“I like the way you die, boy” Django Unchained.

Django-Unchained

Some one asked me this morning ‘what was Django like then?’ All I could muster was ‘it was alright’. Very insightful! Not being a fan of blood and guts on screen, I am not a big lover of Tarantino’s work. Don’t get me wrong, Pulp Fiction is fantastic and I love Death Proof, but I am not a die hard fan like some. However I had read some absolutely raving reviews for Django Unchained since the end of 2012 when it came out in the states, so decided early that it would be one to watch for sure.

A quick synopsis of the story looks like this, Django (Jamie Foxx) is freed from some slave traders by Dr. King Schultz (Christoph Waltz) to help him find and kill some criminals with a bounty on their head. Django does a great job so Schultz suggests that they team up and collect bounties together. Schultz learns of Django’s wife who is imprisoned as a slave in Mississippi and they hatch a plan to rescue her. Literally this is the plot, no twists or turns, no big reveal – yet it takes 2 hours and 45 minutes to tell.

christopher-waltz-jamie-foxx-django-unchained

I was worried about the prospect of too much blood and gore in this movie having read that it isn’t ‘for the fainthearted’. I understand where this stems from, but for someone who is VERY squeamish, I actually found most of these aspects laughable. People get shot and blood seems to explode out of them, at some points they make very strange sound effects as if Rolf Harris is shaking a piece of cardboard behind them, and some are blasted away – flying a few meters backwards from a single pistol shot. All good fun to watch mind you, and the way no body died quietly was great. Men writhed around on the floor screaming which I found much more entertaining and surprisingly realistic (until the shoot out at the end, which was ridiculous). There were a few disturbing violent scenes, such as a man being torn apart by dogs, and general slave whippery – all of which I had to watch through my fingers. These did add to the sinister and evil portrayal of slavery at this time, but I don’t think all of the violence in this film is necessary for historical context as I have read in places. I guess it is just Tarantino’s ‘style’.

Django-Unchained-set

I will give credit to the writing of the film. The dialogue was witty and made me laugh on several occasions. In particular the scene with the lynch mob. The eye holes on their hoods were uneven and no body could see – this leads to them arguing among themselves about who cuts the masks and whether or not to wear them at all. It is very funny, and a random appearance from Jonah Hill made me laugh. Also any exchanges involving Schultz were cleverly written and brilliantly delivered by Christoph Waltz.

christoph-waltz-jamie-foxx-django-unchained

In fact Waltz’ character really was the shining light in Django Unchained. Without him I don’t know if I would have made it through the whole thing. I grew to love Dr. King Schultz for his honesty and compassion. But also his violent and detached side. He has some fantastic lines to listen out for, his general manner and delivery was fascinating and engaging. Scene’s without Waltz were lacking his presence and the film would not be half as good without him.

django-unchained-leonardo-dicaprio

Another fantastic character was Calvin Candie, Leonardo DiCaprio was perfect for this role. He played the owner of a large plantation who dabbled in ‘Dingo fights’ where slaves fight to the death. This is when the film got interesting, and Candie’s role really added to the story. DiCaprio plays an evil, sadistic authority figure exceptionally well and he doesn’t disappoint in Django.

django_unchained_samuel_l_jackson

Samuel L Jackson, an old pal of Tarantino’s, played a sneaky old man who thinks he is above his position in the Candie house. Total traitor to the human race in my eyes and always out for himself. I disliked the character immensely and I guess this shows Jackson did a great job with the role.

django-unchained-jamie-foxx

Jamie Foxx, well I nearly forgot to talk about him even though he is the lead, woops! Foxx plays the slave turned free man Django – slightly dim-witted but incredibly fast on the draw and has his brilliant moments. His beautiful blue outfit for instance when he gets to chose his own clothes but gets the fashion all wrong. The highlight for me were the blue bows on his boots. To be honest, I am not sure Foxx was the right choice for this role. Yes he does look hard faced, but I feel his character could have been so much more. I couldn’t see much personality, and I didn’t believe in the love for his wife which is the whole reason for the story…

DU-AC-000119.JPG

I did enjoy the music in this film. I liked the rap music which some have slated, although it obviously didn’t match the time period which is something I think is quite important if you are going to be truly immersed in a story. I really liked the ‘Django’ music though and it has been in my head since I came out of the cinema.

Despite some fantastic performances, I felt this film was lacking something. A certain seriousness that Tarantino usually has in his films was not there, the sinister aspects bordered on comedy, and the cinematic scenes are few and far between, plus an over use of the spaghetti western ‘zoom to the face’ shot (that’s its technical term I am sure). Tom made a good point, he said it was almost like Tarantino was parradying himself, or he had made a film just because he wanted to make a film. This was confirmed for me when the man himself appears as a shoddy accented Australian who can’t act for buttons. Thank goodness for the dynamite.

tarantino-django

Over all then, if Django Unchained was just 2 hours long, I think this film would have been a winner for me. If only for Christoph Waltz and Leonardo DiCaprio! Unfortunately though it dragged, and Foxx didn’t have me wholly convinced. It is worth a watch, as there are some brilliant parts. But take a lot of snacks and maybe a cushion for your butt if watching this in a cinema.

This guy is not having a good day.

This guy is not having a good day.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on ““I like the way you die, boy” Django Unchained.

  1. CMrok93 January 23, 2013 at 1:20 pm Reply

    One of the best of the year, and one of the main reasons why Tarantino is one of the most original minds in film-making today. Good review.

    • myreelpov January 23, 2013 at 1:28 pm Reply

      Thanks! Yes Tarantino certainly has a personal cinematic flair!

  2. Hypersonic55 January 24, 2013 at 3:42 pm Reply

    howdy there, nice review yo. Most of your points were spot on. The film was definitely on the long side but by the conclusion I was satisfied with what I saw, I also understand completely about the film missing something though. There were individual elements throughtout the film that I felt were just not overly amazing, but when I put them altogether I can see why people likedt he film. I personally think at the moment that I still love Inglorius Basterds over this, that film was just perfection for me.

  3. culturedleftpeg January 25, 2013 at 11:17 am Reply

    Good review. It’s a shame that the film didn’t float your boat too much. I absolutely loved it, but each to their own.

    I’d agree totally with your points on the slavery issues and the guy that gets ripped apart by dogs. One of the most impactful scenes of the film is where Dr King Schultz is getting flashbacks to the hungry hounds. Not cool, yet brilliantly done.

    • myreelpov January 25, 2013 at 12:21 pm Reply

      Yep that’s why we talk about films because they are so subjective to individuals tastes. I wish I had like this film more. I think it just all went down hill when Dr. Schultz isn’t in it. That was a brilliant scene when he just flips.

      • culturedleftpeg January 25, 2013 at 1:00 pm

        Yeah, I expected his demise, and Candie’s, to be much later in the film. Both of them stole the show, although I really liked the interaction between Stephen and Django too.

  4. Tim The Film Guy January 25, 2013 at 3:07 pm Reply

    How good is Christoph Waltz?!

    • myreelpov January 25, 2013 at 3:12 pm Reply

      Only AMAZING!

      • Tim The Film Guy January 25, 2013 at 3:38 pm

        I though he was the best in Inglorious Bastards but wow was he good in this 😀

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

UK based photographer and digital artist. My work is an exploration of our ever-changing relationship with nature. I'm happily asexual and a friend to all cats

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

