“That’s a Silver Lining right there!”

Silverlinings1

Tonight I went with two of my friends to see Silver Linings Playbook. I expected to see an average romantic comedy… when I say ‘average’ I mean ‘typical’ rom com. Not usually a fan of the genre but the trailer made it look funny, and who doesn’t love Bradley Cooper? (A lot of guys in the cinema tonight too, maybe Bradley has the same vibe as Anne Hathaway, is he ‘every man’?)

After sitting down in the middle of Great Expectations and realising we were in the wrong screen, we found our seats, got out our smuggled in treats and settled for the trailers – a part of going to the cinema that I LOVE. The TV adverts make me want to hurl cans of coke at the screen but film trailers make me veeeery excited! Tonight the ones that stuck out for me were Les Mis, looks stunning, and cannot wait to hear Hugh Jackman and Russell Crowe singing like their life depended on it. Life of Pi, which looks absolutely beautiful, I must see that in 3D! Also The Impossible, which looks incredibly sad but I was most definitely compelled to watch it. I read an article about it in Empire magazine a few months back and had forgotten about it until I saw the trailer tonight. Plus, I have loved Ewan McGregor ever since he burst out that beautiful voice in Moulin Rouge.

However, that’s not what I want to talk about right now!! Back to the film in hand!

You know the premise – two slightly unhinged people meet and fall in love, some funny stuff happens along the way. This is what the trailer suggests. It turned out to be a lot more than a Romantic Comedy. Bradley Cooper who plays Pat did an excellent job at playing a troubled, newly diagnosed bi-polar sufferer (is that the correct term?!) who is trying desperately to deal with the way his brain works. He can convey comedy and heart wrenching anxiety in the same scene. Much to my disappointment he wears a pretty horrendous grey track suit throughout the majority of the film, but he gets his sexy back when he takes control of his life – hey maybe that’s symbolism right there.

I was very impressed with Jennifer Lawrence as Tiffany, who I didn’t think all that much of after Hunger Games, despite the hype. But turns out the hype was right, she is pretty awesome. And I love that such a naturally flawed and beautiful woman is on the big screen. Some one we can all connect with and still envy without hating her. I tell you, that’s a fine line when it comes to women – ask most girls if they would want to be friends with Megan Fox for example… (scratch her eyes out maybe)!

The connection that Pat and Tiffany have in this film is fantastic, they compliment each other unconventionally. You would think that two people who are so socially inept and pretty unstable mentally would be a ticking time bomb waiting to go off. But they know how to read each other and it just works! From their first meeting there are fireworks, some great one liners.

“You have poor social skills, you have a problem”

“I have a problem? You say more inappropriate things than appropriate things.”

Brilliant! I think we can all relate to that, fortunately most of us have a filter in our heads that tells us when something should not be said out loud! Well, some of us don’t… then its awkward.

silverlinings4

The supporting cast in this film are also great. Unfortunately I am from a generation that associates Robert DeNiro with those god awful Focker films. I think I need educating. But he is great in this film, also suffering from OCD, anxiety and anger issues amongst other things, he creates a great back story for Pat’s mental health issues. Along with Chris Tucker as Danny, Pat’s best friend from the mental hospital – a lawyer turned nut-job who is hilarious in every scene he is in. Lifts the mood when it perhaps gets a little rough around the edges. Jackie Weaver plays Pat’s mum, she is so natural, I never felt like I was watching actors throughout this entire movie. Except for Julia Stiles who I still find a little wooden after Save the Last Dance – not a fan.  All together though the family and friends feel very real, most of them still not quite understanding Pat and Tiffany’s issues, and a lot of them having issues of their own.

Silver-Linings-Playbook-2

Not being a Rom-Com fan, I was majorly surprised by this film, and would even go so far to say it is the best romantic comedy I have seen to date. When the film finished I found myself very happy and content, but also thinking… every body is a little crazy, when you find some one to compliment the crazy you know they’re a keeper.

I urge you to see this film! 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on ““That’s a Silver Lining right there!”

  1. Best and Missed Films of 2012. « MyReelPOV December 28, 2012 at 4:33 pm Reply

    […] Silver Linings Playbook – Another film I have recently reviewed. I found myself completely drawn in by the characters […]

  2. […] I am looking forward to the next film as I am starting to really like Jennifer Lawrence after Silver Linings, which was brilliant. I don’t know where the story is going though, is there another round to […]

  3. The Focused Filmographer January 4, 2013 at 3:31 pm Reply

    Really looking forward to this one. It releases in my city next week. Great review. I enjoy your way of sharing your thoughts on this movie.

    Thanks again!

    • myreelpov January 4, 2013 at 3:32 pm Reply

      Thank you for the lovely comment 😀 Never sure how my ramblings will be recieved!

  4. […] I am looking forward to the next film as I am starting to really like Jennifer Lawrence after Silver Linings, which was brilliant. I don’t know where the story is going though, is there another round to […]

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

Exploring our changing relationship with nature through photography, digital art and flash fiction.

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

