“How about you and me play a game called F*ck Off…You go first” Olympus Has Fallen.

Originally my cinema buddy and I wanted to see A Place Beyond The Pines on Wednesday night, but after sitting down on the front row and deciding it was going to be a horrible experience up close, Cineworld very kindly exchanged our tickets for the next film that was showing… Turned out to be one I was trying to avoid, Olympus Has Fallen.

Olympus has fallen

I was trying to avoid it due to the bad reviews it has received and my preconceptions of what the film looked like from the trailer. ‘We love America and we’re fucking awesome’ looked like the premise. Well I was right on that aspect, but surprisingly Olympus Has Fallen exceeded my expectations and turned out to be pretty enjoyable.

Gerard Butler plays the lead, Mike Banning – secret service agent, presidential guard and close personal friend of the President of the United States. After a car accident where Banning fails to save the First Lady, he is dismissed from the presidential guard. This all happens in the first 20 minutes or so, then the film cuts to 18 months later where we see Banning still struggling to come to terms with the tragedy and missing his old life in the secret service. Meanwhile, some disturbingly accurate news reports in the background discuss trouble in North and South Korea – then BOOM quite literally, shit kicks off in Washington, the White House is taken down and the President is held hostage.

Butler is back doing what he does best, kicking butt. I was relieved to see him shoot some guns, punch some people, wrestle around and stab some one in the brain rather than fanny around in another shitty rom-com. On the way out I actually heard a girl in the cinema say; “I’ve never seen Gerard Butler in a film like that before!”… *ehem*. He did well with the script he was given – some cheesy one liners and a lot of eff you’s – but it worked. He was probably the only character I didn’t feel was taking himself too seriously. They also didn’t make him put on an American accent and I think this helped a lot.

Gerard-Butler-Olympus-Has-Fallen

President Asher is played by Aaron Eckhart, of two-face fame for me. He plays a good President, pretty defiant and likable, I could see him being elected. Not much to say about him other than that! I thought there were some strong female’s cast though, Angela Bassett who plays the Secret Service Director and Melissa Leo playing the Secretary of Defense who puts up a great fight. I found myself really liking her character, especially when she says “I wouldn’t want my tomb stone to read, she went down without a fight!” I thought, Go Lady!!

Olympus-Has-Fallen2

WAIT Morgan Freeman was in this film… is he just so good at everything we forget to talk about him anymore? Well he was obviously great as Speaker Trumbull, taking the helm when the President and Vice President are otherwise engaged. A brilliant power struggle between seemingly old and tired Trumbull and General Clegg (Robert Forster) sees Freeman’s character rise to the challenge and take the lead.

There are not many other characters worth mentioning apart from the main bad guy, I wont divulge that information so as not ruin the ‘surprise’ but as soon as you see him you will know 😉

olympuslg

I am sure you have read that Olympus Has Fallen is like a version of Die Hard that takes itself too seriously. Well that is exactly it really, you could have put John McClane in this situation and it would have worked a lot better than the most recent Die Hard disaster. It also would have been full of wit and irony, and the one liners wouldn’t make you cringe, they would make you laugh. Unfortunately this films down fall is that the audience believe (speaking for myself here) that every thing said in this movie is a true representation of what the writers/directors think would actually happen if the White House were to be high-jacked. That was long winded but I hope it makes sense. It aggravated me a lot for example, when this happened

“If we remove the troops from the DMZ we’ll lose South Korea!” (Or words to that affect)

Response: “But if we don’t, they will kill the President!”

My response: “Whaaaa?! A whole country sacrificed for one replaceable man, get a f*cking grip people?!”

Getting past this part of the film was difficult BUT once you remember, it is just a film, and you should have known what you were letting yourself in for when you saw the stars and stripes on the front cover, Olympus Has Fallen gets pretty entertaining!

Olympus-Has-Fallen3

The fighting, hand to hand combat, explosives, guns, knives, machine weaponry,  helicopters – it was all very impressive and pretty well done. The body count is CRAZY and Banning takes down half of them himself, the other half caught up in the frenzy. I was quite shocked to see so much blood but I think this is what made the film much better. More action, less American ego trip was the key here.

All in all an entertaining action film, with Gerard Butler really on form. But not something I would recommend for everyone, and I wont be buying the DVD. A little too Team America for my liking.

Olympus-Has-Fallen-poster

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

17 thoughts on ““How about you and me play a game called F*ck Off…You go first” Olympus Has Fallen.

  1. CMrok93 April 27, 2013 at 3:21 pm Reply

    Terribly dumb film, but fun while it lasts. That’s all you can care about. Good review.

  2. Tim The Film Guy April 27, 2013 at 4:19 pm Reply

    Team America Fuck Yeah!!! Still haven’t seen this and its right up my alley so not sure about that 😀

  3. Victor De Leon April 27, 2013 at 6:16 pm Reply

    Oh wow. This sounds cool. I haven’t read any reviews until yours of this movie. Now I’m pretty stoked. Sounds like my kind of movie to waste away a Saturday afternoon with. I need other things to watch besides hokey SyFy channel movies sometimes. Thanks!

    • myreelpov April 28, 2013 at 4:43 pm Reply

      It sure is a movie to waste time with haha, but entertaining none the less!! Thanks for commenting 🙂

  4. Elizabeth April 28, 2013 at 1:32 pm Reply

    Hi Claire,

    Literally just found your blog after a lot of link-clicking from other blogs and it sounds like we have the same kinda love for movies. I never really considered going to see this one because I’m not really a fan of Gerard Butler but I might give it a watch after reading this, once I’ve seen Iron Man 3. Also, I’d totally recommend The Place Beyond The Pines, but watching it extremely close up would be quite the headache.

    • myreelpov April 28, 2013 at 4:45 pm Reply

      Hey, thanks for looking around 🙂 Id say this film is one to see if you can get a half price cinema ticket and feel like seeing some guys kick ass and shoot each other lol. I hope to see Beyond the Pines before it leaves the cinema for sure. I’ll be sure to have a nosey on your blog!

  5. Hypersonic55 May 4, 2013 at 8:56 pm Reply

    Cool review yo glad to see you back! I thought you’d disappeared for a while. XD I’ve been meaning to watch this for a while now especially after my sister saw it and told me it was actually worth watch. I’ve never been a Gerald Bulter fan personally not that I hated him it’s just that I’ve never found him overly interesting, but if this film is as good as you say it is I may actually find a film I like him in. By the way have you seen Iron Man 3 yet? I must have your thoughts on it! 🙂

    • myreelpov May 5, 2013 at 9:37 am Reply

      I think the film might sound better than it is lol.
      I have been a bit slow tbh because of work and general life stuff!! There’s a couple of films I just haven’t had chance to review like The Host and Oblivion but I HAVE seen Iron Man 3 my friend!! I’m going to try and post a review by the end of bank holiday weekend fo sho. Thanks for the comment you have made this hang over seem a little better 😀 haha!

      • Hypersonic55 May 5, 2013 at 3:35 pm

        Ah I see good to know you haven’t packed it in altogether that would have been terrible (I’d have no good reading material! lol). You still haven’t caught Oblivion yet? I’d say definitely try and catch it. As for Iron Man 3 yes mate, I can’t wait! And not a problem, I always try to help. Btw you said you had a hang over? You terrible party person, you need to slow down with the drinks (but then this is coming from a frequent party man so I can’t talk at all haha).

      • myreelpov May 6, 2013 at 10:11 am

        I bet you are worse than me for partying, aren’t you a student?!
        I did see Oblivion just never got chance to review it, it was quite good though!!

      • Hypersonic55 May 6, 2013 at 3:53 pm

        I am pretty bad I guess and yeah I’m student. I could tell you some questionable stories from my time in uni so far lol.
        And cool I’m glad to hear that, at least you weren’t hating on the film like loads of critics and audience people that saw the film.

  6. The Focused Filmographer May 10, 2013 at 4:08 am Reply

    “WAIT Morgan Freeman was in this film… is he just so good at everything we forget to talk about him anymore?” —that’s what I had to say about Oblivion as well! hahaha.

    I had an okay time watching this one. nothing special to be sure though. the action was what made it fine enough. Nice review.

    • myreelpov May 10, 2013 at 8:47 am Reply

      Yes the action was what made the film acceptable. Otherwise it would have been a disaster. Yeah I thought that about Oblivion as well! So much so I didn’t even feel compelled to write a review lol.

  7. Film Equipment Rental Dubai May 20, 2013 at 9:43 am Reply

    According to me the average rating of “Olympus Has Fallen” was not more than 6/10.

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Manchester-based food blogger, lover of all things food and drink.

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul: Best of Cinema

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Photographer and digital artist exploring the mysteries of nature. Happily asexual and a friend to all cats.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

