“I’m just gonna pump and dump” Pitch Perfect.

I didn’t anticipate that the first film I saw at the cinema in 2013 would be one quite like this. The story line for Pitch Perfect is by no means an original concept, basically groups of Uni students form Acapella groups and compete in regional championships, girls vs. boys, preppy vs. alternative, the good guys win in the end and the main girl and boy fall in love. Wow, snore fest?! NO! This film was AWESOME!

Pitch Perfect Poster

The cast made this film brilliant. Anna Kendrick takes the lead playing Beca, turns out she can sing! Anna seems to be doing very well after Twilight fame, and it is well deserved. She plays the alternative kid who doesn’t fit in but just LOVES music, but not in a lame ‘Glee’ way (sorry Glee fans), she is an aspiring DJ which brings some awesome music to the film, bit of Swedish House Mafia, David Guetta, some great mixes of music we’re all hearing on the radio at the minute (not just stuff that’s popular in the US). She is forced to join a social group by her Dad who wants her to make an effort, and after an uncomfortable shower scene she is discovered by the The Bellas. Anna Kendrick plays the role perfectly, cool and sassy, great voice and just really really likable. (I thought maybe if Kristen Stewart could sing and dance she could probably play the role too, but Anna was the best person for the part).

Film Title: Pitch Perfect

The two main Bella’s are Chloe and Aubrey. Chloe is played by Brittany Snow who I recognised straight away but couldn’t place her. Now I have looked it up it must be from Hairspray or John Tucker Must Die (eesh can’t believe I just admitted to watching that monstrosity). Aubrey is the leader of the group, played by Anna Camp who I recognised from True Blood. She was fantastic at playing the preppy, over controlling bitch who JUST HAS TO WIN but doesn’t want to stray away from tradition and is not a fan of Beca’s ‘crazy’ ideas until she desperately needs her help to win.

pitch-perfect

The rest of the girls were great too, there was a real mix of talent and variety, you’ve got a butch lesbian, a weird girl Lilly who whispers disturbing statements at random intervals such as ‘I ate my twin in the womb’…oook (played by Hana Mae Lee who apparently is one to watch!), a sex addict, and not forgetting Fat Amy. The best of the bunch really, she will most definitely be gracing our screens again in her own lead role I am sure. She is hilarious and so refreshing. Her one-liners made the film. Played by Rebel Wilson (yes that’s her real name) from Sydney.

“You guys are gonna get pitch-slapped so hard, your man boobs are gonna concave.”

“Even though some of you are pretty thin, you all have fat hearts, and that’s what counts.”

Pitch Perfect

The men in the cast were also fantastic. The male lead Jesse (Skylar Astin) wasn’t your typical Hollywood love interest, he was a bit of a goon but pretty damn hot and such a nice guy (obv). His room mate Benji (Ben Platt) was also great, an uber nerd who just wants to be in the boys acapella group. The only one I did not like was Bumper (Adam DeVine) who was a cock sure idiot, maybe I was supposed to hate him, but he was such a douche. He actually reminded me a young Jack Black, except he grated on me a lot more, and I actually like Jack Black.

pitch-perfect01

The two biggest names in the film were probably Elizabeth Banks and John Michael Higgins, playing the commentators for the acapella contests. They made a great comedy duo and seemed to really bounce off each other. They also had some brilliant quotes!

“Nothing makes a girl feel more like a woman than a man who sings like a boy”

I have one criticism of the cast though, who were the random 3 girls in the Bella’s group? There are 3 seemly nameless girls with no personality and no story, they aren’t even in the promo pictures. Seemed odd, just leave them out or give them a few more lines?! Can you spot them in the pic below? Also a couple of obvious continuity errors with the singing and dancing but nothing to rant about!

Pitch Perfect

I loved the references of The Breakfast Club in this film, and the final sing off was AMAZING. The jokes are consistent, as are the performances. I literally had a big grin on my face the whole way through, and it made me snort with laughter, which was embarrassing but I can deal with it. Definitely a feel good film, will make you laugh out loud and want to dance around like a mental case. Could have watched the whole thing again when I got home. I left the cinema on a massive high after watching Pitch Perfect, turned Swedish House Mafia’s new album up really loud and hit EVERY green light on the way home. Brilliant!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on ““I’m just gonna pump and dump” Pitch Perfect.

  1. MikesFilmTalk January 5, 2013 at 7:29 pm Reply

    Hi! I’ve nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogger Award! Just follow the link – http://mikesfilmtalk.com/2013/01/05/super-sweet-blogger-award-sweeeeet/

  2. Ieonaa January 5, 2013 at 9:10 pm Reply

    I saw your response to Mikes nomination. Congratulations! 🙂

    I’m new to awards too and I never thought I’d get one. I saw this post of Marsha a while ago so I figured I’ll pass it on as it’s quite useful for us award newbies: http://tchistorygal.wordpress.com/2012/12/30/awards-made-easy/ Hope it helps you, it explains it all up. 🙂

    I hope that the linking is alright. I usually don’t link without asking for permission but I saw that you commented and decided to come to the rescue.

    Awards are complicated! Q_Q

    • myreelpov January 5, 2013 at 9:25 pm Reply

      Hey thanks a lot that’s really helpful 🙂

  3. Hypersonic55 January 6, 2013 at 2:58 pm Reply

    I saw the trailer for this film in the cinema a little while ago in the cinema and it looked pretty cool, I just hoped it wouldn’t turn out to be anything like Glee (a show that I despise with all my heart and soul). So from what I’m reading this film is definitely worth a watch then?

    • myreelpov January 6, 2013 at 4:14 pm Reply

      Yes definitely! I am not a glee fan AT ALL and I loved this film so I would suggest you see it 🙂 Let me know what you think if you do go and see it!

  4. My Reel POV’s Top 10 of 2013. | MyReelPOV January 17, 2014 at 12:58 pm Reply

    […] Wreck-It Ralph, Zero Dark Thirty, Seven Psychopaths and Pitch Perfect. […]

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Manchester-based food blogger, lover of all things food and drink.

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul: Best of Cinema

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Photographer and digital artist exploring the mysteries of nature. Happily asexual and a friend to all cats.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

