Top 5 Christmas Classics

polar01_PolarExpressPEFC-94

It’s the night of works Christmas party and it’s getting me in a very festive mood. So I thought while it’s not busy I’ll do a sneaky post to keep me occupied… maybe I am getting a little addicted to the blogging world already! 

I have compiled a list of my Top 5 Christmas Films, let me tell you, it was tough! I had to be brutal, so here is the definitive list (let me know what you think!):

Number 5: Scrooged (1988)

Scrooged

I watched this film a few years ago and return to it every year since then. I love Bill Murray, who doesn’t (?!), and as you will see from the rest of this post I love Dickens’ Christmas Carol story. This film has a great balance of comedy and Christmas cheese. It also has the BEST closing speech to round off the warm Christmassy goodness and a feeling of good will to all men!

Number 4: Elf (2003)

Elf

I am sure some people will groan when reading this choice, Will Ferrel is personification of Marmite, but I LOVE him in this film. Also co-star Zooey Deschanel (of recent New Girl fame) is brilliant, may have a slight girl crush on this lady. The use of cartoon in the North Pole is great for the kids, and the jokes make me snort with laughter. “Hello Buddy the Elf, whats your favourite colour?” Yes Will!!

Number 3: Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)

Nightmare

This is a must watch at Christmas as well as Halloween, it’s a cracker. Danny Elfman’s music is catchy, haunting and uplifting all in one go. Found myself humming “this is Halloween, this is Halloween, halloween, halloween, halloween, halloween!” yet feeling very Christmassy at the same time yesterday in work. Much to the annoyance of other bah humbugs in the office. I could go into detail on this one as it is an animation with many layers, but I will keep it simple today, if you haven’t seen it, shame on you.

Number 2: A Muppet Christmas Carol (1992)

the-muppet-christmas-carol-poster

The muppets have been a favourite since I was a child, and I am still highly entertained by this film EVERY year. I was extremely disappointed with the new Muppet film, I actually fell asleep in the cinema which has never happened to me before, and I came out thinking I had wasted 2 hours of my life which I will never get back. However, Muppet’s version of Christmas Carol is fabulous. Gonzo and Rizzo narrate the whole film and do a brilliant job at keeping you entertained even though you have seen and heard the story a thousand times. Also, as is the Muppets style, the acknowledgement that they are puppets carries on throughout the film. Of course Michael Caine also plays a fantastic Scrooge.

NUMBER 1: Polar Express (2004)

Polar

I know, childish right? But this film gets me every time. I look forward to Christmas because I can get this DVD out and watch it at least 3 times before the big day before it has to go back in the cupboard (so as not to spoil the Christmas magic obviously). The story goes like this… a little boy starts to lose his faith in Christmas and Santa Claus, so the Polar Express (conducted by Tom Hanks) pulls up outside of the boys house and his adventure to the North Pole begins to make him believe in Christmas once again. Along with all the other little boys and girls who may be losing their faith. The animation is beautiful, and the story is so heartwarming and uplifting – I actually shed a tear at the end because I was that happy. There are characters that you love to hate, who quite rightly learn their lesson in the end, and lovable characters who you are willing to just BELIEVE  in Christmas and all the goodness that comes with it. It builds so much suspense before you meet Santa Claus that you feel as much excitement as the characters when he makes his glorious appearance. Tom Hanks plays 6 characters in this film, his voice acting is just as good as his physical acting. Fantastic Christmas film, full of happiness and fun, what Christmas should be about!

I have to say, making a list of just 5 was quite difficult, I had to leave out Love Actually, Trading Places, and Die Hard (but I can save Die Hard because that’s in my Top 5 ALL TIME favourite films!)

Although this is my Christmas list of 2012, I am on a mission to see all the Christmas classics. So far on my ‘To Watch’ list I have the following:

It’s a Wonderful Life (1946)

Bad Santa (2003)

Nativity! (2009)

National Lampoons Christmas Vacation (1989)

A Christmas Carol (2009)

Arthur Christmas (2011)

Santa Claus: The Movie (1985)

White Christmas (1954)

Miracle on 34th Street (1947 and 1994).

If you can suggest any more Christmas films that should go on the list let me know! I’d love to know what your favourites are?

Hopefully if you weren’t feeling very Christmassy yet, you will put one of these on and feel yourself grinning from ear to ear with Christmas cheer! (Hmm that was lame and cheesey, but hey it’s Christmas people!)

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

UK based photographer and digital artist. My work is an exploration of our ever-changing relationship with nature. I'm happily asexual and a friend to all cats

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

