“Let’s go kill ourselves a Witch!” Oz The Great and Powerful.

Birthdays come but once a year, and each one sees an annual tradition of going to the cinema. I opened a little discussion last week to help me decide what film I should choose this year and Oz The Great and Powerful was the clear winner. (Although I am most upset that Stoker is no longer playing at my local cinema!) I am glad that Oz was the choice though as it was bright, jolly and a lot of fun to watch!

Oz Poster

The Disney / Sam Raimi combination is an absolute winner, with clear influences from both through out. I really enjoyed the story as well, having not seen the original I can’t compare the two, but the characters were well developed and the plot flowed very naturally. In case you don’t know the story, it follows Oscar Diggs, a magician/con-man who gets whisked away from Kansas to the wonderful land of Oz, where aspects of his life are emulated in the new dreamlike land. Here he meets three witches and discovers his destiny – he must defeat the Wicked Witch and take his rightful place as King.

Oz James Franco

The film starts off in a smaller ratio screen in black and white and introduces the character of Oscar Diggs. He is a womanising con-man who thinks himself a magician within the travelling circus. He gets into a scrape and finds himself hiding out in a hot air balloon, when all of a sudden a tornado drags him and the balloon into the eye of the storm! I felt these scenes could have been cut a little shorter, but they do introduce Diggs’ side kick and dogs body played by Zach Braff. They also include a nod to The Wizard of Oz, when an ex girlfriend Annie (Michelle Williams) tells Diggs that she has had a marriage proposal from John Gale, coincidentally Dorothy’s last name is Gale. (I love it when films cross over!)

Oz balloon

The tornado takes Diggs to Oz, and so the film transcends into the beautifully vibrant land. The ratio widens and the colours start to appear, then all of a sudden the screen is a rainbow of vivid landscape. Diggs finds himself taken through a portion of Oz before he finds civilization, I felt this part was an excuse to use the 3D to its full effect (I saw it in 2D and it becomes very apparent when unnecessary scenes are used for the 3D version) but none the less it brought some really imaginative creations to life, such as the musical pond plants and the cutest biting river fairies!

Oz river fairy

Oscar Diggs, who will later become the Wizard of Oz, is played by James Franco. Personally I don’t think anyone else could have played the role quite so well (except maybe Johnny Depp in an obvious kind of way). Franco was quirky, funny and charming. Even when playing the con-man he is still a lovable guy. We easily see the difference in Oscar Diggs’ frame of mind through the film as he softens to the cause and becomes the ‘great’ man he always wanted to be (although I did hope he would develop his magical powers more).

Oz witches and oscar

The first of the witches we meet is Theodora played by Mila Kunis, probably my least favorite of the three. I didn’t feel that she connected to the role quite as well as the others, and although beautiful, I can’t help but hear Family Guy’s Meg in her slightly whiny voice. Her sister Evanora on the other hand was played magnificently by Rachel Weisz as always. I find her enchanting, and her costume was stunning. I hope that she will be the next Meryl Streep in a few decades! The Good Witch Glinda lives up to expectation too, Michelle Williams who also plays Annie at the beginning of the film is elegant and graceful which perfectly emanates the Good Witch that everybody knows.

Oz wicked witch

The promo’s for this film advertised the fact that Oscar has to guess ‘which Witch is which’? I thought this was a bit of a tease as actually it becomes obvious very early ‘which Witch is which’, and if you pay attention to the opening credits it pretty much gives the game away right there. Speaking of title credits, loved that Raimi put Bruce Campbell in there despite his small cameo appearance. Other Raimi traits can be seen in the camera shots and horror-esque design of the old witch (which I have to say Tom appreciated more than me!) Fantastic!

OOz finley and china girl

Just as Dorothy had Lion, Tin Man and Scarecrow, Oscar Diggs finds some chums along the way to help on his journey to kill the Wicked Witch. Zach Braff voices the good flying monkey Finley who commits himself to Diggs when he thinks he is the prophesied wizard. What I liked about Finley was the animation of his face, he wasn’t overly ‘Disney cute’ so you didn’t mind him getting such a raw deal, he also had some very funny lines and made a great double act with Diggs. The next companion though tips the adorable scales over the edge as Joey King plays the voice of China Girl (King also plays the girl in a wheel chair at the beginning, broken legs – nudge nudge!). Actually I very much liked this character and coincidentally has the titular quote of my review.

Oz landscape

The land of Oz was beautifully breathtaking as I had hoped and the story line was entertaining. Casting was excellent bar Mila Kunis potentially but over all a good show! I have to say though I was not blown away as I had anticipated I would be, but it had a completely Disney feel to it with an obvious Raimi twist which worked brilliantly. Worth a watch 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on ““Let’s go kill ourselves a Witch!” Oz The Great and Powerful.

  1. CMrok93 March 13, 2013 at 7:15 pm Reply

    Not as special as the original, but still a pleasant watch if you have the time. Good review.

  2. Hypersonic55 March 14, 2013 at 12:43 pm Reply

    Pretty spot-on review, I’m glad someone else felt the same way I did about Mila Kunis. Obviously you read my review so you know my thoughts on the film already but anyways I liked it, not amazing liked I’d hoped but it was fun.

  3. sanclementejedi March 16, 2013 at 1:51 am Reply

    My boy enjoyed himself and so it seemed did most of the audience that seemed to be filled with children. I on the other hand found this a fairly uneven watch. A few really good scenes but overall sort of uninspiring. nice review.

  4. The Focused Filmographer March 20, 2013 at 7:04 am Reply

    I thought I was the only one who noticed the dead giveaway of which witch was which in the opening credits! Thanks you for mentioning it. Yep, this one was worth a watch, but not as great and powerful as it was hyped up to be. and I felt exactly the same about Mila Kunis unfortunately.

    it reminded me too much of Alice in Wonderland and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory…and both of those are on my “not favorite” lists.

    • myreelpov March 20, 2013 at 9:11 am Reply

      I agree, I was worried that it would be too Alice in Wonderland because I didn’t rate it, what saved it from that though was Raimi’s influence I think.

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Exploring our changing relationship with nature through photography, digital art and flash fiction.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

