A Good Day to Die Hard.

Before seeing the new Die Hard I tried desperately to ignore the reviews and negative press because I refused to believe it. I wanted so much for Bruce Willis to blow me away in his new action packed sequel and was determined to enjoy it. Having been SO excited to see this film, what followed left me really quite devastated.

GoodDayDieHard_1Sht_CampB.jpg-copy

Now I have read some reviews and there are some really harsh critics. You can’t take Die Hard too seriously, I think we established this after the second one at least. People have said, ‘what did you expect after 4.0?’ Well actually I really enjoyed Die Hard 4.0, it had some great characters who were developed through the film, brilliant action scenes (erm a helicopter in a tunnel, awesome), and what I thought was a really good story line. Something that encouraged fantastic dialogue and some genuinely funny back and forth between McClane and Justin Longs character. Unfortunately what I just described is the exact opposite of A Good Day to Die Hard – and bare in mind I WANTED this to be good.

Die-Hard

First of all the story line… McClane finds out that his estranged son who calls himself Jack is in trouble with the law in Russia, so decides to follow him out there and save him. However, when McClane gets there it turns out that Jack is actually working for the CIA  and is on a secret mission. When McClane gets to Russia is when I had my first wave of panic, ‘oh no this is going to be a terrible film’! The saving grace was the funny singing taxi driver, after that it all goes down hill. When he starts to chase Jack down I started to feel pity for McClane… this is not a nice feeling, feeling sorry for your Hero. I wanted to be on McClane’s side, spurring him on. Instead I was cringing a little bit and thinking ‘oh please stop you’re making things worse’.

Musical taxi driver "Welcome to Moscow"

Musical taxi driver “Welcome to Moscow”

Jack is played by Jai Courtney who was in Jack Reacher not too long ago. I didn’t care for his character much, in fact he is the villain in Reacher and the hero in Die Hard yet seemed to be playing the same role… Well that’s by the by because he didn’t have much to work with in the way of script. This is my main gripe. The dialogue was just POOR. The whole film was full of miss-placed one liners and shoddy banter between father and son McClane. “You’re young and stupid” – “You’re old” and so and so forth. Even the epic-ness of “Yippee Ki-Yay Mother Fucker” was lost in a haze of flaming helicopter and totally missed by the expectant audience.

The crappy dialogue continued with the villains too. Not one interesting character among them, and every one you expect to be the bad guy IS the bad guy, even if you think ‘nooo that would be too obvious’, you guessed the twist. From the ridiculous magical chemical that disbands radiation in a matter of seconds, to the apparent jet car that gets them from Moscow to the Ukraine in a night… you should suspend your disbelief a little higher than usual.

FYI There is more skin here than ever seen in the film, blink and you miss it. Point?!

FYI There is more skin here than ever seen in the film, blink and you miss it. Point?!

There were some entertaining action sequences to give the film some credit. McClane steals a 4×4, by punching a Russian in the face accompanied by an 80’s ‘POW’ sound effect, after shouting at him “Do you think I understand anything your saying?!” (what a massive tool). He takes this 4×4 for some real off roading climbing over lorries and cars which was pretty cool, and the car chase that follows is full of explosions and large scale damage as per usual. Good fun! Except for when McClane gets a worried phone call from his daughter who he left at the airport in NY. Just don’t answer the god dam phone! Well he answers it and the conversation that follows during the high speed chase is the old ‘I will answer your questions truthfully but you don’t really know what’s happening here’, chortle chortle. Eurgh.

A-Good-Day-to-Die-Hard-Box-Office-Results-Day-1

The father son theme in this film is severely over done and not at all subtle. I started to type then about it’s cheesy lines and rubbish Hollywood style relationship but it just makes me annoyed so I will move on.

A main staple of the Die Hard movies are the ‘side kicks’ – Sgt. Powell in Die Hard, Marvin the Janitor in Die Hard 2, Zeus Carver for Die Hard: With a Vengeance and Matt Farrell in 4.0. A Good Day to Die Hard though sees Bruce becoming the side kick, getting in the way, slowing the hero down but eventually helping him beat the bad guys in the end. Looks like Jack is going to be taking the mantle – as if  the big hint wasn’t enough at the end of this last instalment when he calls himself John McClane. To which McClane exclaims “Junior!”, Jack; “Well that makes you Senior” – ha look another old joke, yawn.

The side kicks of John McClane.

The side kicks of John McClane.

To sum up then, if this were just another Bruce Willis action film I probably still would have been disappointed due to the awful script and poor story line. But maybe wouldn’t have walked out the cinema feeling angry and as if I had been personally betrayed by a close friend. It sounds severe but I love John McClane and would quite happily have had his babies until this piece of crap came out at the cinema.

RANT OVER! I promise to have a much more coherent review next time!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “A Good Day to Die Hard.

  1. CMrok93 February 19, 2013 at 9:11 pm Reply

    It very almost comes across as insultingly awful, but there’s worse out there, I am certain of that much. However, being a part of the Die Hard franchise: it is a huge and total disappointment. Good review.

    • myreelpov February 19, 2013 at 9:15 pm Reply

      There are worse out there for sure, but this doesn’t deserve the Die Hard name you’re right!

  2. r361n4 February 19, 2013 at 10:17 pm Reply

    Great review! You brought up a lot of the same issues I brought up, Especially the companion bit. I’m in the same boat as you as far as wanting really badly to have enjoyed the movie, but somethings just can’t be sugarcoated enough to pretend they’re not incredibly disappointing

    • myreelpov February 20, 2013 at 9:59 am Reply

      Unfortunately yes – I am usually pretty positive about rubbish film but because I am emotionally invested in John McClane I was utterly disappointed!

  3. Mr Rumsey February 19, 2013 at 10:35 pm Reply

    It seems nobody has anything good to say about this 😦 I’ll let you know my thoughts when it’s available for rental!

    • myreelpov February 20, 2013 at 9:59 am Reply

      Please do! I really wanted it to be good, but alas, it wasn’t!!

  4. Hypersonic55 February 20, 2013 at 5:28 pm Reply

    Haha awesome your rant about this film was entertaining! I thought this film was ridiculous and doesn’t even hold a candle to the first 3 Die Hard films. The dialogue was so bad and John McClane must repeat several of lines over the course of the film to the point of annoyance. I didn’t care for the story, after a while both me and my sister stopped caring and the characters were so forgettable it was unreal. The action sequences were awesome though.

    And believe it or not I sawt his film TWO TIMES! (2nd viewing was a family occasion) The second time round the film is even funnier than before just because of how ridiculous it is and that ending… Wow, nuff said. Also I didn’t see John McClane in this film, I just saw Bruce Willis being Bruce Willis.

    • myreelpov February 20, 2013 at 7:17 pm Reply

      Yeah I agree with you there, he came across as an ignorant twat if I am honest, and not funny ignorant as is the John McClane way usually. Ah well, I am going to pretend it didn’t happen and maybe watch the original again to make myself feel better haha. As if you paid money to see this twice 😉 haha!

      • Hypersonic55 February 21, 2013 at 3:42 pm

        Haha I hear ya. And pay for a ticket? Ha! I haven’t paid for a film ticket in ages, like you I have a cineworld unlimited card so I go to the cinema a lot to pass time in day. The only reason I saw it twice was because my dad hadn’t seen it yet and I wanted to show him how ridiculous the film was! 😀

      • myreelpov February 21, 2013 at 3:49 pm

        Haha making someone sit though it, that is evil 😛
        Ah yes the cineworld card is a blessing. Still not been on my own yet – might have to on Monday for the new preview!

      • Hypersonic55 February 21, 2013 at 4:13 pm

        Which you prefer to sit through again, this or Movie 43! 😀 😀
        I hear that, that’s the reason I never left the cinema throughout the summer of 2011 and 2012 XD
        And what preview is goin down on Monday?

      • myreelpov February 21, 2013 at 5:08 pm

        Haha well I’d rather watch Bruce over that unmentionable film any day of the week. Erm its the new Richard Gere film Arbitrage.

  5. Tim The Film Guy February 21, 2013 at 3:35 pm Reply

    “Before seeing the new Die Hard I tried desperately to ignore the reviews and negative press because I refused to believe it” Same here, just made it more devastating 😦

  6. The Focused Filmographer February 26, 2013 at 11:41 pm Reply

    ha. i understand what you mean. all that aside, I still had fun watching it. disassociating it from the DH franchise.

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

UK based photographer and digital artist. My work is an exploration of our ever-changing relationship with nature. I'm happily asexual and a friend to all cats

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

