STILL talking about the Oscars…

A quick look at the winners from this weekends Academy Awards 2013 against what I wanted to win when I made my predictions last week.

I didn’t look at every single category in my previous post, there are just too many! I have to say, I did not stay up to watch the ceremony, unfortunately I have to earn a wage on Monday morning, (plus I find them a bit ridiculous, although I have heard rave reviews about MacFarlane’s hosting). This is the first year I have really been interested in any awards if I am honest, probably due to the hype from fellow film bloggers and the ‘just for fun’ competition with other authors over on The Digital Fix (I didn’t win, to nobodies surprise!).

I really wanted Zero Dark Thirty to take Best Picture, but the inevitable happened and Argo stole the show with that one. Two political thrillers battling it out in this category for me, but Argo does deserve the recognition. I probably enjoyed this film more than ZDT, but I felt as film making goes – ZDT should have won.

Argo Poster

Best Actor was nabbed by Daniel Day-Lewis as I suspected, having read about his method acting and how much effort he puts into his roles DDL does deserve the award. It’s also good for him that he’s broken the record by being the first to win 3 Oscars for Best Actor. BUT I still would have liked to see Hugh Jackman win this one, if only to stop Anne Hathaway stealing all the lime light for Les Mis!

lincoln-daniel-day-lewis

Jennifer Lawrence gracefully accepted the award for Best Actress, yes Silver Linings Playbook is an excellent film so I am not disappointed that she won. A little predictable though no? I feel the Jennifer Lawrence hype has been slightly blown out of proportion and aided the vote on this one. I still stand that Naomi Watts deserved this award more for her performance in Impossible.

Silverlinings1

BOOM I finally got one right! Christoph Waltz walked away with Best Actor in a Supporting Role – there was only one winner in this category for me. Waltz nailed it in Django Unchained and saved the film from being utterly ridiculous (die hard Tarantino fans please note – this is only my opinion, not a slamming of his talents.)

christopher-waltz-jamie-foxx-django-unchained

I guessed the next one too but who didn’t?! Anne Hathaway wins Best Actress in a Supporting Role. SHOCK. ‘Nuff said.

With Ben Affleck out the way in the Best Directing category I am glad to hear that Life of Pi’s Ang Lee took the win. This is what I had hoped for in my pre Oscars post. Life of Pi wasn’t what I was expecting when I went to the cinema, but once you have mulled it over the film is very well done. To make a boy stuck on a boat musing about his religious beliefs interesting to watch is a feat in itself.

Life of Pi

With Argo not being nominated for it’s direction, I thought it would be great for writer Chris Terrio to take some recognition for his brilliant story telling. Best Adapted Screenplay went to Terrio for Argo and it is well deserved.

I am not as happy though about Django Unchained taking Best Original Screenplay. I was hoping that Flight would take this category, or Moonrise Kingdom as I have heard that it is fantastic. I am not sure why I seem to have something against this film, perhaps I just didn’t think it was Oscar worthy in the first place. Although upon recently discovering that Tarantino wrote Broom Hilda as Shaft’s great great great grandma, I respect him a little more! Pretty cool.

Django-Unchained

Best Animation went to Brave, yes it was a good film which brought back all the values and morals of a good old fashioned family film. But I felt that Wreck-It Ralph deserved this award for it’s originality and creativity. Well you win some, you loose some.

pixar_brave_2012-wide

A category I didn’t mention but was pleased with the result is Anna Karenina for Best Costume Design. That film is beautiful and should have been up for more awards in my opinion.

kinopoisk.ru

Well that’s it folks, they are the categories I was really interested in and those are the results. I wouldn’t bet on me getting them all right next year either. I appreciate that it’s great for films to get recognition like this, but I can’t help thinking that really it only means something to the Hollywood big wigs. Who can decide what the BEST film is, or who is the BEST actress? Film is in the eye of the beholder and every one has differing opinions. Wouldn’t it be boring if we all loved and hated the same things…

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “STILL talking about the Oscars…

  1. Andy February 26, 2013 at 10:31 pm Reply

    Totally agree with you about Naomi Watts deserving it but totally disagree about Tarantino (I’m a huge Tarantino fan though so I’m a bit biased). Did not know the tidbit about Hilde being Shaft’s great great grandmother though, lol

    • myreelpov February 27, 2013 at 9:45 am Reply

      Yeah I thought it was weird random fact, but hey, the guy loves Shaft.

  2. The Focused Filmographer February 26, 2013 at 11:34 pm Reply

    I, too, wanted Naomi Watts to win for The Impossible, but was just fine with Jennifer Lawrence as well! Great job on your guesses. It’s always fun. I def didn’t think Brave was deserving either, however, I was hoping for Frankenweenie honestly.

    • myreelpov February 27, 2013 at 9:48 am Reply

      Ah I haven’t seen Frankenweenie, it was quite a good year for animation though it seems. Mmm yeh I am a bit Lawrence Shwrence at the moment to be honest!

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Exploring our changing relationship with nature through photography, digital art and flash fiction.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

