“I’m a leaf on the wind, watch how I soar” Firefly, Serenity.

Have you watched Joss Whedon’s TV series, Firefly? Well, if you have then you have probably seen the film Serenity (2005) made a few years later. I am obviously pretty slow on the uptake because I only heard of Firefly this year. My boyfriend caught me watching Star Trek a few times and then later realised how obsessed I am with Buffy the Vampire Slayer, he said ‘hey maybe you would like this show Firefly!’

serenity-1

How glad I am he introduced to me the programme, I really enjoyed watching it and fell in love with the characters! For those who don’t know what Firefly is, in my words its a space-age western. In IMDB’s words, “Five hundred years in the future, a renegade crew aboard a small spacecraft tries to survive as they travel the unknown parts of the galaxy and evade warring factions as well as authority agents out to get them”. It has its own style, the set and costumes, the types of characters, even the dialogue has its own twang. Joss Whedon has a fantastic brain!

So we ploughed through the first series pretty quickly, when one episode finished I immediately wanted to watch another. To my dismay I found out it had been cancelled after one series and I was pretty distraught! Never fear though, because there was a film made in 2005, yay! I was very excited about this prospect as I had missed the characters (don’t judge, I get attached easily!), and the film I thought would be a 119 minute long epic episode. What a fantastic way to end an awesome TV series that was cut short too quickly.

The film then, titled Serenity after the beloved ship which housed the characters in the TV series, is set after the last episode and based around one of the main questions that was left unanswered by the abrupt ending of the show. It really was like a long final episode! Happy days! Plus a bigger budget so they had a few extra gadgets like a hover craft, fancy. It brought back all the characters, some of which you will recognise even if you haven’t seen the show. The captain Mal, played by Nathan Fillion, I actually recognised from a few episodes of Buffy where he plays a possessed Priest but has also been in Desperate Housewives and the TV show Castle among other things. Inara the ‘companion’ (upper class call girl) played by Morena Baccarin, most recently played Brody’s long suffering wife in the TV series Homeland. Also Wash the ships pilot, played by Alan Tudyk who I recognised as Steve the Pirate from Dodgeball but has of course done many more things! Not forgetting Jayne, the meat head of the group who is played by Adam Baldwin, you might recognise him from Full Metal Jacket (1987)!

firefly_cast

If you haven’t seen the series, Serenity might not be a great film. But knowing the back ground of the characters really made this film brilliant. In the series Captain Mal and his crew come across a Doctor, Simon who has rescued his sister River from the Authority as they were doing experiments on her brain. The reason behind this or the truth about Rivers abilities were never concluded, but this is what the film is all about! The crew go on a mission to seek the truth and expose the Authority for their wrong doings. However they run into trouble with a race of cannibals called Reavers who are also featured in the series. All the time being chased by an assassin who has been after Simon and River the whole time, played by David Oyelowo who was recently in Jack Reacher! Its more bloody and action packed, and Joss Whedon’s world is explored in even more depth. I LOVED it.

YOU SHOULD SEE THIS! (But watch Firefly first, it wont take you long!) 😉

Serenity-3-nathan-fillion-30060239-1584-913

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on ““I’m a leaf on the wind, watch how I soar” Firefly, Serenity.

  1. gingergestapo80 January 2, 2013 at 2:52 am Reply

    I also watched it for the first time this past year! My boyfriend finally got the series, and I’m just as obsessed- maybe more so, in a fan-girlish kind of way- as he is! The dialogue is so great, and the characters are all so likable and endearing… with the possible exception of Inara. Now Serenity make much more sense… My boyfriend had me watch it before he knew I had never seen the show. -_- I’m glad I’m not the only late one to get into the show.

    • myreelpov January 2, 2013 at 9:31 am Reply

      Yay I am glad you are a fan! Although I like Inara and the ‘will they wont they’ between her and Mal! Did you enjoy the film having not watched the show first? I thought it made it awesome knowing the characters but wondered if I would have enjoyed it not knowing the characters already?!

      • The Ginger Gestapo January 9, 2013 at 8:12 pm

        Well, I guess sexual tension is gold to watch, no matter the pairing, and the Simon/Kaylee dynamic was just dorble. I did like the movie, even though I hadn’t seen the show, but I knew that I was missing something( probably some of the inside references and character backgrounds) I guess it would better to have know all of it beforehand, but we can always go back and re-watch it whenever It’s just amazing that a show 10+ years old is still gathering so many new followers every year, the fandom hasn’t died down at all

  2. Fiercely Yours January 2, 2013 at 1:16 pm Reply

    I’m glad I stumbled upon this information– where have I been?

    • myreelpov January 2, 2013 at 4:16 pm Reply

      I am glad you stumbled across it too. It took me a while to find as well but definatley worth a watch 🙂

  3. Tim The Film Guy January 6, 2013 at 4:01 pm Reply

    “But watch Firefly first, it wont take you long!” That nearly made me cry 😦

    • myreelpov January 6, 2013 at 4:15 pm Reply

      I know, I wish it was longer!

  4. lukebbtt January 6, 2013 at 8:54 pm Reply

    It annoyed me that the film never concluded the relationship between Mal and Inara though. They kind of ran out of time (not their fault), and left the storyline between them hanging. Otherwise, I cannot fault both series and film.

    • myreelpov January 6, 2013 at 8:58 pm Reply

      Well I guess they did clarify that Mal has feelings for her, but if they had got together in the end it would have made it cheesy. I like to think they did get together and lived happily ever after though!
      Thanks for the comment 🙂

  5. Grant January 25, 2013 at 11:30 am Reply

    My introduction to the world of Firefly was arse-about-face – I watched Serenity first! Although I should say I watched the first HALF of Serenity. Then someone loaned me the series and wooho! I fell in love instantly! I must get around to finishing Serenity, said I.

    Sadly, while out with a friend for a drink, I told her that I’d watched Serenity, upon which she let slip that Washe died! My shock and astonishment made her feel so very guilty for ruining the ending but I was able to reassure her that it didn’t spoil anything for me. I watched the ending knowing it was coming (but not how) and was just as shocked the second time when he died in such a cool – and totally devastating -way.

    If you like these characters, have you seen Babylon 5? I introduced my girlfriend to it last year and she lapped the series up! So much so that I even made her a T-shirt to wear of her favourite character, Delenn!

    • myreelpov January 25, 2013 at 12:26 pm Reply

      Noooo! That was major shock for me having loved the character through the series. Hopefully no one will read that before they watch it too. I haven’t watched Babylon 5 but will keep it in mind now I need a new show to watch. Just finished Band of Brothers and getting to the end of The League… re-runs of Buffy whilst entertaining, just aren’t going to cut it.

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Manchester-based food blogger, lover of all things food and drink.

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul: Best of Cinema

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Photographer and digital artist exploring the mysteries of nature. Happily asexual and a friend to all cats.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

