Suprises and Disappointments of 2012.

As well as the Best and Missed films of 2012, I thought it only fair to look at the films that surprised or disappointed me too. I guess I could have just stuck with ‘best and worst’ but there were sooooo many films worth talking about that came out in this past year and I haven’t been blogging that long!

The biggest surprises…

Spiderman

The Amazing Spider-Man – I will put my foot down and say that the Toby Maguire Spider-Man films are just awful. Kirsten Dunst may as well be a shadow she is so un-memorable, and don’t get me started on the 3rd instalment. James Franco was the only redeeming factor in those films. BUT when I went to see the new Amazing Spider-Man I was very pleasantly surprised. Andrew Garfield makes a fantastic Spidey, and I loved the transition between real life and superhero status, i.e. sitting on top of a building in his gear on the phone to Aunt May. Yes the villain was a bit rubbishy and Rhys Ifans could have done a lot more with it in my opinion, but Emma Stone made up for that, she is a much better love interest in this film. I LOVED it, and was not prepared for it!

Rust and Bone

Rust and Bone – I don’t often watch films with subtitles but that’s not to say it puts me off, I don’t think you notice after a while. When I went to the cinema to see Rust and Bone I was expecting a bit of an arty farty French film and to possibly be bored. The only reason I wanted to see it was because I really like Marion Cotillard if I’m honest! But it was a brilliant film, so well acted I felt as if I was watching a documentary some of the time. It was gritty and real, no soppy romance or abstract themes. Just a story about two people thrown together due to VERY unfortunate circumstances. It was brilliant.

Anna Kerenina

Anna Karenina – The premise for this film from IMDB is “Set in late-19th-century Russia high-society, the aristocrat Anna Karenina enters into a life-changing affair with the affluent Count Vronsky”. Starring Keira Knightley and Jude Law – sounds like the most boring film in existence to me, and as I have previously said in another post I used to really dislike Keira Knightley. I went to see it at the cinema because a friend of mine fancied it and I had already got my monies worth for the month on my unlimited card so thought why not?! But Anna Karenina blew me away! It was beautifully done, the scenery moved as if it was a stage show and the acting was very dramatic. The music and the costumes were amazing and the story was great too! That’s definitely one I will be purchasing and watching again. Keira Knightley turned me around in this film because of her talent and sheer beauty. Breath taking film, I would suggest EVERY ONE watches this bad boy. My best surprise in the cinema to date!

Unfortunately though as well as some surprises I think we can all agree there were some MAJOR disappointments in the cinema of 2012.

Some that stick in my mind…

John Carter – just no, awful.

Hope Springs – now I love a movie that looks like it’s geared for the older generation. It’s Complicated was great, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is fantastic. Surely Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones is a match made for oldies rom-com?! Nah, totally boring, completely awkward to watch and VERY disappointing. I think I laughed out loud once and I don’t think it was at the film.

Life of Pi – you can read the whole review of this film as its pretty recent, but sadly this film didn’t live up to the hype.

Battleship – Oh dear! There are so many points in this film where I thought, WHAAAA? So completely ridiculous, I am not one to pick holes in movies, but really this was just one giant gaping crater of shit-ness. I haven’t met any one who thought it was good?! Really, how do these people get money to make piles of crap like this. Actually, that’s more true of films like Piranha 3DD, but I am pretending that monstrosity didn’t happen.

That concludes my over all view of cinema this year. Now I am blogging about it I am sure I will have a more comprehensive list next year, but for now, this has turned into a very fun hobby! 🙂

Thanks for reading peeps!

kinopoisk.ru

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Suprises and Disappointments of 2012.

  1. theipc December 29, 2012 at 10:26 pm Reply

    Thank YOU!

  2. bakedmoviereviews December 30, 2012 at 10:03 pm Reply

    One thing I never understood about the 3rd Spiderman movie was this: how did Mary Jane go from being some super famous actress marrying an astronaut to being a normal waitress again? It didn’t make much sense.

    • myreelpov December 31, 2012 at 1:28 pm Reply

      Good point well made sir!

  3. Beer Movie January 1, 2013 at 7:58 am Reply

    Nice little list. The Spiderman films are really dividing people. Personally, I thought The Amazing Spiderman was good, but not overly amazing. I am a huge fan of the first two Raimi films though, I thought they were excellent. They have been getting a fair bit of hate from a few people recently. But nothing good can ever be said about the third one. That was utterly craptastic, and would have topped my least favourite of the year list if I was blogging back then.

    • myreelpov January 1, 2013 at 8:19 pm Reply

      Agreed about the 3rd one. I guess I was a little harsh as actually the 2nd Spider-man with Dr. Octopus was quite good. As my boyfriend just said “it was awesome, totally Raimi”, you too would probably have a lot to talk about haha.

      • Beer Movie January 2, 2013 at 3:34 am

        Your boyfriend sounds like a pretty awesome guy.

  4. The Focused Filmographer January 4, 2013 at 6:56 am Reply

    Glad to see the love for Spiderman here! I’m a fan!

    gotta say, I very much disagree with ya on John Carter however. I thoroughly enjoyed that one! 🙂

    Check out my best and worst if you get a chance: http://thefocusedfilmographer.com/2013/01/02/thefocusedfilmographers-best-worst-movie-picks-of-2012/

    • myreelpov January 4, 2013 at 8:54 am Reply

      I will! Thanks dude, I’ll let your love of John Carter slide this time haha. That’s what makes this blogging malarky interesting though!

  5. […] much as I enjoyed Andrew Garfield’s portrayal of Spider-Man the first time around in 2012 (my short review here), the film wasn’t anything special. It was a tough one though because there are only so many […]

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Exploring our changing relationship with nature through photography, digital art and flash fiction.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

