“I’m gonna burn it down” Dead Man Down.

DEAD-MAN-DOWN-PosterThe trailer that I saw at the cinema for Dead Man Down implied an action packed shoot-em-up revenge thriller. I feel I was a little misled…

Colin Farrell, Terrence Howard and Noomi Rapace star in this film. Farrell’s character Victor plays the grief stricken husband and father seeking revenge for his loved ones against mob boss, Alphonse (Howard). Beatrice, a French beautician who was viscously scarred in a car accident gets caught up in Victors plans when she seeks him out to kill a man for her. Yup that is pretty much it.

Farrell does solitary brooding quite well but I much prefer it when he has a fun character. You can be dark and still entertaining – In Bruges for example! I guess I warmed to his character as the film progressed but this was all down to his interactions with Beatrice. I didn’t find myself connecting with his story much, and didn’t feel any prongs of sadness when he reminisced about his deceased loved ones. He seems to have a soft side which over powers his mean streak so actually the violence and ruthlessness of his plans of revenge didn’t seem to fit his character. He is pretty handy with a gun though, and I enjoyed him rolling around and having the occasional fight.

dead-man-down-img06

The mob boss Alphonse is instantly detestable so Howard does a good job at making it clear he’s the one we’re supposed to hate. He isn’t very menacing though – he gives Victor a speech about burning down everything he cares about etc. and I was willing Farrell to turn and say “oooh I’m quaking in my boots”. This highlights his underlying vulnerability and cowardliness that all big-shots have hidden somewhere… but I think if it were real, he probably could have been picked off quite easily with no need for all the theatrics.

dominic_cooper_interview_dead_man_down

Supporting cast includes Dominic Cooper as one of Alphonse’s gang, one which Victor had grown to like apparently. Why he risks everything on a few occasions to save this tool I will never know, so he has a family, but at the rate this guy is going they would better off without him disrupting their lives and putting them in danger. BUT who am I to judge! Victor has some morals, sometimes.

The story itself is a little tired, man infiltrates gang to seek revenge, blah. The light at the end of the tunnel is Rapace. I like her as a rule, I think she is interesting and quirky and I generally enjoy watching her performances. I feel she held my interest in Dead Man Down also and brought a little edge to the film which without, would have been another run of the mill revenge flick. Her character has depth and a strangely likeable air about her, which brings out more personality in Victor through the film. This can only be a good thing because either he is so stricken by grief that he lost his personality, or this guy’s nickname is Buzzkilington. Sheesh!

IMG_2896.CR2

All the explosions and gun fire shown in the trailer are practically the only scenes of that nature in Dead Man Down. The rest of the film has far too many awkward silences and ‘touching’ moments. There is a shoot out in the first quarter played to some nice deep drum and bass which got my hopes up for an exciting action film. It was short lived, just like that sequence. It was a little different due to all the nationalities’s cropping up, French, Hungarian, Albanian… and the nice use of a terribly sad French song, but other than that this film tried too hard to be different but ended up being a disappointing cliché. I was willing it to end or get more interesting by half way that’s for sure!

An interesting poster for a pretty uninteresting film.

An interesting poster for a pretty uninteresting film.

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

17 thoughts on ““I’m gonna burn it down” Dead Man Down.

  1. Tim The Film Guy May 11, 2013 at 7:39 pm Reply

    Nah 😦

  2. lukebbtt May 11, 2013 at 7:51 pm Reply

    Couldn’t agree with you more.

  3. r361n4 May 11, 2013 at 8:37 pm Reply

    Right there with you, the movie focuses way to much on the relationship between Colin and Noomi but there’s just no chemistry there so it just comes across as awkward. The action scenes were both the most generic and the most entertaining parts of the movie

    • myreelpov May 11, 2013 at 10:30 pm Reply

      Yeah the awkwardness was at times cringy and hard to watch – realistic you could argue but didn’t fit with the rest of the film! I wanted more action!

  4. CMrok93 May 11, 2013 at 9:32 pm Reply

    It takes awhile to get going where it needs to go, and even when it does get there; it’s a bit strange. Yet, I still like Farrel and Rapace together. Good review.

    • myreelpov May 11, 2013 at 10:28 pm Reply

      I’m not sure if they worked for me, it was trying to be real regarding their awkward relationship but then everything else in the film was unrealistic. Didn’t work for me.

  5. keith7198 May 12, 2013 at 1:37 am Reply

    Nice review! Something just didnt look right to me from the start so I skipped it. Kinda glad I did! 🙂

    • myreelpov May 12, 2013 at 11:15 am Reply

      Unless you are bored with nothing else to watch, I wouldn’t recommend it haha.

  6. Terry Malloy's Pigeon Coop May 12, 2013 at 10:23 pm Reply

    Nice review. Think I’ll be giving this one a miss. And you’re right, Farrell is so much better in comedy roles.

    • myreelpov May 13, 2013 at 8:24 am Reply

      Thanks. Yes I definitely prefer him with some personality!

  7. Stan May 13, 2013 at 9:48 am Reply

    Clearly dodged a bullet not seeing this. Good review. 🙂

    • myreelpov May 13, 2013 at 10:42 am Reply

      Weel it’s not THAT bad lol, but wouldn’t recommend it 🙂

      • Stan May 13, 2013 at 10:43 am

        Yeah but considering this is the guy who did the first girl with the dragon tattoo, ‘not bad’ really doesn’t cut it for me.

      • myreelpov May 13, 2013 at 11:09 am

        True story!!

      • Stan May 14, 2013 at 3:03 am

        What a bland name for a film. ‘Not bad’ Based on the true story where good things happen that really weren’t that good.

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

UK based photographer and digital artist. My work is an exploration of our ever-changing relationship with nature. I'm happily asexual and a friend to all cats

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

