To Watch list – National Lampoon vs. Bad Santa

National Lampoon Bad Santa

So I started on my Christmas films to watch list last night. Starting with National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (1989), (or Winter Holiday, as the politically correct title reads). This film reminded me of the kind of slap-stick comedy that you see in films such as Home Alone, there is a reason Home Alone wasn’t even mentioned in my previous post. I hate it. Doesn’t bode well for this movie!

I am a new fan of Chevy Chase after watching an American sit-com called Community (the funniest show I have ever seen, you should definately check it out if you havent heard of it!). He was the saving grace of this film, his facial expressions kill me. The Christmas spirit was present in the story, Clark (Chevy) just wants a big family Christmas and is trying his best to make that happen in spite of his crazy family. Juliette Lewis is also in this film, who I didn’t recognise, and actually said “woah that is an unfortunate looking child”, woops! But over all the story line was boring, I don’t find slapstick comedy remotely entertaining, and Clark’s hill billy brother made me feel physically sick to watch (which I guess means Randy Quaid did a good job). The dialogue was slow, I only laughed out-loud once at Chevy’s face when he is watching home video’s in the attic. I actually switched this film off before the end because I was BORED! There are probably some big fan’s of this film, it might even meet the cult classic status, but it was not for me!

Bad Santa was the next choice my boyfriend suggested we watch after the failure of National Lampoon. Billy Bob Thornton plays an alcoholic narcissist Santa Claus, the kind that sits in shops and has his picture taken with the children. He and his fellow Elf (Tony Cox) plan each year to rob a department store using their inside knowledge from the seasonal job role. Well it was pretty bleak throughout, Billy Bob plays the role very well but I have heard he is actually like this in real life (Sheen-esque). As a film by itself it wasn’t bad, it made me laugh, it was slightly traumatising (when a certain some one is rammed between two cars and is disturbingly crushed to death), and the interaction between Bad Santa and the large child he befriends did tickle me at some points. Now I may be a soppy cow at Christmas time, but I want a Christmas film to make me happy, at no point in this film did I get any warm fuzzy feelings, therefore this film was also a major Christmas let down!

I am hoping the next one on my list will be a heartwarming extravaganza!! The John-Lewis advert with the Snowmen is more touching than these two disappointments!

Rant over!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “To Watch list – National Lampoon vs. Bad Santa

  1. Tyson Carter December 17, 2012 at 1:00 pm Reply

    I stopped reading when you said you hated Home Alone! 🙂

    • myreelpov December 17, 2012 at 1:23 pm Reply

      The world would be pretty boring if we all liked the same films, probs would be no point reviewing stuff either haha.

      • Tyson Carter December 17, 2012 at 1:24 pm

        True true, but Home Alone?! I thought everyone loved it! You will hate my newest site post………. 🙂

        I love Community btw, so clever!

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Manchester-based food blogger, lover of all things food and drink.

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul: Best of Cinema

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Photographer and digital artist exploring the mysteries of nature. Happily asexual and a friend to all cats.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

