Talking about the Oscars…

Best Picture at The Oscars this year has shaped up to be a pretty impressive ensemble. I have never
purposefully watched nominated films but this year I have inadvertently seen 7 out of the 9 nominees. Trying to predict the winners though is tricky, do I go with what my heart tells me should win and risk losing the game, or do I pick the film I believe will actually win? If this year’s BAFTA is anything to go by of course Argo would take Best Picture, however I think Zero Dark Thirty takes the lead for me. The direction from Katheryn Bigelow together with writer Mark Boal succeeded in making a current, controversial, exciting piece of film that more than deserves this recognition. You can read my review of ZDT here.

zero-dark-thirty-wallpapers-e

Best Actor could see Daniel Day-Lewis swoop in and smugly take the Oscar. But I am hoping for a win from Hugh Jackman in this category. The role of Jean Val Jean in Les Misérables was completely out of the ordinary and not just for his excellent vocal performance. Jackman put his heart and soul into this role which was mentally and physically gruelling, for me he completely stole the show. Anne Hathaway has had a lot of praise for the sacrificing of her hair and brilliantly raw performance, but Jackman was the real driving force behind Les Misérables in my opinion. Fingers crossed he gets the win!

Hugh Jackman in Les Misérables.

Hugh Jackman in Les Misérables.

Being diplomatic with these choices is probably not the way forward. But I would like to see Best Actress go to Naomi Watts for Impossible. Although Jessica Chastain would be equally deserving for her fantastic performance in ZDT. Watts has really stayed with me since watching Impossible in the cinema, she brilliantly portrays the sheer strength of a mother who desperately tries to stay in control for her family. Despite constantly fighting against her physical and emotional struggle after such an epic disaster. This being the only nomination for Impossible, I hope that it gets recognition at the Oscars this way. I reviewed Impossible here.

Naomi Watts in Impossible.

Naomi Watts in Impossible.

The award for Best Actor in a Supporting Role should hands down to go to Christoph Waltz. Django Unchained had its downfalls but none of them were down to Waltz (read my review of Django). He played a fantastic role that for me didn’t feel like ‘support’ and more like the lead. His charisma and screen presence carried the rest of the film and I truly believe without Waltz I would not have enjoyed Django Unchained. Although I would like to see Silver Linings Playbook win a category and in this case it would be Robert DeNiro for his fantastic performance, but Waltz just sits high above every one else for Best Supporting Actor this year!

Christoph Waltz in Django Unchained.

Christoph Waltz in Django Unchained.

Although Anne Hathaway has had a lot of the lime light already for Les Misérables, Best Supporting Actress can only have one winner. It must be Hathaway for her impressively inelegant portrayal of a suffering prostitute. Not because she cut her hair off, although it made for a realistically heart breaking scene, but for how she gave it quite literally every thing and shocked many with her raw talent and intense performance.

Anne Hathaway in Les Misérables.

Anne Hathaway in Les Misérables.

Best Animation is a breath of fresh air for the Oscars in my view, all the categories contain the same films more or less – so this one can mix it up a little. The Pirates! is a draw dropping piece of stop-animation that had a brilliant story and great voice talents in Hugh Grant and Imelda Staunton. Just as Brave brought back the old family values that have been some what lacking from recent pictures. However I can’t deny that I enjoyed Wreck-It Ralph immensely and was blown away by the visuals in this film. It’s original characters and story line make for fantastic family fun as well as its humour and nostalgia for the 80’s and 90’s babies. I think it will win Best Animation for its originality and creative story. My review of Wreck-It Ralph.

Wreck-it_Ralph

I am surprised that Argo was not nominated for Best Directing by Ben Affleck, but it has made room for some more films to break into this sought after category. Silver Linings Playbook, although an excellent story with fantastic characters perhaps isn’t worthy of directional acknowledgement. Not as much as Life of Pi which managed to tell a very simple tale with a complex underlying story. The transitions between real life and dream sequence were flawless and the story flowed very naturally despite its bizzare nature. When first seeing Life of Pi I was a little disappointed due it not being the visual spectacular that the trailers had suggested. But upon reflection I can understand the difficult task that Ang Lee took on with the project and how well it translated to film. A full review of Life of Pi here.

PiTiger

Best Writing: Adapted Screenplay in my view should go to Chris Terrio for Argo. The true events were portrayed with class and dignity for those involved. It could so easily have been Hollywood-ised and lost it’s credibility, this was down to the writing even more so than the directing I believe. Argo was still gripping without being in your face drama, and this deserves a pat on the back for not falling into the Hollywood trap. An intricate story written simply and eloquently by Terrio. I reviewed Argo here.

Argo Poster

The fact that Django Unchained won the BAFTA for Best Writing: Original Screenplay is a little baffling for me, wasn’t it a remake? I’m sure the Oscar’s have clearly defined remits for what is nominated but I hope it doesn’t take the win here. I wish I had seen Moonrise Kingdom as I have heard brilliant things about it, so it is a potential winner for this category. However I would like to see John Gatis take a bow with Flight as it is a brilliantly told familiar story with original twists. Plenty of people can tell a tale of recovering drug and alcohol abusers, but few can do it and make the audience question their own moral stand point on the issue. Fantastically written and I am glad to see it in this category. You can read my review of Flight here.

flight-movie-poster

So that’s my thoughts on most of the categories for the Oscars this year. Probably didn’t call it correctly but these are what I feel should get the honour of taking home an Oscar. Guess we will find out next week! Any thoughts people?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

21 thoughts on “Talking about the Oscars…

  1. Tim The Film Guy February 17, 2013 at 5:32 pm Reply

    Give Christoph Waltz everything!

    • myreelpov February 17, 2013 at 6:22 pm Reply

      Haha what even Best Soundtrack?

  2. lukebbtt February 17, 2013 at 6:16 pm Reply

    Yep, Hugh Jackman should definitely walk away with Best Actor.

    • myreelpov February 17, 2013 at 6:22 pm Reply

      I have a feeling Daniel Day-Lewis will take it though don’t you? Boo!

      • lukebbtt February 17, 2013 at 6:40 pm

        The best thing about the Oscars is disagreeing and throwing things at the TV though haha

  3. r361n4 February 17, 2013 at 6:45 pm Reply

    Great picks, I especially support Naomi Watts for best actress. The only one I’d disagree with is Original screenplay because I absolutely loved Django Unchained (Which was definitely not a remake, it just paid homage to an older film that ended up having very little to do with it) and when it comes to sheer originality Tarantino takes the cake. I really liked Flight, but I guess for me it was a bit too much of a familiar story that was driven by its performances more than its writing.

    • myreelpov February 17, 2013 at 9:14 pm Reply

      Yes I have my fingers crossed for Watts. I see your point on Django but still not completely original – I guess nothing is any more! I agree with you regarding Flight’s performances 🙂

  4. GaryLee828 February 18, 2013 at 11:26 pm Reply

    Best picture: Argo
    Best Actor: DDL
    Best supporting actor: Waltz
    Best actress: Jennifer Lawrence
    Best supporting actress: Hathaway

    Those are my pics – at least for the moment.

    I will have to check back here Monday and see how much $ you owe me! $1 per correct pick 🙂

    • myreelpov February 19, 2013 at 9:01 am Reply

      I think you are more than likely correct on these choices but is that what you expect or what you think should win?!

      • GaryLee828 February 19, 2013 at 9:12 am

        Who I think will win. I don’t really have much of a preference who wins. I like Jessica Chastain a lot, and am not a big Jennifer Lawrence fan, but Jennifer Lawrence deserves it more than Chastain in this case. Denzel is my favorite actor, but I think DDL deserves it more in these roles, but of course I’d be happy if Denzel won, but I’d feel like DDL was ripped off. Christoph Waltz deserves the supporting actor, but TLJ and De Niro were great, also, and though I have yet to see Argo or The Master I’m sure Arkin and PSH are deserving, as well.

      • myreelpov February 19, 2013 at 11:54 am

        Hmm I kind of hope Daniel Day Lewis doesn’t get the award as he has enough already haha. I know it doesn’t work like that but one can hope 🙂

      • GaryLee828 February 19, 2013 at 8:13 pm

        I usually think like that, as well; but it’s different with DDL. Notice he only makes a movie every 2-3 years b/c when he makes a movie he becomes his character and puts everything into it. It’s all about quality over quantity. Where as most actors take 2-3 roles every year, and it’s not that that’s bad, but since they’re taking on more roles it’s harder for them to put as much into each role the way DDL does. Therefore I have no problem seeing DDL get so many Oscars b/c he’s actually earned each and every one of them. The only way I would have a problem with seeing him win an Oscar was if he beat someone who out-performed him. But I have not seen that happen. So until then, keep stacking those trophies, and everyone else step up your game and take it to the next level as DDL does. The Michael Jordan of Cinema. 🙂

      • myreelpov February 19, 2013 at 8:33 pm

        Haha you’re obviously a fan!! I don’t doubt he will win 🙂

      • GaryLee828 February 19, 2013 at 8:58 pm

        Well, I’m a bigger fan of Denzel Washington who is my favorite actor – but when comparing his performance in “Flight” which was great and Oscar-worthy it simply doesn’t measure up against DDL in “Lincoln”. The only actor I think that could measure up with DDL would be Christoph Waltz. Hopefully Denzel can land it next time; and by the way, from a Denzel fan, he did NOT deserve to win in 02 against Sean Penn for “I Am Sam”. I can’t believe Penn got robbed! And then Denzel didn’t even get nominated for “Man on Fire” in which I thought was a much stronger performance than “Training Day” where all he did was spew out a lot of empty cuss words and smoke-out.

      • myreelpov February 19, 2013 at 9:14 pm

        Hmm well I couldn’t comment on Denzel although he is excellent in Flight. I just think Jackman deserves it for such a different performance – not only was is it brilliant but it was out of the ordinary. DDL, yawn! But every one sees films differently which is why it’s fun to talk about 🙂

      • GaryLee828 February 19, 2013 at 9:23 pm

        I haven’t seen Jackman’s performance, but I know how talented he is. I don’t like DDL b/c his movies are necessarily exciting, but just b/c he is able to become his characters, and make himself so vulnerable in front of the camera, etc.

    • GaryLee828 February 25, 2013 at 5:45 am Reply

      Looks like someone went 5-5. You owe me $5! 🙂

      • myreelpov February 25, 2013 at 9:28 am

        Haha well done – those categories were predictable, how boring!!

  5. sanclementejedi February 23, 2013 at 3:13 am Reply

    Other than Waltz I don’t think I agreed with a single one of your selections 😉

    • myreelpov February 23, 2013 at 5:47 pm Reply

      Haha film is subjective – some categories have obvious winners but that’s boring, these are just my opinions based on what I have seen 🙂

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

UK based photographer and digital artist. My work is an exploration of our ever-changing relationship with nature. I'm happily asexual and a friend to all cats

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

