20 pm Reply

      Yes it is shame they can’t write well for women so far in this series BUT it is still a great film and very enjoyable 🙂

      • keith7198 May 29, 2013 at 3:59 pm

        I agree. To be honest I don’t begrudge the film for its predominantly male cast. It’s married to the canon of Star Trek so I’m fine with that. BUT when you insert a new female character for the sole purpose of incorporating a bra and panties scene, well that pretty blatant in my view.

        But I’m with ya, still a good flick despite that nonsense.

  4. williamjepma May 29, 2013 at 2:05 pm Reply

    Great review, I totally agree with most of your points, and am glad I wasn’t the only person to get slightly annoyed by Bones. My only flaw with the movie is that I didn’t think the villain was to fleshed out. He was great, and a real scene-stealer, but they didn’t do a good job of explaining his motivations for newbie Trek fans such as myself. Besides that though, I loved this movie, and might even catch it again in the theater. 🙂

    • myreelpov May 29, 2013 at 3:19 pm Reply

      Yes I see where you are coming from, the main focus was on the good guys and left little room for an exploration of Cumberbatch’s character. Good point!

  5. CMrok93 May 29, 2013 at 3:04 pm Reply

    I can see where most Trekkies are coming from when they talk about how pissed off they are by this movie, but at the same time, just sit down, enjoy yourself, and let the ride take over. That’s what I did and it’s one of the best for me so far. Good review.

    • myreelpov May 29, 2013 at 3:19 pm Reply

      I agree, a movie like this is never going to hold a candle for the connection you may have with the original series – they are different things really, this film homages the Star Trek franchise, it doesn’t try to replace it or be better than it. Just enjoy it at face value 🙂

  6. mikeyb185 May 29, 2013 at 6:26 pm Reply

    Great review, you liked it more than I did but i agree with how good the cast was. And you’re totally right about the women in it, they really don’t do much apart from the odd bit of translation

    • myreelpov May 30, 2013 at 8:42 am Reply

      Yeah its a shame really. But the film was pretty darn good so cant complain too much! Did you the first one and not this one or not really a fan of either?

  7. r361n4 May 29, 2013 at 10:32 pm Reply

    As a fan boy I actually think I enjoyed it more than I would’ve if I wasn’t, but I know that other people in that category have not been so easy to please. Glad to see you’re also as big of a fan of it as I was 🙂

    • myreelpov May 30, 2013 at 8:41 am Reply

      Well I’m glad to see it pleased you!! 🙂

  8. Pa May 30, 2013 at 3:53 pm Reply

    Great review Bones !!

  9. Monkeyboy May 31, 2013 at 6:43 pm Reply

    Agree about the female characters not getting enough to do. Saldana’s role seemed a bit reduced from the first one. And the gratuitous shot of Alice Eve in bra & panties was indeed pointless. And I say that as a lover of gratuitous shots of women in bra & panties. ha-ha. 😉

    • myreelpov June 7, 2013 at 4:31 pm Reply

      Ha ha well put sir! Otherwise a cracking effort though!

      Ps. Sorry, I’m not rude I have just been away and not been online to see your comment 🙂

  10. Nikki Pender June 16, 2013 at 1:27 pm Reply

    after this film i want little spock babies!!!

  11. Sir Phobos June 20, 2013 at 10:28 pm Reply

    You know what? I agree about Bones. He was really one-note. It’s a shame, because Karl Urban kicks ass as that character.

    lol, I think you gave it away with “isn’t rocking a mullet or giant pecks.”

    I agree that the shot of Eve in her underwear is unnecessary, but then so is the one where Kirk is shirtless in bed. I’m not a fan of the hyper-sexualization in blockbuster movies. They just do it because they can. But I think Uhura had a lot more going on for her in this one. She really came off as Spock’s anchor. He even needed her approval to go after Cumberbatch.

    I enjoyed this one wayyyyyyy more than the last one.

    • myreelpov June 21, 2013 at 7:58 pm Reply

      Yea so did I! And you’re right about Uhura she was much more interesting in this film and I loved her and Spock!

  12. Reggie October 13, 2013 at 3:55 am Reply

    I’m a fan of of all the movies and television shows of Star Trek and I also like what they have done with this version. I find it hard not to be upset with some of the, as I call them “haters” out there, but that’s another point. I loved this movie. I saw Into Darkness as a form of the original episode “Space Seed” turned on its ear.

    • myreelpov October 13, 2013 at 9:09 am Reply

      I’m glad you’re a fan and still enjoy the movies, they are just bringing it up to date which of course leaves some of the nostalgia behind but at the end of the day they want to attract new audiences as well as keep the fans.

  13. My Reel POV’s Top 10 of 2013. | MyReelPOV January 17, 2014 at 12:57 pm Reply

    […] Number 8 – Star Trek Into Darkness […]

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Exploring our changing relationship with nature through photography, digital art and flash fiction.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

