What is this blog about?

303890_10150941622440554_1180290581_n

How do you start a blog? Coming up with the first sentence has been playing on my mind for a while. I should probably tell you who I am, and why you should stick around…

My name is Claire, 23, living in Manchester, generally living like a 20 something who isn’t sure what to do in life after graduating in a mundane degree subject. I asked my self recently, what do I love more than anything?

The answer came to me pretty quickly, Film, Movies, the Silver Screen!! I LOVE going to the cinema, or getting cosy on the sofa and immersing myself in the stories and characters, escapism at its very best.

However, as much as I love film, I can by no means call myself an expert, film buff, movie nerd, film critic… neither can I find a review that really reflects how I feel about a film, being a non-expert, average, audience member.

So I said to myself, ‘stop grumbling about it, you’re a film lover with non-expert opinions, share them!’. (Of course talking to yourself in first person is what crazy people do, I am merely summarising my thought process, a bit…)

Don’t get me wrong, I love reading film reviews in magazines and online, but I feel disconnected from the expert film critic (I don’t want to use the words ‘patronising’ or ‘pretentious’, *cough*). Why do I need a Masters in Film Studies, or be an avid comic book collector, to be a film geek, or even have an opinion. These people are the minority, the majority are the every day film lovers who fill the cinemas, surely our opinion is still worthy?

Here goes then, my non-expert, poorly informed, non-professional, but none the less passionately written film blog for all you audience members who just LOVE life, and film.

I hope you enjoy it!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “What is this blog about?

  1. laura kate December 9, 2012 at 9:58 pm Reply

    I LOVE THIS!!!! 🙂 xxx

  2. myreelpov December 9, 2012 at 10:54 pm Reply

    Thanks!! I’d better start blogging then 😉 x

  3. Tyson Carter December 10, 2012 at 1:04 pm Reply

    Thanks for stopping by my site! Appreciate the follow, and cant wait to see what you write about 🙂

    • myreelpov December 10, 2012 at 7:44 pm Reply

      Cheers dude, it is a bit nerve wracking when your just starting!!

What do you think?

Chefwynd

Food review blog in the heart of Manchester

disasters of a thirtysomething

my awkwardness for your amusement

emmakwall (explains it all)

Film & soundtrack reviews, good humour and lists

Marshall and the Movies

"[Bloggers] like you have greatly improved my outlook." - Roger Ebert

Mr. Movie's Film Blog

Film and Anime Reviews, new and older releases!

The Cinema Monster

unparalleled film reviews, news, and top 10s

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

mycyclehike.com

Adventure Travel Blog

Movies of the Soul [MOTS] :: Latest Reviews

The Vampire Bat's take on what's in the theatres

The Angel Damian

UK based photographer and digital artist. My work is an exploration of our ever-changing relationship with nature. I'm happily asexual and a friend to all cats

theugliestfraud.wordpress.com/

The In(s)ane Ramblings of a Talentless Hack

Alex Raphael

Entertainment, travel and lifestyle blog

filmnerdblog

I watch a lot of films. And then I write about them.

