2013 The Year of the Sequel!

When I start to think of the films I am excited to see this year it seems they are all sequels, prequels or remakes/reworks! Maybe Hollywood have a theme they keep to themselves, like this year it seemed to be adaptation of novels (I know that’s not just 2012 but it did seem like NO BODY came up with a story line that wasn’t previously a book!). A very quick run down of book adaptations include Perks of Being a Wallflower, Ruby Sparks, Anna Karenina, The Hobbit, Great Expectations, Twilight: Breaking Dawn Part 2, Abraham Lincoln the Vampire Hunter, Total Recall, James Bond, Lawless, Jack Reacher, Life of Pi… and so on and so forth! These days I am surprised when I hear that a film I have just seen ISN’T based on a book. I love that we can transform written word to the silver screen for a wider audience to enjoy, and this year has seen some fantastic films. But it would be nice if these Hollywood movie makers would think of an original idea… please let me know if I am missing an obvious one!

So looks like this year we have the sequel. I am not complaining though as there are some pretty awesome looking films on the way! Here’s a look at the films I am eagerly anticipating through the next year.

Die hard

“Yippee-ki-yay mother fucker!”

Yes Bruce! John McClane is back, dying hard again. I cannot WAIT for this movie. I am a massive Bruce Willis fan and always will be. Maybe its the shiny head that gets me, maybe its his squinty eyes, either way, he’s an old hotty. The Die Hard films are so god dam good, and the best thing is the irony behind the ridiculously dramatic shit that John McClane goes through to get the bad guy. The trailer for the new film made me clap with excitement! I have no idea what the story line is and I don’t think it matters, A Good Day To Die Hard, well it just sounds awesome and I am sure it wont disappoint! We wont have to wait long either as its out in February in the UK.

GI Joe: Retaliation

The first GI Joe film was the best kind of cheesy action movie. Just enough silliness and just enough action to make it a great easy to watch and enjoyable film. Apart from the unfortunate casting of ‘no personality’ Tatum, I loved GI Joe: Rise of the Cobra. Now the next instalment looks twice as action packed, with plenty of one liners, cool gadgets and weapons. The fake president is in charge, Joe’s are being assassinated, there’s gonna be hell to pay… oh and it has Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson in it, and BRUCE WILLIS so you know its bound to be epic. Out in March!

Iron-Man 3.

If you have been reading this blog you’ll know I love a bit of Marvel, and Iron-Man is cleeearly one of the best characters! The first two films were both excellent and I am not even worried that the 3rd isn’t going to live up to it after seeing The Avengers last year. Looks like there are a lot of people who want Tony Stark dead, which puts those closest to him in jeopardy. There is a snazzy new suit, and a new bad guy – looks like Iron Man is going to get his ass handed to him, but I am sure he will bounce back on his wit and charisma if nothing else! Cant wait to see this in April.

Star Trek: Into Darkness.

If I had a gun to my head, Trek or Wars… I am sorry, I would have to say Star Trek! I can’t help it, I used to watch it on telly with my Mum all the time so I have grown to love it, and as I mentioned in my previous post, the boyfriend keeps catching me watching Star Trek by myself (seems to be re-runs of Voyager and Enterprise aaaaall the time though!). Naturally I really enjoyed the Star Trek film back in 2009, but I didn’t even think about the sequel then?! Even though its set up perfectly for Captain Kirk to take the helm and lead the ship and crew. I am still in two minds about Chris Pine personally, but at least he has another film to try and win me over (This Means War didn’t help, what a pile of crap). This ones out in May.


Despicable Me 2.

Got a lot of love for Despicable Me so the sequel had better be good! I am not sure if the first one really left it open for a second, but it must have done well at the box office the first time round. Steve Carell really brings the character of Gru to life in this film and the little minions are hilarious. They are featuring very heavily in the trailers! (They remind me of Morph when they talk their gobbledegook!) So I guess like Scrat in Ice Age they will get more and more screen time! That’s fine but I hope they don’t over do it, because they are rather silly! I am looking forward to seeing more of Gru and the girls, and what looks like their encounter with aliens?! Only time will tell, but we’ll have to wait till June!!

Kick Ass 2.

Apparently this film is coming out in July but I cant find a bloomin’ trailer. Must be keeping it under wraps for now… But I am really looking forward to seeing what they’ve got planned! Kick Ass is one of my all time favourite films, the characters are fantastic, its the only film I can watch Nicolas Cage in, and the sound track was awesome – yes I have a copy of it on my ipod, what of it?! And I loved the controversy in America when a little girl said the C word, haha amazing. Definitely await this sequel with baited breath!

KickAss_02

The Wolverine.

Another one for July, its going to be a good month for superhero fans! Wolverine Xmen Origins didn’t get too many good reviews back in 2009 if I remember rightly. I actually really liked it, he was my favourite in the Xmen films because he is crazy good looking, a rebel, hard as nails, and has a tortured soul, (Rogue was my favourite in the cartoon but they made her pretty shit in the films didn’t they!). Really the only info I can get on the sequel though… or is it a prequel? Well the only info I can find is that he goes to Japan to train as a Samurai… well I am sure there is more to it than that… but until the trailer is released we will just have to drool at this picture of Hugh, or admire it with awe gentlemen…

movies-the-wolverine-poster

To be continued…

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

21 thoughts on “2013 The Year of the Sequel!

  1. Hypersonic55 January 2, 2013 at 11:38 pm Reply

    There are a good few sequels coming out this year isn’t there? I seriously can’t wait for Iron Man 3, loved the first one, the second one was alright, but now that Shane Black is directing the sequel I’m hyped especially with that sexy trailer that was released last year. Star Trek: Into Darkness also has me freaking out, I loved the 2009 film and I can’t wait to see what goes down in this sequel. Also I’m hoping that The Wolverine is good, I want to be absurdly impressed by this film and not disappointed like I was in 2009. Kick Ass was pretty good back in 2010 and Kick Ass 2 could be even better, here’s hoping for the best.

    • myreelpov January 3, 2013 at 11:30 am Reply

      There are LOADS of sequels this year, keep your eye out for Part 2 of this post 🙂
      You want to be absurdly impressed? You have set your standards pretty high! I hope they are met! What dissapointed you about the 2009 film?

      • Hypersonic55 January 4, 2013 at 10:42 pm

        So i keep hearing, yeah i’ll definitely stick around to see part 2 yo! and okay maybe ‘absurdly impressed’ is a bit too much, though i really want to be impressed by this next Wolverine film.

        Honestly the 2009 film just wasn’t the film i had hoped for, you see i am follower of the comics and the source material was very strong and could have made the film amazing. but it was all butchered by pretty bad dialogue, too many watsed one-dimension characters, lazy fights and bad action sequences and Deadpool… whatever the filmmakers did in that film after Wade Wilson’s tranformation was not Deadpool. And unfortunately i could go on but that’d be pointless. In the end when compared to X-Men 1 & 2, Wolverine didn’t even compare in my opinion.

        But hey more power to all who enjoyed the film though.

      • myreelpov January 5, 2013 at 4:24 pm

        You do sound very passionate about the story so must be a big fan of the comics! I hope you aren’t disappointed with it but I think you might be?! I look forward to hearing what you think when it comes out 🙂

  2. theipc January 2, 2013 at 11:39 pm Reply

    LIKE!!

  3. culturedleftpeg January 3, 2013 at 10:53 am Reply

    Awesome read, as ever.

    Sadly, no trailer for Kick-Ass 2 yet. I’d expect it shortly though. Also, The Wolverine is set after all of the previous X-Men films; it takes place after X-Men: The Last Stand. I guess that means lots of Wolvie torment at not being able to save Jean Grey. Jackman’s also confirmed that they’ll be a cameo appearance by someone from the X-Men; early money’s on Jean. I’m hoping for Gambit, though.

    • myreelpov January 3, 2013 at 11:17 am Reply

      Yeh there is a lot of love for Gambit, I dont really understand it but maybe because I dont know the comics? Yes I think Jean will make an appearence too!
      Thanks for the comment 😀

      • culturedleftpeg January 3, 2013 at 11:36 am

        You don’t understand the Gambit love? Not even from the old cartoons with Rogue? Big boo to that.

      • myreelpov January 3, 2013 at 12:09 pm

        I don’t really remember him! Don’t blame me I was only little lol.

  4. Beer Movie January 3, 2013 at 11:01 am Reply

    I am so obscenely excited for Kick Ass 2. The only reason I left it off my list is because there was no trailer.

    Also, just between you and me (this thing ain’t public right?) I’m a little excited for G.I Joe.

    • myreelpov January 3, 2013 at 11:10 am Reply

      That’s nothing to be ashamed of my friend! GI Joe does look pretty entertaining!
      I am looking forward to Kick Ass but am worried because the first one is so good!! How will it compare?!

      • Beer Movie January 3, 2013 at 11:11 am

        I have massive concerns. Especially because I am pretty sure Matthew Vaughan is not directing. Hopefully he and his writing offsider (Jane Goldman I think her name is – too lazy to google) were on writing duties though. Jim Carrey is the villain though, so that could be a whole lot of fun (or terrible).

      • myreelpov January 3, 2013 at 11:45 am

        Hmm the more I think about it the more it sounds like its going to be a disaster haha. I hope Jim Carrey doesn’t over do it with his particular style, I can’t picture it working. But then again I wasn’t a fan of Nic Cage and then Kick-Ass turned it around so maybe it will do the same thing.

      • Beer Movie January 4, 2013 at 5:41 am

        Interesting that you straight up don’t like Nic Cage. I mean he is in some garbage films, but most people like him in at least a few of them.

        Have you come to appreciate any of his other efforts since Kick Ass?

      • myreelpov January 4, 2013 at 8:50 am

        Something about him just makes me cringe, but I did like him in Ghost Rider!

  5. Brian January 3, 2013 at 2:30 pm Reply

    Let’s not forget “Dog Day Afternoon 2: A Dog Day’s Night.”

  6. Tim The Film Guy January 6, 2013 at 4:07 pm Reply

    And again ALL!!!

  7. […] trailer for the new Iron Man film is on my other post, The Year of the Sequel, but I just love Robert Downey Jr’s opening for this mini-trailer. He’s becoming a bit […]

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Manchester-based food blogger, lover of all things food and drink.

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul: Best of Cinema

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Photographer and digital artist exploring the mysteries of nature. Happily asexual and a friend to all cats.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

