2013 The Year of the Sequel – Part 2.

True to the theme, here is part 2 of my previous post. I actually didn’t plan it this way, I just got really tired last night so decided to do a two parter because my list wasn’t finished! The later into the year we get though the less info I can actually find about the movies. So apologies for any incorrect statements in advance!

300: Rise of an Empire.

We left July in the previous post, so moving on to August – I am looking forward to the sequel of the epic that is 300, from 2006. I was blown away by this film, it was unlike anything I had previously watched, and I was like ‘who is this Gerard Butler?’ Unfortunately Hollywood grabbed him by the balls and lead him down shit rom-com street and ruined him (well maybe a little harsh he has done some good stuff since). The style of 300 was powerful and stunning, I wanted to watch it over and over. It did a really great job of making you feel for the Spartans, but also made you feel proud of their achievements being so out numbered against the Persians (I think I have that right, its been a long time since I watched it!). There doesn’t seem to be much info around about the next film, just that actually it is a prequel looking at how King Xerxes came to power. IMDB claims it will be out in August so we’ll have to wait for any more insights. I have my doubts though as the first one was so brilliant because of its originality (in the film world, I know it isn’t an original story), and none of the original characters (except Xerxes and the hunch-back) will be in it!

300

Thor: The Dark World.

Moving swiftly on to October, nothing on my list appears to be coming out in September, that might be a slow month… maybe I’ll go on holiday… THOR! Fantastic first movie I thought. Loved Chris Hemsworth, obviously, and I am also a fan of Natalie Portman, because clearly, I want to be her, or on her – NOBODY would say no to that face. And yes she will be in the sequel. It is set after The Avengers, so there are ‘Dark Elves’ led by Malekith, which Thor will have to battle with to prevent the world being plunged into darkness by the bad guy. I am excited to be transported back into the worlds between heaven and earth, and to see Thor kick some ass again. It might not be the best Marvel film, but for me he is the best Marvel Hero. Here’s hoping that Thor: The Dark World is going to be bigger and better than the first.

Thor

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire.

Well the title sounds ominous?! Hopefully nobody will be catching fire. I haven’t read the books although I have been told on many occasions that I would really enjoy them. Too busy watching TV and films and now writing rambly blog posts to start reading books as well?! To be honest I would rather not read them now I have started watching the films, as it could very well ruin them for me. This is what happened with the Twilight saga, loved the film so read all the books, now the films don’t seem as good. Anyhow, I am looking forward to the next film as I am starting to really like Jennifer Lawrence after Silver Linings, which was brilliant. I don’t know where the story is going though, is there another round to compete in? Will it be about the Dystopian future and all its corruption? We will see in November.

Hunger games

Anchorman: The Legend Continues.

Groan… Anchorman has a massive audience, but there are an equal amount of people who HATE it, i.e. my boyfriend, I’m going to start calling him Tom because I dislike that phrase, and that is his name – Tom hates it, I think secretly because he is a film snob… But I love it, every one knows the catch phrases, the characters are lovable and so funny, and it put Will Ferrell on the map back in 2004, when I was 15 and this film was of course hilarious! Now as much as I am looking forward to the next one, I just hope they don’t take it too far and it becomes unfunny. The story line could consist of anything really so at the minute its anybody’s guess. This one isn’t out until December!

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug.

Another one out in December next year. I am glad they are bringing this out annually, of course I’d rather see it sooner but I think I can manage to wait a year. Again I haven’t read the book (I did try but I don’t seem to have the patience anymore). So the next part of the story is a mystery to me. I LOVED The Hobbit this year, and the LOTR will be a constant love of mine. I am happy that they split the story into three films, just so that we can enjoy it for longer. The casting is fantastic, and the visuals are spectacular, I am sure the next instalment will blow me away. Fingers crossed!

The Hobbit

That concludes the sequels I can’t wait to see in 2013. Others that are worth a mention include Fast and Furious 6 (yeah they went there!), Austin Powers (?! Awesome!), Monsters University (Woo Mike and Sully are back!), Hangover Part III (might be getting tired of this), and Pirates of the Caribbean 5 (?! Really, I think they should stop, but I am still intrigued!).

What are you looking forward to this year?!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “2013 The Year of the Sequel – Part 2.

  1. r361n4 January 4, 2013 at 1:35 am Reply

    Lol, great picks, I think the only one you mentioned that I’m not excited for is Hangover Part 3 (loved part 1 but part 2 made me think they have no idea how to make a sequel with an ounce of originality). Some others make me nervous, like Anchorman 2, because of how great their first movies were, but I’m keeping an open mind

    • myreelpov January 4, 2013 at 8:49 am Reply

      I agree, I am doubious about Hangover but will still end up watching it I am sure, even after the catastrophy of the 2nd! I am keeping my fingers crossed for Anchorman 2 though 🙂
      Thanks for the comment!

  2. The Focused Filmographer January 4, 2013 at 6:53 am Reply

    Plenty of sequels and more to look forward to this year. I haven’t listed all mine out yet for consideration, so it was nice to go through your list! Thanks.

    • myreelpov January 4, 2013 at 8:52 am Reply

      No problemo, thanks for reading 🙂 There are a lot of sequels to choose from, I will keep an eye out for your list if you’ll be posting it!?

      • The Focused Filmographer January 4, 2013 at 9:00 am

        yep. workin on it now for posting in a few hours. gotta love being up working on your blog at 2am just because you love doing so! 🙂

      • myreelpov January 4, 2013 at 9:02 am

        Haha I like your style, I sneakily blog at work too! Tutut!

  3. Hypersonic55 January 5, 2013 at 11:22 pm Reply

    Howdy again, glad to see your follow-up list and there are a few that i’d like to see and some that i’m not so interested in.

    Firstly Thor 2! I LOVED Thor and saw it 5 times in the cinema. Chris Hemsworth is the man and I can’t wait to see more of the nine realms and hopefully this film will be bigger, louder and better than the first. Secondly The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, I need that film in my life now! Thirdly regardless of what anyone said I liked The Hunger Games and I’m interested to see what happens in Catching Fire, and like you I love Jennifer Lawrence in Silver Linings Playbook. I’m also hyped to see what happens in Fast and Furious 6 coz I loved Fast Five.

    As for the other sequels, the next 300 film I’m indifferent to. When I saw 300 the first time I thought it was badass, though nowadays I don’t care for it as much and watch it just for the action sequences. Anchorman 2, I kind of didn’t want a sequel because most films like those need to be left alone. But hey if its a good sequel then there’s no need to worry, hopefully it’ll be awesome. And lastly Pirates of the Caribbean 5? Why?

    • myreelpov January 6, 2013 at 11:47 am Reply

      Yeah I know whyyyy are they making another Pirates film, I think its over haha. I agree with you with Anchorman 2 it probably should have been left alone but we’ll just have to hope its not a complete disaster!
      You saw Thor 5 times?? That is commitment, how many times will you see the 2nd I wonder? Haha!

      • Hypersonic55 January 6, 2013 at 2:55 pm

        Haha i didn’t actually intent to see it 5 times, i was only meant to see it like 3 times but then some of my friends and family hadn’t seen it so i continously found myself going back to the cinema lol. Though i don’t regret it because i thought the film was badass! As for Thor 2 who knows? It’ll probably have to be at least 3 or 4 times at a minimum haha 😀

  4. Tim The Film Guy January 6, 2013 at 4:05 pm Reply

    I am going to watch them ALL!!!!

  5. Reel Ex-Stream January 9, 2013 at 2:29 am Reply

    Good thorough listing of films. I am very much looking forward to all of these movies this year as well.Surprisingly I’m looking forward to KickAss 2 probably the most. Oh yes, and of course Anchorman 2.

    • myreelpov January 9, 2013 at 9:31 am Reply

      Yes I think I would agree with you there, although I am excited about more Marvel in my life too!
      Thanks for the comment!

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

UK based photographer and digital artist. My work is an exploration of our ever-changing relationship with nature. I'm happily asexual and a friend to all cats

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

