“I’m just a guy who wants to be left alone” Jack Reacher

Reacher

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I sat down last night to watch the new Jack Reacher movie. If you’ve seen the trailer you know the basic story line, a man is framed for murder and he calls on Jack Reacher to help prove his innocence. We even see in the trailer that the Lawyer gets kidnapped by the bad guys and held hostage in exchange for Reacher.

Basically the trailer gives away the whole plot, the only surprise is who is the insider? Well I wont give it away but if you don’t guess within the first hour I would be very surprised!

Although this film was an adaptation of a novel, it was as if the Director had taken all the conventions of a typical crime thriller and regurgitated them onto the big screen. I could never tell if it was being lame and cheesy on purpose or if it was a serious film, unlike Knight and Day where you know it is meant to be funny. I have not read the book so can’t tell you what the tone of that is, if any one has read it please let me know if was meant to be a serious story?!

Let me explain – first the characters; we have the hot blonde lawyer with Daddy issues, who sparks sexual tension with the hero in order for him to feel compelled to come to her rescue later. The loner hero who ‘just wants to be left alone’ yet can’t help himself doing good for others, even if it is some what begrudgingly. The villain, who is a nasty bastard but has an even nastier boss – a crazy old Czech who chewed his own fingers off to survive in prison. Then we’ve got 2 suspect ‘good guys’ who could be bad guys, oh the suspense!

The action; well there is a long-winded car chase between Reacher, the Police and the villains, which does actually have a brilliant end but they show it on the trailer so it lost its charm, it was probably the best bit of the film. There is a great bit where 2 stupid cronies come to take Reacher out and totally mess up, including one falling down the stairs after the other accidentally wacks him in the face with a baseball bat (this was the point I thought the film must have been ironic). There is a good shoot out, and a great fight at the climax of the movie when Reacher finally meets the bad guy, its raining and they are both wearing leather jackets so you know, it looks good visually. Obviously Reacher kicks his ass and saves the girl, oh and it stops raining, symbolism(?). Yay.

 reacherbad

reacherrain

But, having said all that, I did enjoy the performances from Rosamund Pike the lead lady – she might have been slow on the uptake but she never squealed like a girl, actually now I think about it she was pretty calm through out the abduction… Also Jai Courtney did a great job at being good-looking and evil all at once (see above!), no but really, he was a good villain and I will keep an eye out for him in the future! I also liked Robert Duvall’s character, the lovable gun enthusiast who helps Reacher and shows us an old man can still aim, with his eyes closed.

reacher2

Last but not least, Tom Cruise. I used to avoid Cruise films like the plague, I couldn’t stand the guy. My mind changed after I watched Collateral, now I don’t poo poo his films untill I have seen it, see how I am growing?! He actually did a typically great performance playing the Hollywood tanned hero, with some fantastic one liners, for example “I would like to beat you to death and drink your blood from a boot!” Well that’s not the best one but it’s the one that stuck out! A friend said to me recently that they think Tom Cruise is more believable in movies than he is real life, I completely agree. He definitely seems more real playing an action hero than he does in his own life.

Over all I would say this film is worth a watch, because it balances on the line between being a mickey take and a serious action film, so you – the viewer – can take it however you like!

If I misinterpreted this film, having not read the book or having any prior knowledge of the story, some one please let me know!

That is all.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on ““I’m just a guy who wants to be left alone” Jack Reacher

  1. DrFrood December 20, 2012 at 1:53 pm Reply

    Dear POV,

    I heard about the film, so I read about 3 of the books. They’re basically pulpy thrillers seemingly written in order to be films – Reacher is a giant who’s, like, superbright? He’s A MAN WITH A PAST. Also, there’s always a super hot woman who is invariably inexplicably drawn to him (perhaps he has a powerful sexual magnet). And a betrayal.

    He’s basically James Bond but homeless and American.

    The film looks like it’s probably (haven’t seen it) been fairly faithful to the formula, the Cruise’s lack of stature notwithstanding…

    http://froodianpseudoanalysis.wordpress.com/2012/11/30/whats-in-a-name/

    That’s a link if you’re interested – nowt to do with the film, more questiomning why they felt that Jack Reacher was a good title for a movie.

    Tom Cruise is a great actor, genius comment about him being more believable on screen than real life by the way.

    Would you watch Jack Reacher again is the question. Also, the Czech bad guy is played by crazy/legendary German director Werner Herzog – is he any good in it?

    • myreelpov December 20, 2012 at 3:11 pm Reply

      I thought I had seen him before, yes he was ok but nothing stand out. Thanks for the link! And the explanation, it sounds as though they stook closely to the theme of the books then – I understand the random sexual tension between Reacher and the leading lady now! And yes I did think an American James Bond when I was watching it! I probably would watch it again, now I know it is not to be took seriously 🙂 Thanks for the comment!

  2. […] who has been after Simon and River the whole time, played by David Oyelowo who was recently in Jack Reacher! Its more bloody and action packed, and Joss Whedon’s world is explored in even more depth. […]

  3. fandangogroovers January 4, 2013 at 9:27 pm Reply

    DrFood sums it up. The books are pulp thrillers. They are not comic but have some funny moments in them. James Bond is a good comparison and like Bond the character could easily be played my multiple actors who would all bring something different to the part. I had never heard of them until I was given a book around a year ago when I found there was a film in production in production I read a handful of them.

    In comparison to the book, the plot is altered and simplified a little and Rosamund Pike’s character is an amalgam of three characters. One thing it does lose is a device within the books whereby the twists and turns of the plots are signposted without being completely revealed allowing the reader to be one step ahead of the characters and can feel cleverer (is that a word?) than Reacher.

    • myreelpov January 5, 2013 at 4:21 pm Reply

      It makes more sense the more I hear about the book. I had no preconceptions and have never read the books. I might pick one up now though if they are an easy read, I used to read that genre a lot.
      Thanks for the comment, I appreciate you taking the time to do so 🙂

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Manchester-based food blogger, lover of all things food and drink.

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul: Best of Cinema

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Photographer and digital artist exploring the mysteries of nature. Happily asexual and a friend to all cats.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

