A Very Merry Christmas!

A very indulgent post today because I am feeling happy and Christmassy 🙂 I have come to my Mum’s house for Christmas, as I do every year to spend it with my Grandma, Mum, little brother and sister (they are not that little). We all got lots of lovely presents and had an awesome Christmas Dinner. I am sure it is the same in every one’s house hold, every one gets full and tiered and games some times turn to arguments but hey, its Christmas and its fun, especially now we are all old enough to have a drink or two!

I love a bit of Christmas TV too, Downton has been recorded to watch later today, but we did have time to watch the Doctor Who Christmas special ‘The Snowmen’ last night. In the words of my brother, “it was good but the conclusion was lazy and crap”. Yes Doctor Who has to be taken with a pinch of salt, some times I think they make it silly on purpose but that is part of its charm! The story in this Christmas special centres around some entity that took the form of snow and then mirrors human beings (I think).

DoctorWho

‘You poured your darkest dreams into a snowman, and look what it became’

It was a great introduction to the Doctors new companion, played by Jenna-Louise Coleman (who was also Oswin the unsuspecting Darlek in a previous episode) who started off by annoying me slightly by being over dramatic but I warmed to the character by the end of the episode. I am interested to see how she will be as his full time companion in the new series, as there was a not so subtle hint of romance. The actual story of the Snowmen how ever wasn’t great for me. They were scary and intriguing to start, but the way they were destroyed in the end was pretty lazy. But hey, they only had an hour, and I did enjoy the nod’s to Sherlock Holmes and it did have all the aspects of Doctor Who that every body loves. So a pretty good Christmas special all in all. Bring on Downton next!

Xmas presents

The Christmas haul! I got lots of amazing Christmas goodies this year, including some baking stuff and cake recipe book, and a slow cooker – I am unwittingly turning into a domestic goddess. Also in the pile are some lovely leather gloves and woolly jumper, just what the doctor ordered in this awful weather! And some matching bedside lamps from the grandparents 🙂 I think I am getting old, asking for cooking equipment and interior accessories! Quick some body slap me. At least there were a few DVD’s to open, including Toy Story 3, Batman The Dark Knight Rises and MIB 3. Some good viewing right there.

My friends and I did home made Christmas presents this year, and we did surprisingly well! I received some home made Skittle flavoured Vodka, some fabulous napkins, and some ‘I Can’t Believe it’s not Nutella’ accompanied by some pistachio, cranberry and white chocolate cookies! I made them some personalised pillow cases, which sounds lame but I was quite proud of the final product 🙂

Cushions

So this has been a very selfish and probably boring post, I promise for more film related ranting after the Christmas holidays. I hope every one had a good one 🙂

In abizzle ladies and gents!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

UK based photographer and digital artist. My work is an exploration of our ever-changing relationship with nature. I'm happily asexual and a friend to all cats

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

