“Whoever makes this drug is going to be rich!” Side Effects.

It has taken me a few days to get started on the review for Side Effects Side Effects posterbecause I am desperate not to spoil it for any one who may not have seen it yet. I sometimes read a review before watching the movie and I am then constantly looking out for things mentioned in said review, such as unexpected twists and turns – well they aren’t unexpected anymore if you know one is coming. I will warn you when the spoilers are coming, but as a fellow cinema goer I would suggest keeping a clear mind before seeing Side Effects. If you have seen the film or don’t mind about perhaps spoiling your first impressions of the film, then please read on 🙂

IMDB’s synopsis of Side Effects reads; A young woman’s world unravels when a drug prescribed by her psychiatrist has unexpected side effects. This gives nothing away and neither does the trailer which is an immediate bonus for me. Films such as Looper where the film actually has a lot more plot than the trailer suggest make me a very happy audience member, on the flip side I have no desire to see Trance because the twist is discovered in the trailer!! I digress…

Emily Taylor, played by Rooney Mara, suffers from depression when her husband (Channing Tatum) is released from jail after a 4 year stint for ‘insider trading’ (at this point I was thinking, should I know what ‘insider trading’ means?!). She meets Dr. Banks aka Jude Law who prescribes her a trial drug called Ablixa after no other medication seems to work. The drug though has devastating side effects for Emily, and Dr. Banks due to his responsibility of care for his patient.

side effects

The interesting part of the story begins after the side effects of the Ablixa kick in and Emily commits murder (that much is clear from the trailer). Dr. Banks is then faced with an incredibly hard moral dilemma. If Emily is a victim of circumstance and found not guilty due to her actions being manipulated by the Ablixa then Dr. Banks will be to blame for prescribing the drug. But can he see a seemingly innocent woman convicted to save his own skin? When Emily is committed to a psychiatric ward the film shifts it’s focus onto Dr. Banks, the implications that this situation has brought him in his life and his search for the truth.

side-effects-jude-law

Rooney Mara is captivating as Emily, she controls the room despite showing obvious signs of mental distress. She conveys manic episodes and surreal calm in the blink of an eye, and not to mention she is naturally very beautiful. I had not seen her in anything before so a new comer to me and I was very impressed with her performance. Her pairing with Channing Tatum made a very good looking couple! Although Tatum’s role is somewhat distant, his presence is felt throughout the film. He is growing on me and I hope he gets more serious roles like this.

Side effects rooney-mara-channing-tatum

Catherine Zeta Jones plays a key role in Side Effects as Emily’s previous psychiatrist. I have read reviews that suggest she didn’t perform very well but I liked her in this role. Her character is believable and plays a huge part in the plot. I liked her sarcy exchanges with Jude Law and she looked pretty darn good in those specs!

side-effects-catherine-zeta-jones

As the focus shifts from Emily to Dr. Banks, Jude Law puts in a brilliant performance. His life is falling apart around him due to the events surrounding Emily’s trial, but he pulls himself together to seek out the truth of the so called side effects. It was very exciting to watch as Dr. Banks pieces all the information together in order to clear his name, cleverly the plot starts to become clear and I found myself going ‘ooooh’ and ‘aaaah’. That is up until the big reveal, which for me let the film down severely. Side Effects cleverly tip-toes around the facts to build up an elaborate picture and then suddenly lays it bare as if the audience didn’t understand what was going on so had to spell it out for us.

side-effects-jude-law-catherine-zeta-jones

I suppose that is a little niggle but it did make the end of the film feel quite abrupt. I left the cinema though having had a very enjoyable experience watching Side Effects, it is clever and attention grabbing with some fantastic performances. A brilliant film from Mr. Soderbergh and I hope this isn’t really his last film, he will just take a really long holiday 🙂 A must watch!!

Rooney Mara Side Effects film

I haven’t quite finished… But SPOILER ALERT PEOPLE! Please stop reading if you have not seen the film 🙂

My friend and I left the cinema feeling pretty good about what we had seen, in fact my chum exclaimed it was the best film she had seen so far this year! But we couldn’t quite get our heads around what happened in the end. When Emily goes to see Catherine Zeta Jone’s character whilst wearing a wire the Police must know that she intentionally killed her husband and therefore is a murderer – this is confirmed when she goes to see Dr. Banks and says “I’m a co-operating witness”.

Rooney-Mara-side-effectsHowever the confusion lies when she said “I have done what you said” implying that this was just an agreement between herself and Dr. Banks. If that’s the case how did the Police know to be out side Jone’s practice? If Emily was a co-operating witness though there is no way she would be aloud to walk free and have the only punishment be seeing Dr. Banks on a regular basis. She still murdered in cold blood at the end of the day… If anyone can explain this to me I would be grateful, and then I can put my chums mind at ease also! (She is a fretter!)

I was very satisfied with the ending and felt Bank’s actions were just, because even though she protested to having been pretending to be depressed and therefore does not need psychiatric attention – no body with mental stability and a moral compass could do what she did. Boom!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on ““Whoever makes this drug is going to be rich!” Side Effects.

  1. MikesFilmTalk March 15, 2013 at 4:03 pm Reply

    I had to stop reading after reading the spoiler alert! I’ve been fairly ambiguous about the film so far, but, I think after reading your review it might just warrant a look-see. Great review mate!! 😀

  2. CMrok93 March 15, 2013 at 4:22 pm Reply

    Good review. It’s wack-job of a film, but that’s the fun behind it all and worth the watch.

    • myreelpov March 15, 2013 at 6:19 pm Reply

      Most definitely! One of those films you wish you could see again for the first time.

  3. filmhipster March 15, 2013 at 4:33 pm Reply

    I read the Spoiler, I cheated. Damn me.

    • myreelpov March 15, 2013 at 6:19 pm Reply

      Well you’ve only ruined it for yourself you fool!!

  4. r361n4 March 15, 2013 at 6:44 pm Reply

    Unfortunately I don’t have an answer for the spoiler question, it bothered me as well though. I loved this movie if nothing else because everything else coming out around it was so terrible, but I totally agree about Mara knocking it out of the park. I do get what you’re saying though about movies that sometimes make a cool twist or revelation then ruin by over-explaining it to an audience. A plot twist is like a joke; if you feel the need to explain it afterwards, you’re probably doing something wrong

    • myreelpov March 15, 2013 at 7:34 pm Reply

      Agreed! I understand they had to explain the affair but it felt like a lazy way of telling us about it after all the clever twists and turns with Jude Law. Ah well still an excellent watch!

  5. Hypersonic55 March 18, 2013 at 4:15 pm Reply

    Good review yo. I was gonna write up a review for this when I saw it around a week ago, but in the end time got away from me. I thought this film was pretty good and clever, it was very disturbing and twisted. For me before the ending came along after a whil the plot got a little confusing and I found it hard to tell what was really going on until the end came along to clarify things. Jude Law was fabulous and Rooney Mara was really really good, can’t believe you haven’t seen any of her previous work, she was great in the remake of The Girl With The Dragon Tatoo (even if the film doesn’t measure up to the original as well as it could have done.).

    • myreelpov March 18, 2013 at 4:21 pm Reply

      I haven’t seen either of the Girl With the Dragon Tattoo’s, I think because I read the book which was excellent so didn’t want to watch them!

      • Hypersonic55 March 19, 2013 at 2:23 am

        Ah right, I see where you’re coming from. With most book to film adaptations there’s always going to be things that change that won’t be to the reader’s liking.

        I’m the opposite, I noramlly watch them either knowing or not knowing that it’s an adaptation and rate on its own merits. Sadly I can’t do books, not because I’m dumb or anything, I’m more a moving-image kind of guy. 😛

      • myreelpov March 19, 2013 at 9:22 am

        To be honest I very rarely read, it takes a lot to keep me interested. I have stopped reading books half way through more often than reading them to the end. I am with you on the visual stimulation!!

  6. The Focused Filmographer March 20, 2013 at 7:00 am Reply

    I liked this one enough. I had a problem with its pacing however. it was interesting to see Catherine Zeta-Jones in her role, but I liked watching Jude Law’s character transform. I couldn’t quite wrap my head around the film to write a review and went to go see it again to get my thoughts in order prior to reviewing it…but then it wasn’t in my theaters anymore! so, props to you on getting your review out after 1 viewing!

    • myreelpov March 20, 2013 at 9:09 am Reply

      Thanks it did take me a while to decide whether to review it or not!

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Exploring our changing relationship with nature through photography, digital art and flash fiction.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

