“It’s times like these when I realise what a superhero I am” Iron Man 3.

Looks like the newest instalment of the Iron Man franchise has gone down well at the box office, after the awesomeness of Avengers Assemble I am hardly surprised! But was Iron Man 3 so great??

iron-man-3-poster-2013YEP!

I re-watched Iron Man a few days before to remind myself of why I loved this character. What makes the first film so good is the introduction of this cocky, genius, philanthropist turned superhero who is out of the ordinary, unbelievably cool and instantly likeable. For me it came as an interesting turn in the super hero world, a hero who actually WANTS to be a hero, and seeks it out. Brilliant! If it were me I wouldn’t be complaining about being awesome either! *cough* Batman, Hulk, Wolverine *cough* (Yes Spiderman doesn’t mind but it is still thrust upon him, unlike Iron Man who makes a conscious decision.)

What makes the third film great is the development of this character, the effects that events in previous films have on him, and the reminder that he is inherently a human who reacts like one. As well as the exciting fights and super cool gadgets of course!! In Iron Man 3, a threat from known terrorist The Mandarin finds Tony Stark making it his mission to bring him down. He is crazy protective of Pepper and probably wants to show off all his new Iron Man suits too. SO, I really enjoyed the story line, it wasn’t over complicated, child friendly for the most part (it is a 12A after all folks!) and it had some good twists… “You’ll never see me coming”…

I think Shane Black and co. put an interesting spin on the usual tale of good vs. evil, mixing an over the top superhero world with a subtle and witty real world. Gadgets that malfunction, annoying children and regretful henchman to name but a few moments that bring some real laughs. As well as Stark’s reaction to the events of Avengers Assemble where he came inches from death. As it would for any human being, this near death experience has been bringing on acute panic attacks. He explains, brought on by the feeling of the unknown, Gods, aliens and real super hero’s are very over whelming when your just a guy in a suit. It really shows his vulnerable side, which only makes it better when he gets over himself and really kicks ass!

ironman3

Robert Downey Jr. is on top form, in my opinion you couldn’t find anyone else to play Iron Man now he has put his stamp on it. I will be impressed if they make a fourth without him and I enjoy it! Funny and charismatic as ever, and effortlessly showing us his softer side too. The development of Tony Stark himself was interesting too, clearly making a strong emotional attachment to his suits and almost treating them like individuals – funny moments had with that but also some quite moving scenes really.

iron-man-3-tony-stark

Gwyneth Paltrow was on fire, (get it 😉 )  I loved to see her get in on some of the action and use the suit too! One of the best moments comes when Stark pulls the suit onto Pepper whilst being blown away in an air strike in slow motion, so good. Pepper has gotten more likeable as the films progress for me, and now we know she can hold her own she gets a few more character points. The damsel in distress gag gets a little annoying, e.g. shoot me now Mary Jane.

iron-man-3-pepper-potts-1

Great supporting cast too with the likes of Don Cheadle, Ben Kingsley, John Favreau and Guy Pearce. Although I like Cheadle, I am not sure he has the presence that Terrence Howard did playing a military man. None the less he still plays a good Rhodes and has some funny moments in the film. John Favreau plays Happy Hogan, Starks ex-body guard and general security try hard. I didn’t understand why this character was in it but he gives Stark a kick in the butt to find The Mandarin so I guess that’s his angle – still a great character, again with some really funny moments.

Iron-Man-3-The-Mandarin
The Mandarin is played up so much in the trailers for Iron Man 3 that I was expecting more, saying that though I LOVED Kingsley’s character, and that is all I will say on that. Pearce is hit and miss for me but he plays an adequate bad guy in this film. Probably the only thing I wouldn’t rave about actually but he did the best he could with his character.

The main event in Iron Man 3 is the final show down. The setting is brilliant, there are so many possibilities when it comes to jumping, flying, shooting around and exploding the most giant ship loading yard you have ever seen. When the different types of suits fly in and start fighting it really is quite epic. Joss Whedon has apparently expressed his concern over how on earth he will top it in Avengers 2! The geek in me definitely came out during this finale!

iron_man_3

I suppose Iron Man 3 might get a bad review if the reviewer is mad crazy on the comics and nothing will ever compare, or maybe said reviewer doesn’t like superheroes!? These are my only possible explanations because I came out of the cinema with my eyes wide open and my mouth saying “wooow, again again!!”

Next Marvel film I am very excited about is Thor, can it live up to this one??

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20 thoughts on ““It’s times like these when I realise what a superhero I am” Iron Man 3.

  1. Natasha Harmer May 7, 2013 at 7:36 pm Reply

    Great review 😀
    Spot on too about why Tony Stark is such a likeable character! I love these films 😀
    It helps that RDJ is also drop dead gorgeous too 😉

    • myreelpov May 7, 2013 at 8:41 pm Reply

      It deffo helps, helllooo. Think he has toned up a bit in this one too compared to the first one, I am not complaining lol!

      • Natasha Harmer May 7, 2013 at 9:01 pm

        yeah he gets better with age! xD
        have a bit of an obsession with him haha

  2. Tim The Film Guy May 7, 2013 at 8:00 pm Reply

    So you think it was alright then? 😀

  3. Michael Smith May 7, 2013 at 10:47 pm Reply

    Great look at a great film and franchise and can we ever really imagine anyone else as Tony Stark? LOL

    • myreelpov May 8, 2013 at 8:12 am Reply

      I don’t think I would be happy with a replacement!!

  4. CMrok93 May 7, 2013 at 11:41 pm Reply

    Good review. It was a solid way to start off the summer, however, I will admit that it isn’t my favorite out of the three.

    • myreelpov May 8, 2013 at 8:13 am Reply

      Which is your favourite? I loved this one and definitely think it is the best out them so far. Which is unusual for sequels!

  5. lukebbtt May 8, 2013 at 8:19 am Reply

    Good review. Nice to see you back. 🙂

    • myreelpov May 8, 2013 at 10:18 am Reply

      Thanks dude, I didn’t go anywhere really just stopped being so frequent 🙂

  6. williamjepma May 8, 2013 at 1:10 pm Reply

    Definitely agree with your thoughts! It’s nice seeing someone else enjoy this movie as much as I did. I think it deserves at least another re-watch in the theater. 🙂

  7. The Focused Filmographer May 10, 2013 at 4:06 am Reply

    well, this one was good. but, it def disappointed me at moments. I like your enthusiasm in your review! haha. the MaryJane reference…classic!

    • myreelpov May 10, 2013 at 8:45 am Reply

      It was a little rushed which probably makes it sound all the more enthusiastic haha. I was most definitely not disappointed though!

  8. Nostra May 13, 2013 at 9:17 pm Reply

    It was an entertaining blockbuster, nothing more nothing less for me. Not a movie I’ll rewatch, but I had a good time with while it lasted 🙂

    • myreelpov May 13, 2013 at 9:19 pm Reply

      I think you must be hard to please! 😉

      • Nostra May 13, 2013 at 9:22 pm

        No, don’t think I am! It doesn’t take much for me to be entertained 🙂

  9. Hypersonic55 May 14, 2013 at 12:29 pm Reply

    YES YES YES! Cracking review my friend. I watched the film again on Sunday and I still loved it. It is a very different and yet familar kind of superhero film but it works so well as a continuation from The Avengers but also a continuation in the Iron Man series. I’m glady ou enjoyed the film so much but something told me that you would anyway 🙂 Anyone hating on the film really needs to sort themselves out because I don’t think they were watching the same awesome film that we were lol.

    • myreelpov May 14, 2013 at 1:48 pm Reply

      Haha agreed! Yes I was always bound to love Iron Man 3, either that or be sorely disappointed so I’m glad it was the latter!! I’m glad you enjoyed it too 😀 Yay for super heroes!

  10. My Reel POV’s Top 10 of 2013. | MyReelPOV January 17, 2014 at 12:57 pm Reply

    […] Number 6 – Iron Man 3 […]

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Exploring our changing relationship with nature through photography, digital art and flash fiction.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

