Did ANYBODY enjoy Movie 43?!

Movie-43-Poster

I don’t usually post film news but I had to make an exception for this. I knew that the blogging community had not enjoyed Movie 43, but it looks as though it has been a world wide disaster. It has been slated from all angles and I can understand why! I didn’t have much to say it over on my review, but Movie 43 is getting so much abuse Peter Farrelly has had to defend himself on Twitter.

The Daily Mail had this to say…

“Hollywood filmmaker Peter Farrelly, the mind behind ‘Movie 43’ starring Hugh Jackman, Emma Stone, Halle Berry and other big-name celebrities, is under attack from critics bashing his latest film as the ‘Citizen Kane of awful.’”

“Harsh reviews are pouring in from professional film connoisseurs and regular crowds alike despite promotional claims that the movie features the biggest roster of stars ‘ever assembled’ in one film.”

“Instead, the $6 million production opened in seventh place this weekend bringing in a relatively dismal $5 million in the U.S. and marking one of the worst wide-release openings for many of the actors featured.”

“Critic Peter Howell of the Toronto Star called it the ‘worst film ever’ saying it was the ‘biggest waste of talent in cinema history.’”

“Critic Richard Roeper of the Chicago Sun Times said he did not ‘see a redeeming molecule’ throughout the film.”

“‘How many directors does it take to screw in a star-studded piece of aggressive stupidity and call it a movie? An even dozen, and there is no punch line,’ wrote Sheri Linden of The Los Angeles Times.”
20090622_farrely_250x375
This is what Peter Farrelly had to say to defend himself on Twitter…

To the critics: Movie 43 is not the end of the world. It’s just a $6-million movie where we tried to do something different. Now back off.’

To the critics: You always complain that Hollywood never gives you new stuff, and then when you get it, you flip out. Lighten up.’

Richard Brody from The New Yorker had the best quote in my eyes, saying that ‘It’s as if ‘Movie 43’ was itself a feature-length f***-you to Hollywood, a movie made simply to show how bad a movie a studio could be induced to make and actors could be persuaded to act in,’

My sentiment exactly!!
While I almost feel Peter Farrelly’s pain, I just have to think back to that god awful film and remember that these comments are pretty spot on. Fortunately though for audiences, it has been a major flop at the box office so I don’t think any one will be having the same idea again any time soon.
I thought all you lovely bloggers would appreciate this little nugget as I did 🙂
You can read the whole article here on The Daily Mail website.
Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Did ANYBODY enjoy Movie 43?!

  1. CMrok93 January 30, 2013 at 3:16 pm Reply

    If anybody did: give me their names, numbers, and addresses, so I can literally slap them in the face and show them 5 comedy classics to show them what humor is all about.

    • myreelpov January 30, 2013 at 5:37 pm Reply

      You hold him, I’ll punch…

  2. Sir Phobos January 31, 2013 at 3:48 am Reply

    I really, really hate that defense, no matter who’s using it. No, it’s not that people complain about not getting new stuff and *then* complain again when we get it. We’re complaining because what Farrelly produced sucks and isn’t funny. Just like his last 3 or so movies. His good ideas seemed to have dried up around the very early ’00s. That’s not our problem. Ugh.

    *shakes fist*

    • myreelpov January 31, 2013 at 12:09 pm Reply

      Hear hear!! (Or here, not sure?!)

  3. Beer Movie January 31, 2013 at 11:56 am Reply

    I have seen nothing but the harshest, most vitriolic reviews directed at this movie… and it kinda shits me because I know I’m going to go and see this when it opens here next week because I have to see what all the hype is about. If only there were some middling reviews, but if people are going to start calling something the Citizen Kane of garbage films, I have to check that out.

    Don’t know why I do it to myself.

    • myreelpov January 31, 2013 at 12:10 pm Reply

      Yes I must admit I wanted to see this to see what all the fuss was about, surely it’s not the worst movie EVER. But please don’t spend money on it, get a 2 for 1 ticket or something?! Sneak in to the screen, because you will feel robbed other wise haha.

  4. Hypersonic55 January 31, 2013 at 1:13 pm Reply

    I can understand what that Peter guy is going on about when he says about wanting to give film audiences something different because a lot of films are the same. That being said Movie 43, besides having a ridiculously massive cast had nothing new to offer. All those jokes are the same, the profanity, the sex and genital stuff, the nudity, the shit and pee stuff, it’s all been done before. None of that is new, and none of it is funny! That film was just poorly executed, end of!

    • myreelpov January 31, 2013 at 1:15 pm Reply

      BOOM! Well said my friend.

    • Sir Phobos January 31, 2013 at 8:53 pm Reply

      Yea, that’s why I call bullshit on his “giving something new” excuse. He’s just flailing around, throwing stuff at a wall to see what sticks.

  5. Tim The Film Guy January 31, 2013 at 9:24 pm Reply

    Haven’t seen it but I will check it out on DVD just to see whats so bad haha 😀

    • myreelpov January 31, 2013 at 9:28 pm Reply

      Yeah I guess people will see it just to see what the fuss is about lol. Please don’t spend money on it though!!

  6. Grant February 1, 2013 at 10:44 am Reply

    So, Peter Farelly, the actual quality of the “new stuff” doesn’t actually matter? We should be reveling in it simply because it’s new?

    My cooking you a pomegranate and dog-feces risotto would be new but I very much doubt you’d eat it.

    • myreelpov February 1, 2013 at 12:10 pm Reply

      HA! Funny stuff, well said.

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Exploring our changing relationship with nature through photography, digital art and flash fiction.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

