“What the f*ck is Movie 43?”

Reviews for Movie 43 haven’t got many positive things to say. I thought with such a stellar cast it can’t be THAT bad can it? So I persuaded my cinema buddy to pay the £8.70 for a ticket and come to see it with me. BIG MISTAKE! I wish we could take back the money spent just so that we can’t be accused of supporting this ridiculous, awful movie.

Movie-43-Poster

The writers of this film should be ashamed of themselves, and who ever fronted the money doesn’t deserve the power to do so. This film was so bad, I was lost for words when it ended. The tag line “Once you’ve seen it, you can’t un-see it” is pretty spot on. But not in the way they intended I hope. Unless the point of this film was to humiliate loads of incredibly famous actors and actresses and put the audience through a diabolical hour and a half, in which case they did a fine job.

The first thing that struck me about this film was the story line. It was so incredibly lazy! Three prepubescents try to find the most banned video on the internet, and the skits are the films they come across on the way. Well the clips that follow aren’t anything like videos you would find on sites such as youtube, so that made no sense to start with!! Don’t get me started on the consequences of said video when they actually do find it, because it just summed up the whole experience – what an utter pile of crap.

Not quite Jean Valjean now?

Not quite Jean Valjean now?

“The most outrageously funny comedy” – outrageous maybe, but funny? No! The only times I laughed during this film was because I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. Why Hugh Jackman would agree to having balls on his chin is beyond me, and Kate Winslet, oh Kate, when you read the script did you not think ‘This is going to be a terrible movie?!’ Chin balls are only funny on a Ballchinion in MIB and even then it was questionable.

Movie 43 Halle Berry

Halle Berry should have avoided this film like the plague as soon as she read that she would have to make guacamole with her breast. I first thought that pairing Halle Berry and Steven Merchant on a first date was a funny combo, they get up to some funny gags playing truth or dare, but then – as is a reoccurring theme in this film – they just took it too far and it was no longer funny. Another good pairing was Naomi Watts and Liev Schreiber, or so I thought. The idea of home schooling their child but giving him the full experience was a funny idea. Up until the awkward first kiss, ew gross. Not even a bit funny.

Movie 43

The only people I can give credit to in this film are Anna Faris, Seann William Scott and Johnny Knoxville because they are no better than this film. I don’t mean that in a negative way either. Jackass is crude and stupid but that works for Knoxville and it worked in Movie 43. Anna Faris is the queen of spoof comedy so her role fit right in, and Seann William Scott… well its Seann William Scott, he is Stifler incarnate. In fact Scott and Knoxville make a good comedy duo. Their skit could have been funny if it had not escalated into the ridiculous. But Gerard Butler, I am losing all respect for this guy the more films he is in. He plays two vulgar leprechauns, with that god awful Irish accent that should have been buried with him in PS. I Love You.

Richard Gere Movie 43

I wont go into much more detail on the individual skits, but I will say that the iBabe was just a stupid and lazy story that seemed as though it was made up by a 13 year old boy. Richard Gere apparently avoided shooting this for a year until he tried demanding what he thought was unreasonable conditions for filming, but were unfortunately met by the production company.

Movie 43 took 4 years to make, and it is not surprising as most of the actors did not want to be involved. Apparently bullied and guilt tripped into doing this film, it is understandable why the majority of big names did not want to be associated with its promotion, and wish they had never took part in this god awful piece of cinema which will now forever be on their list of ‘accomplishments’.

To sum up, if you enjoy films such as Superhero Movie, Disaster Movie, Scary Movie, Date Movie etc etc, then this film is for you. Movie 43 is a spoof comedy that should not make any money, therefore discouraging such awful film making from taking place ever again. Do not spend money on this film, I BEG YOU!

No Justin, put the script DOWN!

No Justin, put the script DOWN!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

22 thoughts on ““What the f*ck is Movie 43?”

  1. r361n4 January 27, 2013 at 8:04 pm Reply

    Lol, I laughed far more during this review than during the actual movie, good write-up 🙂 I think this movie made me physically depressed after seeing it…

    • myreelpov January 27, 2013 at 9:14 pm Reply

      Haha thanks. Yes me too, i went home and watched Pineapple Express to make me feel better!

    • Sebastian July 30, 2014 at 5:45 am Reply

      Wow, what a boring conservative you are! I absolutely loved this film, saw it twice! And paid full price for each ticket!

      As Peter Farelly said, to paraphrase “we try and do something original/creative and edgy, yet they deride us anyhow, the same as if we played it safe… and studio PC friendly.

      There’s no pleasing you wowsers! Ever heard of pushing the boundaries, and being provocative!

      • myreelpov July 30, 2014 at 8:00 am

        Well film is subjective and people enjoy different things, you must have a different sense of humor than me and a lot of readers. But hey that is what makes it interesting! I am glad you enjoyed it and I am sure you aren’t the only one in the world…
        This is nothing but opinion and I don’t claim any different, but REEEALLY?! There are pushing boundaries and being edgy, and then there is getting a 10 year old boy to write your story line and subjecting audiences to the dullest, dumbest jokes I thought possible in cinema.
        Thanks for reading and posting your comment 3 times, I shall do the same 🙂

  2. […] MyReelPOV: “ridiculous, awful… Incredibly lazy” […]

  3. Hypersonic55 January 28, 2013 at 5:01 pm Reply

    Pretty spot review here. I saw the bad reviews for this film springing up everywhere by Saturday afternoon but I had hoped for something at least watchable. But this film was just disgraceful, it was very poorly written and it hurt me too to know that Hugh Jackman would be in a film like this. Like 97% of the people in the cinema were laughing their heads off while I sat there in silence. I’m glad that you’re warning people to stay away from this film, the world needs to know!

    If you’d like to see partially rant about it in video form have a look at this review: http://youtu.be/9tRmTqPiOdA

    • myreelpov January 28, 2013 at 5:51 pm Reply

      Haha will do 🙂 Yeah there were a few people laughing in the cinema but at least 7 people left half way through!!

  4. Sir Phobos January 29, 2013 at 8:59 am Reply

    I think the Hugh Jackman ball chin thing is probably the worst of what you described. I might be lying even if I said I’d rent this at Redbox or Netflix or something.

    • myreelpov January 29, 2013 at 9:50 am Reply

      I wouldn’t bother, that’s not even the worst of the film!

  5. Prime January 29, 2013 at 10:18 am Reply

    Michael Bay will love this. If he can stick a pair of balls on a giant robot then he’d laugh his ass off at Hugh Jackman having them on his neck.

    Fans of Jackass humour only, then? Thanks for the warning: I shall avoid like the plague.

    • myreelpov January 29, 2013 at 10:36 am Reply

      Haha that’s a good point! That was funny though because it was just a random bit of childish humor, not a whole films worth of cock and ball jokes. Yes please do avoid this film!

  6. Jethro Jettherson January 29, 2013 at 3:31 pm Reply

    What the fuck is a stella cast?

    • myreelpov January 29, 2013 at 3:41 pm Reply

      Well you’re rude. But to answer your question, stella means popular, and originates from the Latin for star.
      Thanks for commenting…

    • myreelpov January 29, 2013 at 4:14 pm Reply

      And if we are being pedantic apologies for missing off the R.

  7. […] was a huge surprise for me, I don’t enjoy Jackass very much and didn’t rate him in Movie 43 but he was fantastic in The Last Stand! I guess he plays the village idiot to give him a title, but […]

  8. The Focused Filmographer January 30, 2013 at 12:25 am Reply

    I actually walked out of this movie. and so did many others in the theater. I had enough of it from what I saw. I think the only time I really laughed was during the ATM short with the kids. I really hope they stop making films like these. vulgarity does not equal comedy all the time.

    good write up. truly

    • myreelpov January 30, 2013 at 9:33 am Reply

      Well I guess some people did enjoy it so they can’t just stop making the films, by that logic I would say stop making horror films because I don’t like them lol. But I hear you, what an awful film. I wanted to leave but felt I should stick it out if only because my friend had paid so much to see it! (She hated it too I might add).

      • Sebastian July 30, 2014 at 5:45 am

        Wow, what a boring conservative you are! I absolutely loved this film, saw it twice! And paid full price for each ticket!

        As Peter Farelly said, to paraphrase “we try and do something original/creative and edgy, yet they deride us anyhow, the same as if we played it safe… and studio PC friendly.

        There’s no pleasing you wowsers! Ever heard of pushing the boundaries, and being provocative!

      • myreelpov July 30, 2014 at 8:00 am

        Well film is subjective and people enjoy different things, you must have a different sense of humor than me and a lot of readers. But hey that is what makes it interesting! I am glad you enjoyed it and I am sure you aren’t the only one in the world…
        This is nothing but opinion and I don’t claim any different, but REEEALLY?! There are pushing boundaries and being edgy, and then there is getting a 10 year old boy to write your story line and subjecting audiences to the dullest, dumbest jokes I thought possible in cinema.
        Thanks for reading and posting your comment 3 times, I shall do the same 🙂

  9. Did ANYBODY enjoy Movie 43?! « MyReelPOV January 30, 2013 at 1:25 pm Reply

    […] been slated from all angles and I can understand why! I didn’t have much to say it over on my review, but Movie 43 is getting so much abuse Peter Farrelly has had to defend himself on […]

  10. Sebastian July 30, 2014 at 5:43 am Reply

    Wow, what a bunch of boring conservatives! I absolutely loved this film, saw it twice! And paid full price for each ticket!

    As Peter Farelly said, to paraphrase “we try and do something original/creative and edgy, yet they deride us anyhow, the same as if we played it safe… and studio PC friendly.

    There’s no pleasing you wowsers! Ever heard of pushing the boundaries, and being provocative!

    • myreelpov July 30, 2014 at 8:00 am Reply

      Well film is subjective and people enjoy different things, you must have a different sense of humor than me and a lot of readers. But hey that is what makes it interesting! I am glad you enjoyed it and I am sure you aren’t the only one in the world…
      This is nothing but opinion and I don’t claim any different, but REEEALLY?! There are pushing boundaries and being edgy, and then there is getting a 10 year old boy to write your story line and subjecting audiences to the dullest, dumbest jokes I thought possible in cinema.
      Thanks for reading and posting your comment 3 times, I shall do the same 🙂

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Exploring our changing relationship with nature through photography, digital art and flash fiction.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

